We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The accommodation was great! I did feel a little disappointed initially as the room did not turn out as 'amazing' or 'sparkling new' as how the photos looked. The place does generally feel a little old even though it looks brand new from the outside.

However! We still had a peaceful and comfortable 3 nights of sleep here (probably also because of the activities we have been doing in the day though). It is clean too, most importantly. It is also well situated in the bustling and exciting Esplanade/Night market/restaurants strip of town. We definitely enjoyed the convenience!

Maybe another point to note: I am not sure if it is due to the special rates I booked, but I was told they do not service the apartments (unless requested?) and if I needed change of towels I could do so at the reception. I wasn't fussy about that since I was only there for three nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohyeahpandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was perfect for myself and my two children aged 3 and 10. I was a bit worried after reading some poor reviews but quickly realised on arrival I had no cause for concern. The staff were always welcoming polite and very helpful. The staff were excellent in recommending and booking tours for us and also helped with recommending places to eat. The room was clean and practical and suited our needs perfectly. I do agree that the pool is to cold to be comfortable but the kids still braved it, it is a shame because it has a beautiful feel to the overall pool area, I think it would be very under utilized just for the fact it is to cold (its a shame). As for the location it couldn' t be better especially with kids that don't want to walk great distances especially after a long day on the reef. Even after check out the staff were awesomecstoring our bags and giving us access to the gym show to freshen up before our flight. Overall I would highly recommend. One other tip a taxi was cheaper and faster to the airport than the shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoperawlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at the Mantra Esplanade in June. Our room was supposed to be an ocean view. Got into our studio and we could see buildings across from us down a side road and a small bit of water. We payed for an ocean view. I complained when we checked out and the manager said the general manager would ring me, it is now July and never heard a thing. Be weary people if you ask for a water view cos ours was very small, but we paid for it!!!!! No in room wifi. In today`s society you would think they would have it.No heated pool and it was really cold, so no swimming.

Room Tip: When booking a water view complain if you don`t get a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario. Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days before taking a 7 night cruise of the Great Barrier Reef. Choose this hotel because of its location in Cairns and its location to the pier. Upon check in our room was not ready, but the staff was nice enough to hold our luggage and take the time to go over the area with us in detail. The hotel is right across the street from the Lagoon which is always very busy in the day. The Lagoon is nice but the amount of children in diapers in the pool, made it seem more like a children's play area then a landmark. The hotel does have a nice pool which we enjoyed. We got a room with a washer and dryer which was great, as it allowed us to do laundry before the cruise. It is walking distance to everything including the big shopping centre. However, don't get to excited when you here there is a "TARGET" it is not like the Westernized ones :)
There is no housekeeping at the hotel, which we were fine with as we were only staying for 2 days. The room we stayed in also had a kitchen, there is a grocery store right behind the hotel which was very helpful, it had computers which were handy for checking in etc. The kitchen and the grocery store saved us a lot of money for the 2 days we were there. Very quiet at night, did not hear any noise at all. It is more lively on the boardwalk near the night market, more in the heart which is about a 10min walk but could not hear anything from our hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexD139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Mantra Esplanade in June 2014 and found the staff to be very helpful. They held our suitcases for us because our room was not ready since we arrived hours too early. There was a nice shower by the pool so we could use that to freshen up. The location is fantastic if you are planning to take a reef cruise. It is only a few minutes to the pier. We had a very clean room with a well stocked kitchenette, balcony, and washer and dryer. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and nice. We got a great deal on the room and thought the value for the money was excellent.

Room Tip: Get the room with the kitchenette and washer and dryer. It was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellover2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are staying here for 5 nights on our holidays for 2014. Upon check-in, we were told that our booking (made on Agoda for 2 adults and a child) was only made for 2 people. A mistake either on my end with the booking or with the way Agoda books rooms. Fair enough...but the charge at $40/night for the extra bedding was ridiculous. Particularly since there is no daily room upkeep. The pull out is noisy & the mattress lumpy and very uncomfortable. The staff was unapologetic and unyielding. Very unfriendly and did not seem to have any compromise for the extra $200 charge for an already expensively priced hotel.

We selected the hotel for the lovely pool and spa on the website. But unlike the pictures, it is freezing, even the spa is unheated. You would think a hotel chain of this size could afford to heat the pool or at least the spa. Our dreams of laying in the sun by the pool have been transported to across the street to the public city pool, which is amazing and a short walk thank goodness.

The kitchen is poorly equipped and the carpet is worn and dirty.
Very expensive stay, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had stayed here for 4 nights from June 16th to 20th. Chose this place both for its location and the generally favourable reviews we read here. So time to contribute my own to help fellow travellers.

First the good things - stay is hassle free, you barely get to meet hotel staff as they generally stay out of your way and are only around if you really need them. Location is awesome if you are planning for day cruises and island trips since the pier is only a 5 min walk from this place. Also, walk out of the hotel and you have great places to eat lined up all around. There is even a Woolsworth (Australian equivalent of a TESCO/Walmart/Giant/Carre Four for the uninitiated) about 5 minutes walk away. The room itself looks a bit old but well kept.

Now some of the not-so-good things - For some reason, we just could not regulate the temperature of the water flowing in the shower. No matter how much we tried, the water would just keep alternating between scalding hot one second to ice cold the next. This was a really frustrating experience throughout our stay there and we eventually ended up just bathing in cold water (thankfully the cold wasn't as bad in June, can't imagine doing that now). Second, on one of the days, we ran out of toilet rolls. Hotel policy is for us to just walk down to the reception and ask for new stocks. While this wasn't a problem for us, the issue was, the hotel apparently had run out of stock too! Took us 3 attempts over an entire day to get the toilet roll finally (I was about to make a trip to the nearest convenience store - not something that one can live without for long). Not sure if this is generally the case or was it just our bad luck that the folks at reception were struggling to get replenishments. Couple of other things that some of us may not be too happy about - the corridors have a strong disinfectant smell and the restaurant nearby (Perotta's I believe) plays rugby matches live on a big screen in the open, and the hotel windows are not sound-proof enough to keep the noise out. I got a good glimpse of the Australian culture so not complaining about it, but not everyone would enjoy it. Try getting a room that faces the sea, the noise from the streets should be much more bearable.

One queer thing in our room that we couldn't figure out at all - every time we opened and closed our balcony door, the hall air-conditioner would turn on automatically. I couldn't find any connection between the door and the aircon but somehow they seemed to be linked.

Overall, would still consider this a decent place to stay for its location and price, but only if you plan to spend most of your time outside.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from rooms that face the restaurant behind the hotel to avoid the noise from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avinash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing