We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cairns to your Saves list
Hilton Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Hilton is an agreeable hotel. The staff are very pleasant, apart from the receptionist who grudgingly allowed us a late checkout till 12:30pm (our plane left at 3:30pm), despite the fact that we had spent 7 nights at the hotel. Stand out staff were Brendan at the Sunrise Cafe and Matthew the barman, whose margaritas were perfect. However service from all the staff was excellent. Our room was lovely, and the breakfasts were great. The hotel is ideally situated to nearby restaurants and the main shopping area, both of which are a short walk away. My only gripe was the fact that wifi in the room cost $14.50 per day, although it was free in the lobby for an hour at a time. Also resented the 1.5% credit card payment fee. Both of these initiatives are purely money grabbing exercises and unworthy of a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor and I’m pleased to read you’ve enjoyed your holiday break with us. I will be sure to pass on the great feedback to Brendan and Matthew – they will be delighted to hear from you.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    523
    198
    67
    38
See reviews for
264
641
105
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were made feel welcome as soon as we arrived at the Cairns Hilton,friendly smiling staff,eager to please. Ideal location on the waters edge and close to shopping centre and restaurants. Beautiful room comfy king size bed with large balcony and water views. Close by boarding area for Barrier Reef Cruise, which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your Hilton experience and found the team to be welcoming and happy to assist. The Great Barrier Reef Fleet terminal is just a 5 minute walk away so our guests are close to all the action and activities.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton for a conference followed by a couple of extra days in two rooms 710 followed by 405. 405 was supposedly a higher grade room to 710. Whilst the bathroom was bigger in 405 with a separate shower and bath the location closer to the pool and Casino of room 405 and inferior view compared to 710 I would rank 710 as the better room.
The lack of free wi-fi in all rooms is just irritating and hotels should get it that this is not acceptable to charge, well anything for this - I recall the fee as approx. $14 per day.
On check in having expected that the room should have been fully paid for the first part by my company and then for the additional days by myself to be told that no it was not paid for by my company and that I in fact wanted it this way. The person at reception should have thought more about their choice of words as this was annoying and not true. The Hilton needs better processes for booking companies to clearly determine whether payments should be charged when booked rather than on arrival.
I found that all other staff that were spoken to face to face were pleasant and competent. There does, however seem to be an issue with phone staff in that I spoke to several who did not speak good English and did not have clear diction.
Whilst I only have the option on trip advisor of Average or Very Good, Good would be an overall summation.

Room Tip: Go higher up and towards the water away from the Casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies for any confusion arising from accommodation billing instructions on arrival and I do appreciate the feedback on staff communication via the telephone.

I hope we can welcome you back again – whether on business or leisure.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weipa, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic stay here! Stayed in a Spa room which was immaculate. Modern, clean, absolutely nothing was bad. Staff was super friendly. Breakfast was awesome. Room service was good. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Deb,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed your visit to Hilton Cairns and I hope we can welcome you back again on your next trip south.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

There is no shortage of quality accommodation in Cairns but Hilton is very likely the best. An excellent location on the waterfront, near everything you want to see and do and within walking distance of everything the centre of Cairns has to offer, including literally dozens of dining options. The design of the hotel is quite extraordinary. An open air atrium rises through the middle of the hotel, allowing ocean breezes through the structure. Views are good on either side. Rooms are spacious and feature a pleasing contemporary style. Executive lounge is on the small side but did not seem crowded. Breakfast is good and staff are pleasant and efficient. The hotel offers all of the standards and services one expects of a Hilton, combined with North Queensland friendliness and informal style. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. The team are delighted to read your great comments and appreciate the feedback. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Family stay in cairns and my parents got us all in the Hilton hotel with ocean and a high floor. The pool is so beautiful and big we swam nearly everyday during our stay, under ground carpal off the street is a bonus and the elevator in underground parking is a great access in to the building. Every time I head down to cairns I always booked the Hilton hotel in advance because this is a money for value hotel with the delights of breakfast every morning we woke up down in the dinning area. I almost loved the garden and seats set out in the lobby.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Deanne,

Thank you for your continued support as a local in the Tropical North. It’s great to read you enjoy your visits to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Positioned near the boardwalk, city and convention centre the location was great. The rooms were what you would expect, good but not great. My room was facing the casino and was a little noisy with the balcony door open (there was also some sort of road works) - not sure if the water front was better.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. It’s great to read that you enjoyed our location which is well centred in the city and close to key attractions. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.