We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick for us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Tree Inn to your Saves list
Coral Tree Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Auckland NZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Did the trick for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We just stayed here for 2 nights - twin room (as requested). We got a deal through Wotif which contributed to our positive response.
The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful - room staff and front desk staff - all of them - thanks.
Room was OK - maybe a little small. En suite was fine - no probs.
Air con and fan made things pleasant. Bit too cool to swim in the pool that looked OK.
We did not eat breakfast here - thought it a bit expensive.
Easy to walk to town to eat out.
Would stay again if we could get a somparable deal!
Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear SoopsAucklandNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Coral Tree Inn.
Positive comments like these really help us to evaluate our Hotel and its offerings.
We are glad that you found a good deal for your accommodation and will hope that you continue to do so in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me or one of our staff members if you wish to come back and stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    117
    70
    16
    8
See reviews for
55
132
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

A great hotel only 3 blocks from the Esplanade Good room the best staff you could want.
The young lady in the breakfast room was always very chearful and nothing was too much for her.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Deightons,

Thank you for the positive comments.
I will certainly pass your regards to our Breakfast staff.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Coral Tree Inn.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

For Canadian standards, the hotel reminds me like a Canadian YMCA or a hostel. Rooms were clean enough, basic, not particularly nice, more utilitarian. There was AC which was nice. Beds had clean sheets and if you needed something warmer there were blankets in the closet. Rooms aren't super sound proof but that's expected. Front desk reception were always quite helpful in recommending day trips and calling shuttle services. Location was pretty close to the main drag so that was a plus. Breakfast was standard. No free internet. Good price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is important that the feedback provided by our guests is passed to my team to ensure that we continuously improve not only on our services but our facilities. I will pass on your appreciation to our staff, I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guests experience.
We hope to see you back again here.
Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here with my 10 year old son for 2 nights so we could do the Sky Rail and Kuranda before heading up to Port Douglas...The room was basic & fairly clean...bed was very hard to sleep on but for 2 nights was bearable...the water in our room ran hot & cold in the shower....annoying....the breakfast supplied in the morning was okay...mostly overcooked & cold....but the filtered coffee was great....one thing that was dreadful but not really the fault of the hotel was that a large group of Asian tourists arrived late at night and were talking & being silly right outside our room....because the floors are all tiled with no carpet the echo & noise level was very loud...I thought them very rude & inconsiderate.....it went on for ages so I had to get out of bed and ask them to be quiet....I could still hear them for quiet a few minutes later...one of the downsides to staying at a hotel without a 24 hour reception who can handle the situation.....when doors bang closed it echoes through the whole hotel......if you're a heavy sleeper you may not even hear it.... a few weeks later we stayed at the Novotel around the corner for about $20 more...much better....bed was heavenly......and quiet as anything......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPM-Anand, Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear KMP Adelaide,

Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to all our guests.

We are happy to inform you that we are in the process of changing our old mattresses in the rooms with new ones.

I have now spoken to the chef about Breakfast issues and we are looking into ways to improve these services.

Also the maintenance issue with the Hot water system has been resolved.

It is very unfortunate that you had to compromise with the noise levels in the night caused by other guests staying in the hotel. A night staff is always available in the premises outside the reception hours who can be contacted to notify such incidents.

We feel sorry if this has caused any inconvenience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We checked in after normal hours - and the guy at the front counter was lovely and very receptive.
The room was on the first level (up one flight of stairs) over looking the BBQ area - I was impressed - clean and very up to date furniture - huge TV.
We walked to the water front (not sure what they call it) and it wasn't very far (even with a 11 month old in tow) ...
We only stayed one night - and it was good value for money - we got a breakfast deal and the breakfast was nice.
My only gripe - is that the bed was hard, although in saying that I find all hotel/motel beds hard - so yeah, other than that - not a bad place !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Lisha, Operations Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Jacks1977,

Thank you for writing this review.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay here.

In regards to the mattress being too hard, I'll address this issue to our Housekeeping Supervisor. We are also in the process to change some of our mattresses here in the hotel, which might reslove this issue.

I apologise if this has caused you any inconvenience.

We hope to see you back at the Coral Tree Inn.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We got a week's stay at a good price (no breakfast inc). Courteous and helpful staff. Good advice and easy booking of day trips.
Disappointment though as told when we arrived that the 'open' kitchen was closed now, they should take that facility off the website. There was good free bbq and laundry facility though.
Would stay there again, if on ground level, no lift.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Lisha, Operations Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Veeoz,

Thank you for your feedback.
I will certainly pass this on to our staff as positive comments like these keep them motivated and help us serve other guests better.

In regards to the open kitchen which is not available any more, I will make sure that the websites are updated with the latest information.
Access to the open kitchen had to be restricted as we now have our own restaurant- Tropical Flavours which is open for Dinner in the evening.

I apologise if this has caused any inconvenience during your stay.

We hope to see you back again at the Coral Tree Inn.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

I am a teen girl, and we were on our way to start our holiday on a campervan. Our plane got in late at night, so we had booked to stay at the coral tree inn, for one night. The rooms are nice, and very clean, although at bit small. There is a swimming pool which we didnt get to swim in, but looked nice, and we got a complimentary breakfast which was good. All in all, it's a very nice place, as long as you don't mind the rooms being a tad small.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAM-Lisha, Operations Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear FamilyWithTwo Girls,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the services and standards at the hotel.
We hope to see you back sometime in near future.
Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Anand Churi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Address: 166 - 172 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.