We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“backpacker standard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cairns to your Saves list
Hilton Cairns
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“backpacker standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I thought Hilton was a big brand all around the world. But Hilton Cairns seemed like a "backpacker hostel standard"..overall very disappointing. And the service was really bad. The staff named Lana was being rude to us for the order. She was saying to us she not a waitress and saying to ask a waitress to take down our order. We waited way too long about 20 minutes. Tried to approached to her again for our order. She was telling us "oh I forget about it". We were so upset
and walked away from the restaurant. not wanting to wait like 30mins just for eggs order. Thats really ridiculous. Never recommend this hotel to anyone. The worst experience ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Damen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to read that you experienced a problem at breakfast and appreciate you providing this detail for our follow up and review.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    448
    171
    58
    32
See reviews for
233
532
88
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tully, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I thought the room was overpriced considering I stayed at the Pacific International across the street the night prior for half the price. The breakfast buffet was a disappointment and again I thought it was overpriced. Also, the tea served at Breakfast tasted like chlorine. Overall it was a letdown and I won’t be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed in your breakfast experience and your stay was not as enjoyable as it might have been. It’s important to receive feedback as we continually strive to improve our guest experience.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is very average for a Hilton. The room was on the smallish side. It was refurbed but boringly so. I cant remember what the bathroom looked like so it must have been bland bland bland, and the balcony was old (1970s tiles?). There was nothing worth taking a photo of. The hotel's public areas are a real let down - they need some serious upgrading. The reception desk is tiny and overall the hotel does not feel like an upmarket offering. I dont mind opening my own doors and carrying my own luggage, but if I'd needed help there was no one to around to offer assistance.

Breakfast itself was ok if not memorable; it is not up to the usual Hilton standard in terms of freshness, abundance and variety (eg, the Japanese porridge station was just sad, cold meats looked unappetising, cereals were boring).

The gym is not the usual Hilton standard; it is tiny with three pieces of cardio equipment, one of which (bike) was out of order. Couldn't find the aircon so it was a real sweatbox too. The guy I was in the gym with was also complaining.

Positives: the location was walk to everything, the coffee I ordered at breakfast was good (and I wasnt charged extra for it!), the heated spa in the pool area was great for the kids.

I'd try to find something better next time, unless the rate was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Poohpaws,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns, I’m sorry to read that you didn’t find the facilities to standard and appreciate the feedback on the services offered. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back another time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hilton Cairns has a great location, close to the city and close to the water & main esplanade. Warm and friendly staff - even the cleaners are happy! Would not hesitate to recommend this venue, business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Anmarie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvsior. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your Hilton experience especially making mention of the friendly team who will be delighted with your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May during our visit to the Great Barrier Reef. We had a waterfront view room on the 8th floor. The room was clean and comfortable. We arrived before noon. Our room was not ready so we left our luggage with the front desk, and went to the Mondo restaurant to have lunch. The lady who checked us in delivered our keys to the restaurant and told us our luggage had been delivered to our room.

This Hilton is not as fancy as other Hiltons in the big cities but the room cleaning services were excellent. In addition to the daily cleaning service, they also came by every day around 5PM to replenish bottle water and towels.

The location is close to the pier and a short walk to the shops and town center. The breakfast selections were good. The Mondo restaurant was good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. Your profile shows you as a regular traveller so I’m sure you’ve seen plenty of hotels over the years! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and found some time to relax and take in views of the water and surrounding mountains. I hope your travels bring you back to Cairns again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in May and it lived up to my expectations. The room I stayed in was very spacious and had a lovely view of the sea ( worth putting a request in for). It was a very short walk to the shops, bars, restaurants and the lagoon pool on the board walk. Breakfast was great at the hotel with a good variety for everyone. The hotel facilities such as the gym looked great but I didn't get a chance to use it. The pool area is large and the water was nice and cool.
I would highly recommend this hotel as it is in a great location and the staff were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your 5 nights with us here at the Hilton. That’s a good length of time to explore the wonderful destination of Tropical North Queensland and I know the itinerary you followed had you busy every day! I hope we can welcome you back to Hilton Cairns again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed many, many times at the Hilton Cairns due to its' central location. Across the road from the Hilton is the Casino and the shops/tour places aren't too far away either. The Esplanade is full of various cafes and restaurants so you don't necessarily need to eat breakfast/dinner at the Hilton restaurant.

Our last visit was in July 2012 and when we arrived (around 10am), there were no porters at the front - presume they were busy elsewhere. Bit disappointing as we had just got off a long international flight.

Check-in at Reception revealed that unfortunately our room wouldn’t be ready until 12 noon as they were at full capacity the night before .. this is understandable as check-in isn't until 2pm so we sat (and snoozed) on their rather large foyer chairs for a couple of hours.

Our room was spacious with a balcony that had a good view across gardens, harbour and the distant mountains.

The ensuite was certainly big enough for the 2 of us and had everything we would need for our overnight visit - although we'd prefer showers not to be in the bathtub (for safety reasons).

We were so tired and just wanted to sleep but had to wait for our luggage which arrived one hour later (after ringing and reminding them.) It was a nice gesture for the Receptionist to phone later in the day to enquire how our visit was going and if everything was okay.

One gripe would be that Internet access is not complimentary like some other large hotel chains. The Internet charges (both wired & Wi-Fi) were .55c a minute (and capped at $29) - a bit steep!

Check-out was smooth and friendly.

Overall it's a nice hotel and one that we will probably continue to return to when visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you taking the time to review Hilton Cairns and for being such a regular visitor – we appreciate your on-going support. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your most recent stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Cairns again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.