We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in beautiful cairns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Cairns to your Saves list
Hilton Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Fabulous stay in beautiful cairns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the hilton for 7 nights. The first impression was the lovely staff. Every staff member we spoke to from the front desk, to the bar to housekeeping were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The room was a corner room that overlooked the marina and the mountains. The furnishings were modern, the bed comfortable and everything was always exceptionally clean.
The only thing that ident like was the pool. The size was great but as we were there in winter we were really looking for sun and warm water ( which we didn't get a lot of....). Also the spa temp could probably be turned up a few degrees for this time of year.
I would definitely return to enjoy the lovely city and the hotels fabulous central location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns and for your 7 nights with us. It’s a great length of time to really explore our local region including the Great Barrier Reef, the Rainforest experience and our local heritage and wildlife. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time with us and I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    423
    160
    57
    29
See reviews for
221
499
83
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cloncurry, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I checked into the hilton cairns for three nights the hotel is located perfectly in cairns it's so close to everything. I had a room on the 7th floor it was nice and clean and offered a lovely view over the trinity inlet. The food at the hotel is great mondos especially the locals love it as well so that's always a great sign. The service I received from the staff at the hilton cairns was great so next time I am in cairns I will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Josh,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your 3 night stay with us. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed the break and made special mention of Mondo Café Bar and Grill – it’s a very popular spot with the locals, and we enjoy being family friendly with space for the kids to play while the parents enjoy a meal. I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton in Cairns twice this year and I will always stay there as it is situated in a nice place and the views from the rooms is just great both day and night. Front reception staff are always really caring and always ask if you're ok and need assistance, so the service just makes you feel special.

If I have to return to Cairns again in the future this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Pick the sunrise side - it is great in the mornings and you can see the boats floating by from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Lyn and Ken,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and for your repeat patronage – it’s great to have you return. I’m pleased the team have provided great service and look forward to having you visit again on your next trip to Cairns.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked 2 nights with Hilton points. I am a gold member and got upgraded to the club lounge. Got free breakfast and free drinks/snacks at dinner. It is motel style inside as the inside is outside, but has a very cool view. Great views from the 9th floor of the other hotels and the city. The location is right at the pier and downtown. Everything within walking distance. Only downside was that it took > 20 minutes to check in which is ridiculous for a Hilton. The last thing I want to do is wait that long after a long flight into Cairns.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ray,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor, we really appreciate your on-going loyalty as a valued Hilton Honors Gold member. Please accept my apologises for the delay in check in – I appreciate the feedback. I’m pleased the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and hope we can welcome you back again someday.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Check in was a breeze. Even though I had messed up our reservation on-line, the front desk staff was very accommodating and able to put us in a nicer room with a stunning view of the water and mountains. Room 832 is a king room with a huge whirlpool bathtub; but, the balcony and view are the real highlights. The room is large. It easily holds the big bed with side tables, a side chair, a large desk and chair, and a dresser with a tv on top. There’s a big closet with a safe and lots of storage space. A very nice welcome was the chilled wash-clothes in the minibar fridge. There is room to chill your own bottles of water. There is a good selection of coffee/tea and a pot to boil water.
The bed has good quality linens and pillows. We rested well and recovered from jet lag. There is plenty of lighting. There are electrical outlets at the desk; but, lacking near the bed. The wifi was included with our room and it worked well.
The luxurious bathroom has modern fixtures, huge whirlpool tub, and a neat shower with good water pressure. The towels and bathrobes are soft and fluffy. The amenities are standard Hilton.
Breakfast was also included with our room. The dining room has a wonderful view of the trees and water, it is a delightful spot to enjoy the large buffet with a wonderful variety of foods. The yogurt and fruits are delicious.
One annoying thing is a $4.50 charge to take a pool towel on your reef tour. I understand a deposit to make sure the towels are returned…but really to charge guests $9 to use a couple of towels.
The location is nearly perfect. It is a short walk (less than 5 minutes) to the harbor and the boats to the reef. It is very near the city center and all the shops including a Woolworth’s Grocery Store. Guests can walk to the night market and food court in about 10 minutes. I don’t think there is a bus from the airport. We used a taxi and it cost about $25.
The employees all over the hotel are friendly and helpful.
We definitely enjoyed our stay and can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comprehensive review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and the service from team. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that one day we can welcome you back to the Tropical North of Australia.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great friendly staff and value for money, good location in Cairns. Quiet rooms and sometimes lucky to get an upgrade. Restaurant dining wonderful and hotel also has charge back at restaurants just outside the main entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your visit to the Tropical North. It’s great to that you’ve enjoyed our location and service from the team. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

In my years of hosting events in North Queensland this has been the best hotel venue to hold them that I have experienced. Staff were proactive, polite and very patient with our requests. I would highly recommend them!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and the great comments following your Event here in the hotel. It’s great to read that you and your delegates enjoyed their time and that the team here worked alongside you to ensure success and a stress free environment. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.