We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 181 The Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added 181 The Esplanade to your Saves list
181 The Esplanade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely, spacious, beautifully kept apartments with lots of natural light.

We booked late, and our apartment faced the hospital and the construction site next door. This meant that the view wasn't terrific (although there was absolutely no problem with noise or similar), and this is the only reason that I haven't given this review the full five stars.

Everything else was lovely - the bedrooms, the bathrooms (two of them in a two bedroom apartment), the kitchen, and the pool were all fantastic.

We'll be back, and next time we'll book a little earlier and request an apartment facing the ocean.

Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
25
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Every had one of those nights when you can leave the balcony door open, have the cool breeze awash your body as you lay in bed listen to the lapping ocean on the shore below. And have a great sauna in the complex too..............well that's 181 The Esplanade.

The room was on the 10th floor, we left the door open to listen to the sounds of the ocean, the cool breeze over our bodies at night was so relaxing...........it was like the best two nights ever.

We had a kitchen to die for....all the mode cons, full size fridge, huge lounge, tv (with some paid TV too), full laundry,....it was more than a home away from home.

We had a car, so we went into the city and did some grocery shopping before head back to the apartment block. It is a little way from the main city, and I would say a car would be hand....plus they are building the new hospital next door, but you don't hear anything before seven in the morning or after around six at night.

The swimming pool was great.....the sauna....wow...my partner and myself are both sauna crazy, so this was the main reason we stayed there.....and it didn't let us down. Fantastic!!!!!!

So to sum up......a little out of town, great ocean view room, everything you could possible need in the apartment, you will need to do some shopping as there is nothing on site...no restaurant, no breakfast included....and you will need your car to get into main city of Cairns. But for the price and everything included....we will definitely be staying again, and again, and again.

Dennis and Bev

Room Tip: If would be very helpful to have your own transport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The room itself was aging but parts like the kitchen were new. We were told we would be near the top with an ocean view but found ourselves on the 4th floor looing over the hospital construction site next door. There was some noise from that, but that's just how it is, and they were usually finished by 3

The elevator's are very old. One night on our way out to the movies, the elevator jammed with us inside and we were stuck for over half an hour before the OTIS guy could come and let us out. The female manager came and all she said was "stop talking and let me talk to the man", whilst constantly informing us that she was the manager. We were shocked that not once did she ask if we were ok, and once she had spoken to the man on the phone she left, not knowing how many people were in the elevator, nor if we were alive. She really didn't seem to care about us at all, and seemed more concerned about simply finishing work.

If you don't have a vehicle, it is a substantial walk into the centre of town, we were lucky to have a car.

as for the room, the new kitchen was quite nice with new appliances. The lounge chairs were quite firm and uncomfortable, but the beds were nice. We could see a little snippet of the ocean but mostly the two balconies looked straight to the building next door, which was not what we were expecting. Overall the room was nice. Great water pressure coming out of the shower as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at 181 at the end of May, for 9 nights. This is the 4th time we have stayed there, so evidently we like the place. We have always stayed on the 7th floor, usually in the two bedroom apartment, No. 28. I must admit that the apartment could do with some refurbishment now, but it was still comfortable and clean, and very quiet. It is lovely to be able sit on the balcony with a glass of wine, and relax looking at the view. There is a very pleasant walk into the CBD along the waterfront, and there are plenty of places to sit while you take your time and enjoy the scenery. If we don't have a hire car, we usually walk to the main area, the shopping centre, or Rusty's Market, and get a Taxi back to 181. In our experience the staff have always been very helpful, and we would have no hesitation with staying there again.

Room Tip: Book early to get an apartment on one of the higher floors. We usually go in late May, before the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at 181 for 6 nights from 2/4/13. Even though we arrived after 6 pm had no problems accessing our unit, We had 2 bedroom unit (16) on 4 th floor .. Unit was very spacious,spotless , well equipped with amazing ocean views,, easy walk to convenience store and a variety of eating options.. (I recommend going to Cock and bull for a great meal).. Even though its next door to hospital we were not affected by it. Definitely would go there again it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Front ,left side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I am a Cairns local and chose to stay here at the 181 Esplande this weekend just gone. My friends and I found it value for money and the staff both friendly and helpful. The Cairns City Centre isn't too far away however if you're not keen on walking you can get a taxi for a small price. The place features a sauna, spa and pool which we found enjoyable. We were also impressed with the features and appliances of the room. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor which was nice and spacey with wonderful views of the sea and mountains - two balconies, modern kitchen & appliances, own laundry that includes washing machine, dryer, a satchet of washing powder and fold away clothesline in main bedroom cupboard, both rooms have built in wardrobes main with sliding mirrors, 2 bathrooms (ensuite & main) and a generous lounge and dining room. The staff are also able to help you organise and book trips and tours in Cairns and surrounding areas, the lobby has a wall full of pamphlets and information on different trips and tours if you would like an idea of where to go. My friends and I and my mother who visited are very impressed with the place. There's a construction site next door however this didn't effect our stay as we stayed on the opposite side to the construction site and they don't work on the weekend's. We will be staying again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this holiday apartment complex over the new year period for 1 week in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the pool and sea. A relaxing 20 minute stroll into Cairns central along the board walk. If you head out of the complex on the carpark side, there are some great eateries within a few minutes walk of the complex, one being the Cock and Bull on Grove Street. Some minor repairs needed to make apartment come up to speed which was reported to the apartment rental management, but all in all our stay was excellent. One suggestion I would have is that to extend the opening hours of the pool to adults and place a curfew on children entering the pool, and that children should also be accompanied by adults. We saw so many children creating mischief from our balcony with not a parent in sight. Lovely gardens to look at on site. Very helpful on-site manager.

Room Tip: Units on the sea & north side would be better. Discover the eateries nearby also instead of mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 181 The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Address: 181 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 181 The Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.