We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cairns to your Saves list
Hilton Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We only planned to stay one night but ended up staying 4 as the hotel is so good now. Very friendly and respectful staff especially Kim and Yuko on reception who made us feel very welcome. We chose a room overlooking the city and mountains having stayed in the river side rooms before. A lovely view from our balcony with a brilliant sunset from the 5th floor but would be better on 7 or 8. Very comfy beds and well decorated room with a perfect bathroom.

Room Tip: City side with mountain views and sunset for me, river side for those who must see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jackoaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Truipadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. I’m so pleased we’ve impressed you enough to extend and enjoy 4 nights - not just a quick one night stop. I know the Front Desk team will appreciate the great feedback and we hope to welcome you back again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    475
    179
    64
    34
See reviews for
248
566
94
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at this great hotel twice and would recommend to anyone. You can't get any better in term of location in Cairns with marina is literally a stone-throw away. I love the 50m pool as I am a keen swimmer. Try your best to ask for room with Trinity Inlet view as the view during early morning & dusk is amazing & serene.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the east & higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Lawrence,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns following your recent visit – we appreciate your return patronage. I’m pleased you’ve enjoyed the pool – it’s big enough for laps or if the family want to have a swim, there’s plenty of room for everyone. We have pool toys available also. I hope we can welcome you back for a third visit soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Next to the marina, walk along the foreshore or explore the bars and restaurants of cairns. This is a great hotel with water views, but the staff make it excellent. They are friendly and extremely helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Brendan,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review. I’m pleased to read you’ve made the most of our convenient location and taken some time to explore our wonderful city’s nightlife and dining. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great rooms and exec lounge, but the real benefit is the people. They are helpful and attentive, but at the same time not overbearing. They will go the extra mile. Take a walk along the boardwalk or into town, and you are right beside the marina if you would like to go for a tour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be attentive and in tune with your needs. I hope we can welcome you back to the Tropical North again some day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week on a "my holiday" deal which was excellent value. We got a twin room on the 7th floor. Great beds, decent amount of space and a reasonable view. the gym was good (tho' no bike) and the pool is huge. Our deal included $500 of food and drink in the Hilton restaurants - excellent food. Huge serves. Buffet breakfast was not great - the eggs were tasteless and so was most of the hot food. Ended up sticking with a bowl of cereal. Overall Hilton cairns could do with a makeover as it is pretty tired but for the desk we had it was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and the feedback on services in the hotel. I’m pleased you’ve enjoyed your week with us – and made the most of the My Queensland deal. I hope we can welcome you back again next time you travel to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just returned from 4 days in Cairns where the sun shone every day. A great place to spend winter.
Hotel the best I have found in Cairns and now my regular hotel whenever I visit (four times a year+).
Staff are always very helpful and friendly and willing to do that little bit EXTRA

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. There’s something very therapeutic about escaping a Southern winter for some time in the sun and I’m delighted we were able to ensure your holiday was a relaxing break. I hope we’ll be able to have you return again when you need some warming!

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Decided to spend one night in Cairns, living locally on the Tablelands. It's our favourite hotel in Cairns having stayed in all Esplanade hotels over the years. Position, rooms and staff all excellent. In an industry with high staff turnover, it's great to revisit a hotel and find the same friendly staff there, from back office to reception and concierge. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Local Visitor,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the support of locals and I want to say thanks for your regular patronage. I am really lucky to have a team who have worked here for such a long time, and with that they really get to know the regulars on return. I even have some 2nd generation team members who’s parents have worked here and now their children have joined the team too.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.