We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and a really good restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acacia Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views and a really good restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The major problem with this hotel is that everyone says it is under new construction. If you look for the address on the main esplanade, you won't find a name or a number. You have to drive one block off the beach to find recognition of the hotel and parking. We had a triple bedded room, ocean view for only $114 !!!!! as of June 2014. Big room, great shower, comfortable beds and oh what a beautiful view on our private balcony. The dinner buffet and breakfast were just perfect as the waitress had to shooo away a native bird or two. Please don't!!!!!! You would be crazy to pay $180 at the Holiday Inn or other properties for just a double!! Staff is extremely friendly and you are right there at the north end. Save you money and enjoy a great room. Just state you want the ocean view and you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront with a balcony! Super deal and you will not be disappointed. Don't expect v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    50
    56
    23
    24
See reviews for
31
58
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prevost, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spent only one night at this hotel on June 7th 2014. Room was clean but outdated. First when I arrived, the cleaning lady was spraying a product in the room which was very strong odor. I don't know if the product was deodorant or bug killer type. No luxury in the bedding but it was alright. Also I opted for an ocean view (5th floor) room which was very nice. The room had big patio door and a good size balcony. I chose this hotel for it's location on the Strand, very nice with it's park with walking paths but it is located a good distance from the action. About 20 min walk to restaurant, shopping, etc...I found easy parking in the hotel parking but I stayed in the low season. Probably different in the high season as there was not a lot of free spots. The package included the breakfast. Food was just "ok". Coffee machine was broken and the American coffee was awful. Overall, this place is ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: To get the best view possible and to get away from the noise coming from the pool area, choose an oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

No wifi. Poor service. Mold. Guests can set off the building's fire alarm by taking a hot shower. No sign or address to identify the hotel from the street. You'd be likely to find a hostel cleaner. If you're looking for a hotel on the Esplanade, pay the extra $10 and go to the Holiday Inn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

When we entered the room for the first time it felt cold and clammy. We put it down to the air conditioning being set too low, but however we adjusted it our clothes remained damp for the whole 9 days. On our first night there was loud noise from the room next door, where there was a party. We turned a blind eye to this, but at around 3am there was shouting and the sound of a girl in distress. The police were called, and the culprits were removed. Although we put in a written complaint to the manager, (John something), we never received one word of apology or explanation. My wife was extremely distressed by the situation. With the exception of the cleaners, and one young girl at reception, the staff were sullen and unhelpful. The only good thing about the place was the location.

Room Tip: We were at the rear, overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rooms were outdated, terrible linens, and beds rolled around. Air conditioning didn't work, towels were tiny, and noise from planes was frustrating. Buffet was a waste of money and wait staff were too busy flirting with each other to actually do their job. Terrible overall. Only redeeming quality was the spectacular view from the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Damp smell on entry to hotel & in the passage ways
Rooms and bed linen very old & terrible 70's Decor
Very old Bathrooms- drains also smell
Needs updating
Staff not very helpful - un organised and lost all our booking information
Doors locked to go out to the pool area during the day - asked reception - and got a blank look!
I don't really recommend this hotel if you are planning on eating and actually staying there wanting to enjoy the pool area
Its sleep only in a budget room!!!
Breakfast...they took ages to top up the coffee
Fruit was canned
Very basic buffet breakfast...should of eaten out
Could of stayed else where for the same money in a nicer place with better staff and food!
Also non smoking on your own balcony!

Check out time...10am...we checked out at 1015am...already had house keeping and our room phones by 1010am!!!!

Spare towels...couldn't even get house keeping to bring us any!!! I had to go down an hr later to get them myself as they had no staff on they said besides reception!!!
Overall not happy and wasted our money
paid a lot less in port douglas with nicer room and food and stayed elsewhere in cairs the next day with breakfast and room for $20 less! and better staff!
3 out of 10!

Room Tip: Great view of the beach area- only good point
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Just booked in. Smell of damp overwhelming through entrance hall. Room shoddy, very worn and constant damp smell. Bed linen extremely basic. Bathroom in bad need of updating. Only saving grace is the ocean view over the top of an iron roof. Not a good look in general. Very basic probably reflected in being a little cheaper than most. But I think a motel would provide a more luxurious stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.