We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with teenager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Reef Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    330
    78
    20
    12
See reviews for
183
714
80
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Although the hotel was a little too pricey, the location was great, the room was clean, and the staff very friendly. We were there for five nights and the concierge always called us by name. The bed was so comfortable and the shower had amazing pressure. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear cmdlow,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Our team are renowned for their friendliness, it is great to see that you enjoyed the super comfy beds as well.
We do hope to welcome you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our Superior King Bed room was excellent. Spacious, bright, well furnished and attractively decorated in a slightly colonial style. We had a separate large bathroom and lavatory with a basin. The bed was very comfortable indeed. The hotel was quiet with a good division between the hotel and casino area which should not bother any guests, like us, not interested in the casino. I would certainly have been happy to stay longer and I would stay again and recommend this hotel to friends. The location is very good to enjoy walking by the water or going into the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear William G,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and for choosing to stay with us. We do appreciate your positive feedback, it is pleasing to read that we were ale to make your stay a memorable one.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the junior suites and they are nice !! Everything was perfect , the rooms , housekeeping , concierge , reception . Go for this hotel without thinking twice .

Tamarind restaurant was nice and the service was very good !!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear pranav a,
Fantastic to read that your stay was perfect for you! We do apprecaite you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Casino for 2 nights, the staff were very helpful. We arrived very early and they held our luggage and called us promptly once the room was ready. The rooms are large in size and have a separate toilet to the bathroom. The beds were very comfy also! The best thing about this hotel was the location, it was close to the esplanade and the wharf so easy access for dining out and reef tours.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear JoY,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments. Great to see that our team were able to look after you and that you found the rooms and the location to be a positive.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked 3 King rooms as an Accor Advantage Plus member at $275 per room.On checkin I was asked to sit at a desk, the receptionist that was on the desk was working on her computer and never acknowledged the fact I was in front of her. After a few minutes I said 'Hello!", she didn't even look up, just said "I won't be long". She then got up and left without a word. The duty manager then came and checked me in. She was very professsional and polite. We were given rooms on the second floor with no views.The shutters of the room had to stay closed as we were in full view of the hotel across the street. The rooms are beautiful and quite luxurious. The bed and pillows are probably the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Our room was refreshed and turnded down in the afternoon which was lovely.
The Gym is far from 5 star. The treadmill is falling apart and the walking machine is broken.
There is a nespresso machine in the foyer with complimentary coffee and tea. Nice touch.

Would I stay there again? ...Possibly, I would ask to see the room first to make sure there is a reasonable view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear JamesColgan,
I do apologise for the check in experience that you received, this is not the level of service that we aim to provide for our guests. Thank you for bringing the gym equipment to my attention, this has been rectified. It is pleasing to read that the room and the bed was comfortable for you.
Please feel free to contact me directly when you are next thinking of staying and I will ensure that your stay is more enjoyable.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Always a great place to visit for a night in the centre of Cairns. So close (within walking distance) to most facilities, including the Marina Broadwalk and restaurants, the Esplanade, Lagoon and restaurants, and downtown Cairns itself.
Value for money is on a par with most hotels within a city area, but rooms are always clean and neat, and service is of a high standard.
We make a point of staying here anytime there is a special function in town, or for just a "mini" break at Christmas time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cairns city, Pullman Reef Casino overlooks Trinity Bay and the departure point for the Great Barrier Reef. The hotel features 128 rooms and suites, all with spa baths and private garden balconies. Enjoy innovative and award-winning Thai fusion cuisine in the exquisite setting of Tamarind, or any of our eight other restaurants and bars. Other facilities include a well-equipped gymnasium, spa and rooftop swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.