We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cairns esplanade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acacia Court Hotel to your Saves list
Acacia Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Daintree
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cairns esplanade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I live in the Daintree and often go to cairns overnight for shopping trips. We always stay at Acacia Court . The lady on reception is fantastic. She is pleasant and helpful.The ocean view rooms are very relaxing. The breakfast at Charlies is the best.

Room Tip: All floors above 2 have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    59
    59
    24
    26
See reviews for
34
60
27
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on my own for 4 nights just before new year.
I researched hotels in Cairns carefully, I didn't want to spend too much but I didn't want to stay in a hostel so this hotel seemed like a good compromise. I had expected it to be closer to the CBD having read the description but it was about a 20 minute walk into town which, after lots of walking during the day was not what I wanted to do. I did eat in the buffet restaurant one night but, as I don't eat seafood I don't feel that I got my money's worth. I didn't feel the food was of particularly high quality either.
I had three occasions to talk to reception after check-in and each time I had to wait at least 5 minutes before I was served. On one occasion I had gone into the bathroom to have a shower only to discover I had no towels. I had to get dressed again and go down to reception. When I spoke to the lady on reception she said "it will be hanging on the back of the door" she was very sarcastic and implied that I had not looked everywhere or that I was trying to get extra towels. Reluctantly she gave me a towel.
On the other occasions I asked a question, even when I just asked for a map it seemed like too much trouble.
Only other tip is that if you pay for wifi make sure you disconnect each time as the time counts down when your connection is dormant not just when you are actively browsing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived in Australia the day we checked into this hotel. The lady at the counter was blunt and did not give us a warm welcome.
The room we got had no view and was outdated. The plus side is that it was quiet and had a good bed to sleep in. The walk from the city centre to the hotel is about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to spend New Years Eve on the Esplanade so as we could sit on our balcony & watch the fireworks. We googled this hotel which had rooms available with a balcony & mountain view, so perfect we paid triple the usual price being New Years Eve & off we went babysitter arranged & car packed. On arrival we were horrified to walk into our room as small as a broom cupboard, dirty, no wine glasses, and definateley NO BALCONY!! Only a roof outside our window!! So we had to walk a long way into town, buy drinks when we had brought our own,catch cabs as you would not spend 1 minute in this dirty poor excuse for a room. Had we known we would have stayed home!! And the hotel refused to refund our money despite the false advertising!! A tent would be more luxurious than this place or even a back packers save yourself the grief go elsewhere, somewhere reputable!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hotel as stated by some is NOT close to the CBD. Over two weeks between 3 families we stayed at this hotel 7 nights in all. The rooms included meals which were ok, the rooms were mouldy and old. Most things we could put up with for the price. The issue is customer service- the people behind the reception particularly the lady with all the gold bracelets and bangles on were nothing but absolute pigs, rude abrupt, couldn't find our internet booking at any time we stayed there and said "oh come back later we have been busy"
We gave the hotel many chances as not wanting to whinge but when a smile is not offered and they struggle to do the job they are employed for it makes you determined to go elsewhere, and we did, The heritage was just great, closer to town and Rosemary the manager is a gem smiling and very willing to help.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms have a view of the car park more than mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel on the seventh floor with a great view of the Cairn's Esplanade. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was ok, but they could have used a little more help at the front desk. The restaurant (buffet) in the hotel was so-so, although there are many better places to eat just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an ocean view room - above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfzijl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is close to Cairns City Centre and on the Promenade.. nice walk to restaurants etc, but you can stay as well for the buffet. Clean and comfortable and I think all of my group enjoyed the week we spent here.. thanks!

Room Tip: Room with seeview with balcony is everything you want.. but the rest of the rooms at the back are fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.