We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Esperance, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved staying at the Mantra, the location on the Esplanade is unbeatable! You can step out of the hotel and Cairns is at your fingertips. The excellent location and great balcony looking out to the sea and the Esplanade set a fantastic vibe for our holiday in Cairns. Bathroom great and beds are comfy and room is very quiet and sound proofed. The only thing the Mantra on the Esplanade can improve on is maybe splashing out and service the rooms daily instead of offering this at an extra charge. I'm not sure what the other rooms are like with their views but I would definitely choose this hotel over other ones if we can have the ocean facing rooms again.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Erry89,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

To keep our rates competitive, we do not include a daily service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy the ocean views!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    212
    81
    28
    17
See reviews for
114
184
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have lived in Papua New Guinea for 17 years and Cairns is only a 1 hour flight away so has become our regular weekend away.
I have tried a LOT of apartments in Cairns - even other Mantra properties - but I keep returning to Mantra Esplanade.
The beds are the most comfortable, which means a huge deal to my husband.
The 2 bedroom apartment is absolutely fantastic for us and our 6 and 8 year old kids.
The location cannot be beaten.
The check-in is always so smooth, the staff helpful and the parking is great.
Thanks as always.

Room Tip: A nightclub on the street near McDonalds could keep you awake on Friday and Saturday nights if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear macandmui,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!!

I am so pleased we have become a family favourite and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have stayed at a number of mantra properties and can honestly say we have not been disappointed, was a little wary after booking when I read some of the reviews about the esplanade, I shouldnt have had any reservations as from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a two bedroom apartment facing the town. It was very clean and excellent facilities. My sister and her husband who were visiting from overseas were amazed by the gorgeous master suite with beautiful bathroom. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and willing to help. Would definately not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Riehl_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of the hotel and the staff.

I was so pleased to hear we were played a part in your positive memories of Cairns and impressed your overseas visitors!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I often stay at Mantra hotels as you always know you get a nice clean room with pleasant modern furniture and fittings. This Mantra however started off badly when we couldn't even get to our floor as the room key wouldn't work in the lift. The other two couples said they have the same problem every time. We had the same problem every time we used the lift!

The room itself was disappointing, VERY daggy furnishings and everything looked a bit old and tired. The room had a bit of a smell too. We were supposed to be in a two bedroom apartment but to go into our children's room we had to go through 2 very heavy doors, and you could not leave them open for easier access, not good if the children were young.

Lastly while the view of the Esplanade was nice, the room was SOOOOO noisy, not just from the street but from other people sitting out on their verandahs all around us talking until late. I had to ask our neighbors to quieten down as it sounded like they were in our room! (Our door was closed).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Eleanor C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review concerning your stay at Mantra Esplanade.

I have passed your concerns to the owner of the apartment you were in and this has motivated him to update his furnishings.

All our two bedroom ocean view apartments are dual key partments and I agree, the doors are heavy as they are fire doors which are required by law.

Had we known you had noisy neighbours, staff on duty would have asked them to quieten down as all our guests deserve a good night's sleep.

I am sorry on this occasion you did not leave with the positive Mantra experience we would like all our guests to have.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

best position.close to everything.ocean facing is the better option. swimming pool was too cold due to only getting sun for a few hours a day but the free lagoon was directly across the road. ladies at the front desk were very helpful. rooms are a little old need updating.

Room Tip: ocean facing is the better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear alfrompenrith,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your views about recent at Mantra Esplanade, Cairns and I was pleased to hear that the staff helped make your holiday memorable for all the right reasons.

I shall pass your comments about the rooms needing a revamp to the owners.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The mantra esplanade is in a terrific location right on the esplanade and close to everything. The apartments are your typical one bedroom apartment style with a small kitchenette and laundry.

The front office service was inconsistent, some days we would have really helpful staff and the other days we had staff members That seemed rather disinterested and didn't dally want to be there answering my questions. I also felt the security was very relaxed as we were not checked for our name or photo any time we needed our card rewritten to get in the room.

The bed is very soft, which I found uncomfortable as I have a bad back, but I'm sure this would suit other people. All in all this was an okay stay, it just did not feel quite upto the regular mantra standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear georgous_travels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I have passed your comments regarding the front desk staff to the manager concerned and I apologise that this aspect of your stay was not to the standard that it is usally at this property.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hopefully you will leave with a better view of Mantra Esplanade.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Upon arrival, I had to drop my stuff off & quickly park the car. The reception was accommodating in passing a keycard to me before I was able to register. Good security. 24hr Reception. 200m away from the IM Melbourne expo and really close to shops. Room was good for me. Living room was big enough for 2 bikes and bedroom for 2 luggage. Spare pillow & rollovers in the closet with iron & board. Kitchenette with complete equipment. As I've already paid for the room charges, all I had to do is to drop my keycard at the box on the Guest Parking floor without heading to the reception desk (of course after calling to notify them first). Unfortunately, the airport for our room 620 was quite noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Purrjen,

Thank you so much for providing such positive ffedback about your recent stay with us.

I hope you achieved the results you desired in the event and look forward to welcoming you back for next year's Ironman!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.