We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a nice place to stay with a great location. you are in walking distance of just about everything including a grocery store (for some cheaper brews). with the reef and tours you probably won't be in the room much so this place is ideal! has a nice patio too to have some drinks and relax on, watch the sunset, and the flying foxes!!!

Room Tip: you have to clean your own room (no service) so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Amadiomusic,

Many of our guests certainly take advantage of the proximity of the supermarket and bottleshop so that they are not spending money on dining out all of the time. However, there are of course many restaurants and cafes in all price ranges to enjoy in close proximity as well.

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    81
    28
    17
See reviews for
114
184
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I recently stayed at Mantra Esplanade for the weekend as a family weekend away. As others have mentioned it is in a great location with the Cairns Lagoon Pool just next door, dozens of great restaurants within walking distance, a fantastic boulevard board walk that virtually starts at the doorstep which includes various mini outdoor gyms along the way and a water park for kids, all free. All those wonderful things aside, we found the Esplanade to be a great hotel/resort. All the staff were genuinely friendly. We received a warm welcome on arrival and were greeted with a freindly smile and a greeting from every staff member we met. The room was fantastic, spacious and clean with views over the lagoon pool out to the Coral Se it was just picture perfect.

Mantra Esplanade was really the icing on the cake of a great weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Ralf M,

It sounds like you had an excellent weekend in Cairns and made the most of the location of the property. Sometimes the pool here at Mantra doesn't get much use due to the proximity to the brilliant lagoon just across the road. It is especially reassuring to hear that you found your room clean, and that the staff consistenly provided you with friendly service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay 3 nights at Mantra Esplanade, and it was the best decision ever. As we did 2 tours, the distance between the hotel and the marina is less than 7 minutes walking. Everything is close to the hotel. The esplanade pool is less than 2 minutes walking. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Vladimir R,

Thank you for your short and positive review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. It is great to see that so many guests appreciate the excellent location that the property is situated in.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you are after a place in Cairns in the best location then look no further! 5 minute walk to marina where all fishing and dive cruises leave from, Woolworth's conveniently in street just behind it via walk through adjacent Courthouse Pub which has live music and cheap meals and drinks. 24hr McDonalds across road and night markets 5 min walk with food court. 10-15 min walk to Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The accommodation itself is very clean and comfortable, separate air con in lounge and bedroom, large bathroom and living area, nice personal balcony so u can dry your towels etc. I will definitely be staying here next time I visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear FrogJoker,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It is great to hear that you had such a great stay at Mantra Esplanade.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a city view 1 bedroom apartment and could not fault anything.

The bed was comfortable, bathroom clean, kitchen well fitted out, with plenty of space in the lounge area.

There were two tvs, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom, however we did not turn on either during our stay. We had a balcony with a small table and two chairs.

We were aware that the apartment would not be serviced daily and this suited us fine. Pool towels and extra toilet paper were available at reception. There is a small daily charge for the use of the in room safe which did not worry us. We took advantage of one of the packages and believe we got great value for money.

There was new carpet in the hallway on our level and it looked as if the walls had been freshly painted. I would imagine that most of the renovations on all levels would be near completion.

The pool was clean and refreshingly cool. You need to swipe your key card at the gate. This is a plus as it allows only hotel residents access to the pool.

We had a few drinks and a bite to eat at the hotel restaurant. The food and service was great.

Mantra Esplanade is in a prime location and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear sandra57Sydney,

What a lovely review. It sounds like you had a fantastic time staying at Mantra Esplanade and made the most of the facilities and location. I love that you didn't even turn on the TV during your stay. There is just too much to see and do without reverting to watching TV.

I have shared your positive words regarding the restaurant with the restaurant manager.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We asked to upgrade to an ocean view room (paid extra), which in my opinion was worth it. We were on an upper level, towards the side of the building, but still had a nice view of the park and water. At the time of our stay, they were replacing the carpets and the smell of the glue was strong - but probably finished renos by now (we stayed in December 2013).

Hotel staff were nice, location was close to all restaurants and the board walk - overall a decent visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Soakinthesun8,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mantra Esplanade. The views from the balconies can be terrific with many looking over the lagoon, inlet, and the passing parade down on the Esplanade. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by the laying of new carpet.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Mantra as we wanted something close to everything and an apartment so we could cook our own meals. Mantra ticked all the boxes. The apartment isn't serviced however we knew this when we booked. You can pay extra for this service however really we didn't need it.
We had a city view room although we were lucky to have a corner room to one balcony looked over the lagoon. It was perfect. Sitting on the balcony in the evening was lovely.
Amenities in the room were adequate. Everything worked, there was enough kitchen utensils to cook dinners. I would only suggest larger mugs and some Tupperware containers. Minor details.
We have a daughter so she slept on the pull out sofa. We didn't think we needed two bedrooms. It worked for us.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating when we needed something. The location was perfect to the Esplanade, right across the road from the lagoon, short walk to the Pier, Woolworths right behind the hotel. There really is not much else we could ask for.
We will definitely stay again and recommend others as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear ClaireHicks_9,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure that Trip Advisor readers will appreciate the level of information that you have provided. Also, thank you for the suggestions regarding larger coffee mugs and tupperware containers.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.