We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its just accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Acacia Court Hotel to your Saves list
Acacia Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Kempsey, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Its just accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Dont expect too much from the Acacia Court and you wont be disappointed. Its not much more than a bed for the night. Rooms are clean and large but try to avoid the first floor (they call it 2nd floor) because your ocean view will be overpowered by the roof of the outdoor dining and entry area.

This is not a resort and while it does have a pool, it is right off the dining and bar area with the road on the other side. No privacy and quite small for such a large hotel.

Breakfast is great value but we only tried Charlies buffet at night once, it was not that good.

All staff were great with the exception of one grumpy rude older gentleman that was on the desk each evening.

Bottleshop was closed during out stay.

A fair distance from the centre of Cairns but still very walkable and a nice trip along the Esplanade which is right outside the hotel. Lovely atmosphere in the afternoons.

Not much in the way of restaurants in this area.

If you are planning on spending everyday out sightseeing and not lounging around a resort then this hotel is great value.

Room Tip: avoid the second floor because view is obstructed by roofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    59
    59
    24
    26
See reviews for
34
60
27
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ravenshoe, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have been using the Acacia Court Hotel in Cairns for over 25 years as we are from the Cairns Hinterland. Having reviewed the majority of comments it is obvious that over the past couple of years the quality of service has sadly declined severely. But the most noticeable decline is this time is in reception and booking in the rooms were OK but just...Breakfast was very poor and when we spoke to the "manager" he was abrupt and did not care that we were telling him something that would assist in the betterment of the hotel...it should be noted that the ownership of this hotel has recently changed and that staff that were to us most welcoming have been fired or left...after 25 year we will in the future be more circumspect as to where we will stay in Cairns, and unfortunately Acacia Court will more that likely be very low down on that list, unless and until the new owners and management "lift their act"

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The major problem with this hotel is that everyone says it is under new construction. If you look for the address on the main esplanade, you won't find a name or a number. You have to drive one block off the beach to find recognition of the hotel and parking. We had a triple bedded room, ocean view for only $114 !!!!! as of June 2014. Big room, great shower, comfortable beds and oh what a beautiful view on our private balcony. The dinner buffet and breakfast were just perfect as the waitress had to shooo away a native bird or two. Please don't!!!!!! You would be crazy to pay $180 at the Holiday Inn or other properties for just a double!! Staff is extremely friendly and you are right there at the north end. Save you money and enjoy a great room. Just state you want the ocean view and you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront with a balcony! Super deal and you will not be disappointed. Don't expect v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevost, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spent only one night at this hotel on June 7th 2014. Room was clean but outdated. First when I arrived, the cleaning lady was spraying a product in the room which was very strong odor. I don't know if the product was deodorant or bug killer type. No luxury in the bedding but it was alright. Also I opted for an ocean view (5th floor) room which was very nice. The room had big patio door and a good size balcony. I chose this hotel for it's location on the Strand, very nice with it's park with walking paths but it is located a good distance from the action. About 20 min walk to restaurant, shopping, etc...I found easy parking in the hotel parking but I stayed in the low season. Probably different in the high season as there was not a lot of free spots. The package included the breakfast. Food was just "ok". Coffee machine was broken and the American coffee was awful. Overall, this place is ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: To get the best view possible and to get away from the noise coming from the pool area, choose an oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

No wifi. Poor service. Mold. Guests can set off the building's fire alarm by taking a hot shower. No sign or address to identify the hotel from the street. You'd be likely to find a hostel cleaner. If you're looking for a hotel on the Esplanade, pay the extra $10 and go to the Holiday Inn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

When we entered the room for the first time it felt cold and clammy. We put it down to the air conditioning being set too low, but however we adjusted it our clothes remained damp for the whole 9 days. On our first night there was loud noise from the room next door, where there was a party. We turned a blind eye to this, but at around 3am there was shouting and the sound of a girl in distress. The police were called, and the culprits were removed. Although we put in a written complaint to the manager, (John something), we never received one word of apology or explanation. My wife was extremely distressed by the situation. With the exception of the cleaners, and one young girl at reception, the staff were sullen and unhelpful. The only good thing about the place was the location.

Room Tip: We were at the rear, overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rooms were outdated, terrible linens, and beds rolled around. Air conditioning didn't work, towels were tiny, and noise from planes was frustrating. Buffet was a waste of money and wait staff were too busy flirting with each other to actually do their job. Terrible overall. Only redeeming quality was the spectacular view from the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.