We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Central To Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Central To Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very well located, we could walk to the Reef Terminal where a lot of our tours left from and there were lots of cafes and restaurants around for meals. The room was quite big and the bed was very comfortable.
The only drawbacks are that there is no daily housekeeping, which most hotels in this price range have. Given this, it would have been nice to have spare bin bags provided for after we emptied the bin the first time, and also more than 4 tea bags (you can buy more from reception, but it's cheaper to buy a box from the supermarket). Also, the room didn't seem to have been cleaned very well as there was still hairs from the previous occupants on the bathroom floor.
The other drawback is that there are often buskers across the road, which can be quite loud so we had to keep the doors to the balcony closed a lot of the time.
In general though, it's a good hotel in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    203
    80
    28
    15
See reviews for
111
175
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very large apartments managed to get free breakfast in cost fantastic breakfast service down in the resturant. Room over looking city can have a bit of noise from the back packers area at the back . over priced wifi should be free in this day and age, door on laundry broken , can rent push bikes from there. Decor a bit dated could do with a touch up but worth staying there .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I recently visited Cairns for the first time and were fortunate to be booked into he Mantra. We had a one bedroom apartment with balcony. Tastefully furnished with plenty of space. As newcomers to the area we were blessed to have friendly helpful staff on reception. Abbey, the office manager should be congratulated. Great location with walking distance to the lagoon and lots of fun choosing where to eat, as one only needed towalk out the door and be right amongst the al fresco diners. We will definately return!

Room Tip: we prefer an apartment as we like the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had an enjoyable 3 nights at Mantra Esplanade Cairns. The room was comfortable and had everything we required. Shower was a bit dated but was nice and was powerful. The location is brilliant - right beside the reef terminal for all trips to the reef or islands. It is also across the road from the lagoon and beside all of the lovely restaurants that Cairns has to offer. Everything was on our doorstep. We didn't use the pool at all as it was behind the building and didn't get a lot of sun but with the lagoon across the road, we had no use for the pool anyway. The staff were pleasant and helped us out with any queries we had. We had a nice balcony, air con & a fridge which all came in handy to dry off our clothes, keeping us cool, storing snacks and so on. There wasn't much noise, I'm a light sleeper and had no issues sleeping any night.

Room Tip: We just had a general king size suite. It looked out onto a park & the reef terminal. It was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Have just returned following a five night stay in a 2 two bedroom apartment and found Mantra to be a great spot to stay, and being in the city centre found it so easy to walk to the numerous restuarants and the marina. The in room laundry facilities were great, the beds were very comfortable and the view from the balcony delightful following a busy day. The staff were very helpful as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Excellent location, close to the lagoon, reef terminal, restaurants and shopping. 10 minutes from airport or train station. Close to bud stops. Excellent staff, great service. Wonderful views of the foreshore and esplanade

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Having recently started a new client that will require monthly visits to Cairns, I had a good look at cairns CBD hotels on my first trip.
Mantra esplanade is clean and tidy with big rooms, nice views with reasonable size verandas and excellent friendly staff.
The restraunt food was great with a nice dining area.
If I wanted to be picky, the taps on the shower were a little loose, nothing a handyman couldn't fix in two minutes but something that should've been reported by housekeeping.
Great location and right near the lagoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.