We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Reef Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“birthday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

my husband and I recently stayed here for our dual 50th birthdays, What a fantastic time we had, the hotel was superb the staff were so friendly and helpful the room was immaculate with superb views over the inlet and the hotels facilities were excellent with different entertainment every night. And we would like to say a big thankyou to the staff for the bottle of bubbly that was delivered to our room to help celebrate our birthdays it was the icing on the cake .I cannot recommend thjs hotel highly enough so if your going to cairns do yourself a favour and relax in style at the Pullman reef hotel casino .
Paul & Lorraine McLaughlin
Perth Australia.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear tessiemac,
Great to see we made your birthday stay with use memorable one. Thank you so much for your recommendation, we do hope to welcome you back for your 51st.... Maybe sooner.
Best regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    318
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
179
685
79
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fantastic rooms. Tres romantic, with spas that look into the bedroom. Service staff are absent. Not impressed with having to carry my bag up the steps and wait around to find someone to check me in. Rooms without sea views are noisy. Well located close to the esplanade and restaurants. Pool area is lovely but small.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear bammybam,
I apologise one of our team were not there to carry your bags when you first arrived. I am glad we were able to redeem ourselves with our Tres romantic rooms.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

In the heart of cairns, basically across from casino and 2 minutes to the esplanade, lagoon and CBD. This place was nice and clean, attended a function in hotel same night, staff was very professional and the function room (they have multiple) was beautiful. Not sure how much it costs, was paid for by work....

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived for a 4 night stay, having booked on Expedia. The hotel was great from start to finish. Check-in was easy and we were quickly given our room key, and offered assistance in getting our luggage to the room (which we declined since we only had carryons). The room (king bed room, facing the "city"/not the water) was great. Nice balcony with table and two chairs overlooking the outdoors--to the Pullman Hotel across the street. Room was very clean--no worries, no weird odors, no dirt/mold/mildew, etc. as I've seen at other properties. You can tell that the housekeeping team does a good job here.

The doorman/concierge was very friendly and helpful. We requested a recommendation for a restaurant, and the one he sent us to was spot on.

We booked a room with breakfast included each day. The breakfast restaurant was very nice, and offered a hot and cold buffet on most days. You could skip the "hot buffet option" (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes) and order off a menu (eggs benedict, omelette, french toast, eggs made your way, etc.) which was a very nice option. The cold buffet included pastries, fresh fruits, nuts, cheeses, yogurts, cereals. One of my favorite parts was that the toaster actually toasted the bread! (So many hotel toasters are lame and barely dry out the bread, or you need to run the bread through 2-3 times to get it toasted.)

The restaurant also provided great hot beverages: hot chocolate, lattes, teas, etc. Definitely worth booking the breakfast option--not sure how much breakfast would have been separately, but this was definitely worth it.

If I had to improve one thing it would be Internet access. They give you 30 minutes and 100 mb free each 24 hour period. If you want more, you have to pay. Once you access the Internet the 30 minutes starts with a count-down timer. This meant we really had to plan our Internet tasks before logging on, and watch our downloads (Facebook videos and photos eat up a LOT of mbs; some email documents do, too.) The speed was somewhat slow. I've stayed at plenty of hotels that now offer free WIFI throughout the hotel and in their guest rooms; not sure why such a nice hotel as this has not gotten with the program yet; based on the rate we were paying, it should have been included for each day of our stay. Other than that, everything else was fine.

A note about the casino: we walked through it one night to check it out. It is small (don't think Vegas casino) and somewhat quiet (which we liked). Minimums at the Table games (i.e. Blackjack, mini-baccarat) started at $20 and $50--a bit too rich for us, so we passed. The casino was not very busy when we were there--but it could provide a nice diversion.

I'd have no problem recommending friends to stay at the hotel, unless they did a bit of research and found something in the same price range with free wi-fi for their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical North Queensland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms at the Reef Hotel are consistently comfortable, clean and for the most part quiet. Service from the front desk (in what turned out to be rather trying circumstances for them...nothing that they could have helped) was excellent as ever.
My only remaining gripe (now that the issue with the noisy party bus on Abbott St seems to have been addressed) are the size of the cups in the room! Come on Wayne; let's see some proper sized mugs for a decent cuppa!
Breakfast at Tamarind is excellent, although pricey if not included in your room rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful two night stay. Excellent super friendly service. Spacious and stylishly decorated rooms. Everything (almost) that one would need. The lack of free wifi is odd in a hotel of this standard. We were locals so could get by with the deathly slow 3G but our international friends found it frustrating. Breakfast at the Tamarind was good and was included in the price. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cairns city, Pullman Reef Casino overlooks Trinity Bay and the departure point for the Great Barrier Reef. The hotel features 128 rooms and suites, all with spa baths and private garden balconies. Enjoy innovative and award-winning Thai fusion cuisine in the exquisite setting of Tamarind, or any of our eight other restaurants and bars. Other facilities include a well-equipped gymnasium, spa and rooftop swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.