We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t Not Disturb Signs Mean Nothing - 3 intrusions in 6 night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Acacia Court Hotel to your Saves list
Acacia Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don’t Not Disturb Signs Mean Nothing - 3 intrusions in 6 night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a week during August 2013.
On check-in we were ‘greeted’ by an older woman who seemed more interested in eating her lunch and complaining to her staff member in office that checking us in. Just plain rude and unhelpful.
Our room was clean and comfortable. The beds could be a lot more comfortable, the décor could be brought into the new century but all in all clean. Balcony had only one plastic chair which was unsafe to sit on. View on the other hand was AMAZING.
Noise from the pool fountain was lovely except it went on all night, and sounded like it was right outside the window not 6 floors down!
First day we had been in our room 10mins, still checking out the view and unpacking our bags, when to our amazement a maintenance man let himself in to fix a light. Yep – let himself in, not even a knock on the door before doing so.
Having a 2 year old in the room we unplugged the phone for obvious reasons. This apparently gives reasons for housekeeping to let themselves into the room on not 1 occasion but 2!
First we were in the room (balcony enjoying pre dinner drinks) when housekeeping let themselves in. to our amazement this was the second intrusion in 2 days! She apologised but said that the duty manager said she had to clean the room as we didn’t answer our phone all day to confirm otherwise. You would think the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door was enough conformation.
The second housekeeping intrusion and 3rd overall intrusion to our privacy was done when we were not in the room. Upon returning to our room was again found housekeeping! Apparently DO NOT DISTURB signs mean nothing to this hotel! When we comforted the cleaner he gave the same excuse as the last cleaner.
Beyond furious my husband and I remained calm and once over the initial shock and astonishment of yet again being the victim of bad hotel etiquette and service we complained to the staff at the reception desk, well it was like talking to a plank of wood. I don’t even think the staff spoke English well enough to understand our situation. I proceeded to write letter to manager and left it on check out the next day. 1 month later and still no response from the hotel, hence this review.
On another not, the hotel offers rooms service – apparently. We tried on several occasions to order room service, first at 12noon for lunch (club sandwich and chips). Was told kitchen doesn’t open until 2 today. At 2pm, we called again, no sorry chef isn’t ready to use the fryer for another hour. On another occasion around 9pm we called for and was told we would have to come to reception to pay as we didn’t leave a credit card imprint on check-in. We didn’t know this was an option due to the terrible customer service by the old lady on reception. So, if you want room service there are a number of great take way’s in the area who do deliver and I’m sure are much yummier and definitely more accommodating and deliver with a smile!
Overall, Clean, Tidy, Fantastic views, terrible customer service, room service if you order out.

Don’t Not Disturb Signs Mean Nothing - 3 intrusions in 6 night stay

Room Tip: ask for sea views and high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    59
    59
    24
    26
See reviews for
34
60
27
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean room with a lovely sea view, short walk along the espionage to town. 5 dollars for 5 hours of internet, but internet failed to work on 4th floor on second day. When I asked about it at reception the man just said that it had been working for him all day with no help offered. The next morning the lady at reception angrily admitted that they needed to reset the router for the 4th floor, but did not apologise or offer a refund without being pressured. Poor service!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

im currently here now staying and if it wasnt my last night id be checking out early and going elsewhere,what a dump,i got the mountain view room,very 1980 style.sheets were so old and stiff they were like sleeping in noisy paper,the bedspreads were so dirty i swear i saw dried semen on them. iv slept in motels all over Aus and even the ones in the outback were better.
the bathrooms a joke,old creaky toilet,old bathtub,no towel rack and dodgy shampoo in plastic sachets.exhausted vent covered in black soot.
Tv is a joke, you see a tv guide with inhouse movies but theres no movie channels.WIFI is not worth it. Room service took 50 minutes for a bowl of chips.this was ordered at 3pm when the hotel is dead quite.only when i called a asked where they were did i get them sent up,stone cold,obviously some tool didnt remember to bring it up. i wont even get started on the rude,unfriendly people at front desk,what a joke. never ever again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Arrived early and was greeted by a very helpful receptionist. Went out of her way to help. Unfortunately after her shift was over, the management took over reception. Any request was met with a hostile grunt.

Asked what time restaurant opened. 6 I was told. So went to attached bottle shop and purchased a bottle of wine to enjoy in the outside guest area with other guests who were doing the same. After sitting and relaxing for a while was approached by staff and told The bar was now open and that i couldn't drink the wine. Surprised I asked at reception why and was advised very rudely its a bar and I cant bring my own drink. I explained that i had purchased the wine in their own Bottle shop and that I was told its ok. Then told not now that the bar was open.

A short time later was approached and charged $11 for corkage by the owners son who was even more hostile than his father. Other guests were outraged with how I was treated.

Next day asked for some local information and again was met with grunts.

It feels like the Management have little interest in helping guests enjoy their stay.

Rooms are clean but dated, Facilities are again a bit dated. Fantastic location and great value

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuhtai, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here recently as a 1 night stop over before journeying up to Port Douglas. Over all, it was fairly decent. The room was spacious, the view of the sea was nice when i saw it in the morning (after dark when i arrived there is literally *nothing* to be seen so was hardly worth the extra cash), theres an abundance of tea/coffee in the room & you can alter the aircon yourself (always good). However, the bathroom was rather less impressive! I discovered a wealth of random hairs, clearly having belonged to at least 2 or more different people, dotted around the room! From floor, to bath, to sink, to one of my towels (where a particularly huge, thick black one had taken up residence)- there was hair everywhere?! Too tired to fuss i cleaned this up myself, but there were also stains on the washcounter by the sink & i was left wondering how thorough a clean this room had actually gotten. Additionally the general decor is pretty dated, & i felt a bit like an actor in a terrible 1980s soap opera for some of the time. Over all, i wouldn't really recommend this place. Though its a short car ride to the airport, i think there must be better quality places to stay than here that actually tend to their washrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel because it is the best value I found in town in terms of location and great views of the esplanade. The room are a bit dated but they are always clean and tidy. Views are great. Service each time has been very cold and unwelcoming. I have to even say hello first and am greeted with almost a huff which makes me feel like I am an inconvenience rather than a valued customer. I don't think I have seen the front desk staff ever smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at characterless Acacia Court for one night. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable with a great location. However, the reception staff leaves a lot to be desired. Very unattentive, no hellos, no smiles or recognition of you as a paying customer. Every request was met with indignation. Will choose another hotel the next time in Cairn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.