We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Cairns :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Esplanade Cairns to your Saves list
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best location in Cairns :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my partner. We couldnt have found a better place! The view is beautiful! The location on the esplanade is simply brilliant. The lagoon is at your doorstep and a tour booking place is next door, how convenient! The Mantra is within walking distance to countless bars, restaurants, cafes, convenience stores, shopping etc. From our ocean view hotel room we were able to sit on the balcony and watch street performers which was lovely. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we could possibly need. We really appreciated the clothes line in the combination bath/shower. We had a look at the gym and this was also well equipped. Had a swim in the wonderful pool and you can go to reception and request beach towels to hire free of charge (although I think there may be restrictions on taking these outside the hotel or at least hire charges). We would like to especially thank the reception staff, those who worked during the day and night for the duration of our stay. We got in late on our first nights stay and my partner accidently bumped into the glass doors to which the receptionists laughed and said: "Not to worry, we'll have to compliment the cleaners!" They were very kind :) Also could not thank the reception staff enough when they allowed us to keep using the car park even after we checked out. We needed somewhere to keep our car until 2pm because we went horseriding. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, its worth the extra money and request a higher floor if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    212
    81
    28
    17
See reviews for
114
184
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is the selling point of this hotel. It also comes with free parking.
The rooms are standard hotel rooms but are nice. They dont have cable tv, but do have DVD player. There was background dj music coming from the court hotel behind to late on sat night, but was too loud to stop me falling to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we were a group of 7 staying in 2 hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom unit. The staff was fantastic and helpful in arranging our tours and transportation needs. We used the barbeque area twice which was great for our large group. The rooms and grounds were spotless. Having the laundry was great for our week stay. Not having room cleaning was actually more convenient and how dirty does a room get in a few days? I would definitely stay at the Mantra again-the best location in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here many times, normally in a one bedroom facing the mountains. I just love it. It is private and I don't have to put up with people coming into my room each day to clean. I don't understand why others are complaining about clean towells etc. There is a washing machine and dryer in the unit and I just wash mine. No hassle.
The staff are good and the location is just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We felt that we were charged extra for absolutely everything. Even extra towels. It was an older property but was fairly well maintained. Location was very good. We were away from the elevators. No ice available. Had a small fridge in the room which was good. Had a safe but we had to pay for the key.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear drcmd,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

Although there were some aspects of the property you found disappointing, I was pleased to hear that the positives outnumbered the negatives and you had a lovely time in Cairns.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade, Cairns.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Beautiful rooms, ours was overlooking the esplanard with a large balcony, 3rd floor. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is central, you couldn't get any more central. The pool and gardens are just over the road, the bars and restaurants are just next door, the Barrier Reef trips are just further up the road.
There was only one downside, and that was, there was no room service, you had to pay an extra $25 per day for this service, which i was not informed of at the time of booking.
We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear cazDoncaster,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

The staff were very pleased to hear they had helped you have a memorable holiday at the property and in Cairns.

I was pleased to hear you were impressed with the proximity of the our property to all the wonderful Cairns restaurants and shopping.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Esplanade in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Enjoyed my stay there. The reception, Samara was very accommodating. Our truck couldn't fit the parking height limit and due to this inconvenience we got upgraded to a 1 bedroom.
The room was big enough for the 2 of us, and we enjoyed our stay esp after doing a week of camping. Nice way to end the trip.
Only thing lacking was free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear lostinBALI,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the property and the staff.

Samara was very pleased to hear she had been part of your memorable experience with us.

We hope you arrived home safely and and thank you again for your wonderful feedback .

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4141, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on The Esplanade, Mantra Esplanade Cairns features self contained accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour, mountains or surrounding city. Offering a range of comfortably furnished hotel rooms to spacious one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra Esplanade’s accommodation caters to a wide range of travellers. Facilities include Access to on-site shopping complex, barbecue facilities, Exercise room, Large tropical pool, Room service, Sauna, Spa & Tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Esplanade Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.