We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cairns to your Saves list
Hilton Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Litchfield Park, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The location of the hotel is an easy walk to Casino, Marina, shopping and restaurant. Our room was nice, spacious and modern. We were given first class treatment upon checking in and the staff is really courteous. The housekeeping services were below average, basically they came and replaced towels and emptied trash, typically when housekeeping has been in the room, there little touches are noticeable, but not here. It wasn't a big deal, but it was noticeable. We also arrived back to our room one evening to find our door ajar, it was left unlocked all day by the housekeeping staff. This was unacceptable and we could have been robbed of everything, luckily after an hour of high adrenaline, unrest and uneasiness we were fortunate enough not to have had anything stolen. We did call down to the desk and at least expected a call from management or an apology but nothing. When we checked out I asked the front desk if they had been told about this, but nothing. So the fact that this was not taken very seriously was a let down. Maybe crediting our points back, or some type of gesture would have been nice. The on site restaurant did have a nice breakfast and the executive lounge was mediocre, no hot items brought up on the 3 out of 5 nights for over an hour while we were in the lounge, so compared to other Hilton properties this was another disappointment. overall it is a nice slightly below average Hilton property!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m very concerned to read of the Housekeeping problem and this has been passed to the Department Manager for review and re-training. I’m pleased you enjoyed our waterfront location and overall room quality. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back if ever you travel to the Tropical North again.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    496
    188
    66
    37
See reviews for
260
599
97
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Excellent stay friendly staff and excellent food. Room service meals wee excellent and service was very prompt. Overall appearance of hotel was very posh and clean. Travel consultant was very helpful and experienced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Peter and Erica,

Thank you for the hotel review via Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time with us and found the service from the Tour Desk of high quality – it’s so important to have spoken with well informed locals when making your day trip decisions. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The location is convenient to the casino, the board walk along the bay and restaurants. We also books some tours that picked us up at the hotel or we had to meet up at the dock just down the boardwalk. We had issues with the Wi-Fi. Free Wi-Fi is offered in the lobby but in the evenings, the hotspot filled up and kicked you off. We could have paid for it in our room, but we were staying on the Hilton Honors level which only gave free wireless access in the Hilton Honors Lounge on a desktop computer. The lobby was a nice place to hangout and people watch. The pool was nice. We had food delivered to our lounge chairs. The hotel restaurant offered a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the posting on Tripadvisor following your stay with us here at Hilton Cairns. I appreciate the feedback on the WiFi services we offer. It’s great read you’ve enjoyed your visit to the Tropical North of Australia and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found that 3 day stay was very enjoyable, Room looked over the Marina & stayed in the Suite which was spacious , in in room dining was good. The only thing found unusual these days is that you have to pay for Wi-Fi in a 5 Star Hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read you’ve enjoyed your time with and chose a Suite upgrade – they are lovely rooms on the corner of the hotel with great views across the marina and out to sea. I hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Friendly and efficient staff. Fantastic position across from the Casino and super close to the pier as we were catching a boat early next morning. Wished we could stay longer. Luxurious king deluxe with a water view. We hope to return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. It’s great to you’ve enjoyed our premium location and taken some time to have a look around our great city. I hope you’ll have more time on the next visit and can relax a little more.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed 4 nights and if we had not already paid, we would have moved hotel.
Although they were mostly small things that were wrong, the total experience was tainted.
Things like needing to be "Arnie" to open balcony door, Toiletries only topped up on last day, bed made but looked like they had been slept on, hairs in bathroom (not ours), at breakfast we requested that the milk be labelled (lactose issue) but this was not done. However staff were friendly and helpful when approached.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns and I’m sorry to read your experience fell short of expectations. I have passed the feedback on to the Housekeeping team as we continually seek to improve our service and quality.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We held a wedding function in Hilton Cairns with over 30 guests and food and service was wonderful. Staffs were friendly and handy. Wedding package included a free night stay at beautiful view spa room and sparking wine gifts. Absolute will return again for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor.
I was very pleased to read that your stay was so enjoyable. It is our goal to ensure that every guest experience is a positive one so your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.