We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Cairns stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Cairns stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at The Mantra on The Esplanade in Cairns, although the hotel was clean and suitably appointed sleeping of a night was challenging. This hotel is very central with the night life of Cairns at your door step problem is that regardless of where you stay in the hotel the street noise is loud.
If you want peace and quiet don't stay here, if you want a good clean hotel centrally located in Cairns then this hotel is for you.
Woolworths supermarket is across the road, in house swimming pool is good, parking is secure and staff are very helpful.

Would I stay here again?........... I doubt it due to the night time noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear GTKE21,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that you did not get a good night's sleep but was pleased to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    237
    89
    31
    18
See reviews for
126
208
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Location of hotel was good - across the road from the outdoor swimming pool which is a hive of activity and you had restaurants at your doorstep. We have stayed at the Mantra Trilogy and that was also good. If had to choose we would choose Trilogy- better pool area and rooms. They are not located far from each other.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear rykony,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed both the Cairns Mantra properties!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and 14 month old stayed here for 4 nights. We will be staying here whenever we are in Cairns. Excellent location on the Esplanade. Clean and comfortable 1 bedroom apartment with all necessary self contained requirements. In close proximity to shops.

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom Apartments if travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear faunty,

Thank you so much for your very positive review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra for 7 nights in a 1 bedroom city view apartment on the 4th floor. We were very fortunate that when we arrived (about 1pm) we were given access to our room. Check in was completely hassel free. The room was very clean and quite spacious and had everything we needed, althought the carpet and furniture is a little dated. Our room overlooked Shields St and there is quite a bit of activity on Friday and Saturday nights but this IS a hotel in the city and close to everything including reef terminal ( 4 min walk) lagoon (across the road) cafes, RSL, Night Markets . For us the bit of noise at night was no big deal as we were in the the perfect location and that more than compensated for any sleep deprivation. The hotel pool is very clean and has deck chairs around it.The reception staff were alway more than happy to give us beach towels, book tours and call us a taxi,even at 4.15am. We had a lovely time at the Mantra and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Maybe in summer an ocean view or room overlooking the pool would be cooler as the room we had would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Lynne C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were all very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and all the surrounding attractions!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. The bed was comfortable and it was nice and clean with block out curtains which was great but the living area was tiny. The balcony was a good size but it had very uncomfortable furniture so lingering was not an option. We were also situated outside of the room with the garbage disposal and the clanging of bottles going down the shute was a wake up call each morning. The pool is very large but freezing cold as it is in the shade all day and the spa was not heated either.. We went to dinner at the restaurant and service was slow and the food nice but miniscule - when my partner commented about the size of the meal the waiter said that they adjusted their size so that an entrée and dessert would be ordered! All of this was not a deal breaker but when we left it was. We packed the night before leaving as we had an early flight and when I was unpacking at home the next day I realized I had left my dryer and some hairdressing products in the bathroom cupboard. I phoned the hotel and was told that they would check with housekeeping and get back to me. Two days later I called again and was told again that they would check with housekeeping. They did phone and told me that it was not there. I asked them to check again because as great as the hairdryer was it could not have walked out of the cupboard or room! I was told that I would get a call again the next day. I did not get the call and today (3 days later) I phoned again and spoke eventually to the general manager and was told that they did not have it. I asked what did they think that could have logically happened to it but this could not be answered. She told me that she trusted her staff and I admire that she defends her staff but I am very disappointed. It is not an earring or a small piece of jewellery that could have been lost easily. Perhaps if the first respondent to my call had done his job and contacted housekeeping they may have found it.

Room Tip: If you have to go there ask for a room away from the garbage shute
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear jmhjrr,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I cannot comment on the restaurant as it is not controlled by Mantra Esplanade.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered indifferent service from a staff member concerning your lost property and I sincerely apologise for this. I have forwarded your comments to the relevant department manager to take up with the the staff member concerned.

This is not up to our usual standard and once again I apologise for the disappointment you experienced.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Very easy walking to cafes, restaurants, bars, shops, the casino, etc. The staff were friendly. My hotel room on the second floor overlooked the pool. Although the room was clean and comfortable, it was a bit dated. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Great place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear DeniseandBrent,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at the Mantra Esplanade Cairns for 1 week with the family in a city view room. Rooms were very clean, though there was not enough cutlery for 5 of us. Went down to front desk to ask for more cutlery, which I was given and also asked to return when finished our meal as the staff would later that day supply us with more cutlery (never happened) so we kept our cutlery in our room. Went to use the spa it was not heated or the pool. We stayed there in winter and love swimming though both were too cold to use. We only saw 2 people use the pool during our stay and they were children they didn't stay in long. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Julie H,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear we ticked most of the boxes while you were staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the warmer months to use the pool!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Family Hotel in Cairns
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.