We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick stop in Carins” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Save Saved
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #24 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quick stop in Carins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One night in a great location! The hotel has traditional amenities. At the check out, we had less than a $10.00 charge and staff would not use our credit card for the transaction. We reluctantly parted with the cash as we left for the train station.

Room Tip: beach view and boardwalk night life
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear FieldTripsDuo,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your very brief stay with us!! Hopefully you will stay longer next visit.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    170
    68
    28
    14
See reviews for
99
146
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed one night room 425 great cnr room overlooking esplanade and new public pool! Clean tidy and friendly staff. Little kitchen and lounge separate to bedroom; spacious bathroom. Laundry facilities too! Didn't want for anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Paula S,

Thank you for your wondeful comments regarding your stay with us at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Cairns at the Mantra Esplanade in one of their 1 bedroom apartments. Hotel was well recommended on TripAdvisor so had fairly high hopes and the room was very nice, king size bed was very comfortable as was the sofa bed. There's not a lot of privacy if a couple staying with a friend as there's only a thin sliding door between the bedroom and living area but was not a big deal. Kitchen was well equipped also and we were able to cook for ourselves quite easily.

As mentioned in the title, the hotel is in the perfect location on the Esplanade by the ocean and a 5 minute walk to the wharfs where barrier reef tours depart from, the public artificial beach/pool area and a variety of restaurants. The only hotel in Cairns with a better location would be the Shangri-La so no complaints there. Staff at reception were also very helpful and able to provide extra room cards for us as well as provide recommendations for places to go.

The swimming pool wasn't brilliant - it is in the shade of the hotel building most of the day and therefore is quite cold and this showed as I saw nobody use it in the time I was there. Also, the spa and sauna advertised were not working so we were unable to use these.

However, due to the quality of the room and the location, would definitely recommend to anyone spending a few days in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Dan M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such positive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the warmer weather so you can use our lovely pool!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just spent 4 days in Cairns staying at the Mantra Esplanade. Thanks to Discover Queensland for recommending this hotel - the location was perfect! Walked to all the best restaurants on The Pier, across the street from The Lagoon, and easy walk to all shopping. Hotel staff was very friendly and professional, room was basic but well presented and clean. Didn't use the pool as it is very shaded and The Lagoon really is the place to go. Only complaint was the shower - no temperature regulator - one minute enjoying a nice hot shower, next minute standing in an ice shower. Overall, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear D C,

Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns and we do agree, it is all about location, location, location!!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel is situated on one of the main streets ,it's a small town everywhere is near the beach .The rooms were clean but basic , bedroom, bathroom ,living room with small kitchen area ,small cooker , washing machine and dryer . The staff were helpful and friendly . The highlight of the stay was going out to the Great Barrier Reef and going snorkelling ,the colours of the fish were just incredible .I would love to go back again .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dearr anne550,

Thank you for remembering Cairns and Mantra Esplanade so warmly and I was glad to hear we helped make your Australian stay memorable for all the right reasons!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A group of girls headed to Cairns for a few days r and r. We arrived at the Mantra, checked in, and had top class treatment for the four days we stayed. The location is right where you need to be, we had a 2 bedroom apartment, which fitted the bill perfectly. It was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. A bit of noise from the street below, but where you are right in the middle of the action, is a small gripe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear kiaussie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience in Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another girl's weekend!!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved staying at the Mantra, the location on the Esplanade is unbeatable! You can step out of the hotel and Cairns is at your fingertips. The excellent location and great balcony looking out to the sea and the Esplanade set a fantastic vibe for our holiday in Cairns. Bathroom great and beds are comfy and room is very quiet and sound proofed. The only thing the Mantra on the Esplanade can improve on is maybe splashing out and service the rooms daily instead of offering this at an extra charge. I'm not sure what the other rooms are like with their views but I would definitely choose this hotel over other ones if we can have the ocean facing rooms again.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Erry89,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

To keep our rates competitive, we do not include a daily service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy the ocean views!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.