We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mantra at cairns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
ST
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mantra at cairns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

very good apartment hotel Furnished with all kitchen gadgets for cooking, clothes washing machine neat and clean
excellent staff
very nice location
spacious roomsThe staff helped us in organising trips of Great Barrier rift,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear pksoneji,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

We are so pleased to be part of your positive memories in Cairns and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    212
    81
    28
    17
See reviews for
114
184
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had a great stay at Mantra Esplanade. Perfect location to everything which is a big drawing card. We had a great view of the esplanade and even managed to see some fireworks as we timed our trip with the Christmas carols. One thing I would say is that the furnishings are a bit old, the microwave looked like it had been there since the building was built and our air conditioning had a few issues while we were there. These things are very small, we still a great stay and I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Ellex5,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us and I was pleased you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree with your comments about the small things and replacing the microwaves in the new year is on the to do list!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently stayed at Mantra Esplanade overnight on the way to Fitzroy Island. Whilst I arrived late & departed early the following day I could not fault the hotel. I had a city view hotel room which was well appointed and had everything I could need for an overnight stay.
The staff were very helpful (especially the lasy on the desk in morning who directed me to my boat). the only downside is that the hotel room form part of an interconnecting room & I was woken up a couple of times by the noisy neighbours throughout the night but that's hardly the hotels fault.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Nikita_MSS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your very short stay at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

I hope you enjoyed your time on Fitzroy Island and look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns and Mantra Esplanade for a longer stay!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I approached our time at the Mantra Esplanade with some trepidation, having read some of the very negative recent reviews. The hotel had been recommended to us by our travel agent, who had personally stayed here on a previous occasion, and we weren't disappointed.

On entering the room on the fifth floor we were amazed at the size of the room we had booked, which turned out to be a suite - a large lounge/kitchen area, separate bedroom with sliding dividing door from the lounge, and a bathroom. A balcony, accessible from both lounge and bedroom, overlooked the property at the rear of the hotel with a view towards the hills surrounding Cairns. As well as TVs in both lounge and bedroom were a washing machine and a tumble dryer, microwave oven, toaster, kettle and a good range of kitchen utensils. An effective air conditioning system in the lounge was complemented by an equally effective ceiling fan in the bedroom. In addition to the basic toiletries we were also provided with soap powder for the washing machine and a small sachet of washing up liquid. Overall the accommodation exceeded our expectations and I would have given it an excellent rating but for 3 small but not insignificant issues:

(1) we knew the accommodation would not be serviced whilst there, the information said so, but I was surprised to find out that the toiletries originally provided were not designed to last the 4 days we had booked in for. Apparently more was available, without cost, at reception but I do find it rather demeaning to expect guests to ask (beg?) for something that should have been provided before our arrival, the hotel knowing the length of our stay;

(2) there is no free wifi. In this day and age wifi has become a necessity, not just for those on business but for all travellers of all ages. More hotels are realising this and providing at least some free wifi, with the most astute managements providing a full free wifi service - essential if they want excellent TA reviews!!

(3) not in the control of the Mantra, but the early morning noise (between 5.30 and 6.30 each morning) of bottles being emptied into a recycling vehicle at the adjacent premises was very disturbing.

The hotel has a excellent location, being close to everything including the Esplanade itself, numerous local eateries, the harbour and a wide range of shops, the most essential of which we felt was Woolworths, just a 2 minute walk away via the back entrance of the hotel.

Was it value for money? Yes, we thought so. Would we stay here again? Definitely.


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

I was please to hear that we had met your expectations despite your trepidation concerning the property!

To explain, the amenities in the room are a starter pack and not indicative of the length of stay.

Thank you again for your glowing review and we hope to welcome you back to Cairns and Mantra Esplanade.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay - the hotel is in a great location on the esplanade across from the lagoon pool and all the waterfront restaurants. Near the reef terminal for day trips to islands. Room was clean and had a great sized balcony. The bathroom toiletries were great and smelt nice. The pool area was beautiful with lots of sunbeds and nice garden/BBQ area. There is direct access to the Courtyard Hotel which is handy if you want a pub meal or a drink. The only reason I'm not giving this hotel a 5 star rating is that it can only be 4 star - the non-serviced aspect means if you want luggage porters, daily servicing of rooms and all the extra trimmings, this isn't the place for you, but if you want modern, comfortable, great location, great pool... stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Blueberry_Carrot,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us!

i was pleased to hear we had been part of your positive memories of Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The rooms were very very large plenty of space , almost too much for two persons. The room has a fabulous view - watching the sun come up was delightful. The amenities were good quality .

The best thing about it was the location, so very central for walks, shopping, restaurants .

Had very little interaction with staff but they were generally polite.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear EmkaySriLanka,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

I agree - the sunrises are spectacular and definitely worth at least one early morning start on your holiday!

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of the natural beauty of Cairns and its surrounds.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were booked into this "hotel" by Flight Centre in Australia. We had asked for the Hilton or its equivalent in the event the Hilton was fully booked. When we got there, no one to help with the luggage, no mini-bar If you want bottled water go out and find it somewhere!), no breakfast, no room service, no change of towels or sheets or make-up of room (unless you want to pay an additional fee). Why all this? Because the Mantra Esplanade in NOT what goes by the ordinary name of hotel, but NON-SERVICED hotel as we were told at the front desk when we complained.And, we complained bitterly to light Centre the following day and have been pursuing Flight Centre ever since in an attempt to get reimbursed for our two-night stay. Thus far to no avail.

Room Tip: Just don't go to this "non-serviced hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Franc-Rapallo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

Mantra Esplanade does not offer the same services as a traditional hotel. Our website clearly states the services we do provide.

There is a vending machine in the lobby for water and light refreshments normally available in a mini bar. I realise that this is not as convenient.

I am sorry that some aspects of Mantra Esplanade did not meet your criteria.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.