We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Save Saved
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is great. It is right on the esplanade opposite the lagoon. You can walk everywhere so it is great if you don't have a car.
The front desk is 24 hours. The service is fine, but nothing special.
The pros are that the room was clean and a good size for only being the hotel room. The bed and pillow were both comfortable. The is a balcony, and even if you don't pay for an ocean view you still get a view of the mountains. The hotel is safe with good security.
The cons are that is you stay less than an week and want fresh towels, you have to pay extra. Also, in our room there wasn't a remote for the air conditioning, it was on when the balcony doors were closed and off when they were open. There was no way to make it a bit warmer at night.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear SandyC239,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. If you get time, could you please email me the room number that you were staying in. There should be a remote control to the air conditioning in every room, so I would like to replace the one that was missing from the room that you stayed in. I am sorry that this impacted on your stay, but I am happy that you found most other aspects of your stay to be positive.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
colin.mcintosh@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    182
    73
    27
    15
See reviews for
104
158
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Learn to communicate better reception staff.

Numerous issues such as no hot water for 2 days due to parts had to be flown in, noisy appartment repairs which was not informing guest,
However did offer credit for hassles as staying there for 2 weeks was appreciated.

Room itself was clean and roomy

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Malcolm M,

I am sorry for the problems associated with the hot water during your recent stay with us. The new parts have now been installed, and I am sure that you will experience no problems with the hot water during your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for3 nights whilst exploring the area.
Room was reasonably well appointed but was a bit taken a back by the fact it wasn't 'serviced'. If we wanted maid attendance we had to pay extra and I don't think it was cheap to start with! I have never had this situation before although it wasn't a problem but we didn't realise until we got back the first day to find we had to make the bed!
We had a nice balcony which was excellent for our pre dinner drinks and for watching the amazing sight of the 'flight of the fruit bats' incredible sight and sound. For us a high light of Carins....being sad Pommies who don't get to see stuff like that!!!
The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about Cairns and local area.
We didn't dine in the restuarant which seemed a bit out of the way due to being in the first floor.
If you want somewhere close to the lagoon this is the place for you. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear msox106,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a balanced review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the lack of a daily service of your room, but relieved that this didn't impact on your stay.

You are second the reviewer recently to mention the Flying Foxes. Maybe they are more of a tourist attraction than we give them credit for.

Thank for you for the lovely feedback regarding our staff. I am sure that will make their day.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better location for our 8 days in Cairns, walking distance to the harbour/marina, amazing restaurants, shopping centres and transport. Customer service from staff at the hotel was great, friendly, 24 hours and always happy to help, give advice and organise our day trips etc. Room size was adequate and balcony view was great, my only sticking point was no room service, unless you paid $25/per service, no rubbish removal or linen change for the whole time we were there, to be honest, if I had been made aware of this before I booked, I probably wouldn't have stayed here, and probably wouldn't again for a long stay. Other than those minor points, a wonderful place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear fantastic_bax,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in Cairns for 8 days. So many people come and go so quickly, that they don't allow themselves time to relax and just enjoy the natural beauty surrounding Cairns.

You are correct that our room rates don't include a daily service of your room. However for stays of 7 nights or more we do include a mid-stay clean. I apologise if you did not receive this service during your stay as I am sure that it would have enhanced your experience.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulara, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our group book 7 rooms at the Mantra for our 4 night stay. My room was very clean, AC was on for us and our view was great . We had a view of the esplanade and could watch the night life and the wild live fly by. The rooms are well appointed, with all the basics you would need and a very comfy bed. Staff were always helpful. The best thing about this hotel is that your close to just about everything. The marina, casino and a short stroll up the esplanade and could literally try a different type of food ever night. the pool was a little o the chilly side but that is really my only whinge. I would defiantly stay there again and hopefully in the near future!! 9.5/10

Room Tip: ask for a view of the esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Darren Q,

Thank you very much for your detailed and positive review of your time at Mantra Esplanade. I hope everyone in your group enjoyed themselves as much as you did. You have highlighted an item that I often forget to mention, that we are indeed just a couple of hundred metres from the casino. Not very far to carry all of that money home at the end of the night!

I hope that we have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Mantra Esplanade offers an excellent location for tourists in Cairns, with easy access to the Marina where boats depart on numerous Great Barrier Reef tours, including snorkelling and diving opportunities.
Whilst the hotel itself does not have a restaurant, there are two offers within the hotel's "complex" - the Courthouse Hotel, which offers a bit of history as well as a bar, bistro and gamingroom and Wink Cafe, with outdoor balcony seating overlooking the Esplanade and Cairns Lagoon. There are also plenty of options for eating and drinking, with the options of Smith St, Lake St and the Esplanade being all within walking distance.
The rooms themselves are of a good size, and the balconies with Esplanade views offer an interesting opportunity for people watching as well as being a good spot to enjoy some wine and cheese.
Check in and check out was quite slow for us as there were a lot of people waiting to check in and out at the same time us as, with one employee offering assistance at check-in and two being available at check out. The queues were more likely to be a result of this being Easter weekend than anything else.
Staff at the reception desk were also really helpful in offering insight into restaurants in the area, as well as being offering direct bookings for local tours, including the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear mslexxi,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your time at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure readers will appreciate the positive information that you have provided.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused by the delay at check-in and check-out.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Situated on the Esplanade on the waterfront in Cairns we found this was a very handy location. Our room was very good and everything we wanted to do such as eating out at restaurants or shopping was walking distance. Cairns Central Mall is about a 15 minute walk. Amazing sight just after sunset each night when Flying Foxes (fruit bats) flew past in flocks that I would estimate numbered tens or even hundreds of thousands. Don't park your car under the trees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 481tonyc,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. We tend to take the Flying Foxes for granted, but it certainly proves to be a novel attraction to our visitors as they seem them filling the sky at sunset. Yes, many a victim has parked their car in one of the nearby streets and returned to see it quite a different to colour to how they had left it.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.