We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Southside International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Southside International to your Saves list
Cairns Southside International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Mulgrave Road., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a decent place to stay, all that you need and none of the frills that drive up the cost in other places. Certainly good value for money. The Restaurant is quite solid and good value as well. I will stay here again for certain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and our location in the beautiful Cairns region of Tropical North Queensland - hoping you choose to stay with us again and also recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently apart from no car parks as they were renovating which wasn't really a big thing.
the rooms were very outdated and smelt musty and of toilet. The air con was broken and there was no security window as we were located on the bottom floor didn't feel safe to open it.
The fridge had the last persons left in it that also smelt.
I don't normally complain but I wouldn't stay again on the plus side the staff were Lovley.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your response. We appreciate guest feedback and are in the process of ongoing maintenance to resolve these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The property advertises very proudly that they have Cable TV in every room, and when you arrive there is an AUSTAR logo attached to the front of reception.

It therefore came as a disappointment that after paying for the room and turning on the television that there was no AUSTAR!!

Dont advertise it if you do NOT have it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was unfortunate timing that when we were in the process of discontinuing Austar, not all sites were updated simultaneously and during the transition a few guests were affected. I believe that it has now been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, good value, near Stockland cairns shopping centre and has bar and grill on site and also pub across the road, good showers heaps of water , nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and our location in the beautiful Cairns region of Tropical North Queensland .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not a new or flash hotel but for the price you pay its very reasonable.
Rooms aren't in perfect condition but the beds are comfortable and room furnishings are modern.
Only letdown and not the hotels fault but it is located in a bad area. While I was there there were cars stolen from carpark, bar being broken into and an assault.
The owner needs to invest in much better security for the hotel and his staff and not think he so special that he can smoke in the bar.
Stephanie the afternoon manager is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Guest feedback is important to us as we strive for guest satisfaction. We are pleased that generally you were happy with your stay in our property and in our beautiful city of Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews but I found the place very clean and comfortable and perfect for a few nights stay on a business trip. Not right in the middle of the city so you don't have all the noise and hustle and bustle. Restaurant was very good and the staff could not do enough for me. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and our location in the beautiful Cairns region of Tropical North Queensland . We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A group of 4 couples together stayed at the Southside hotel. We found the decor of the restaurant and reception to be very modern and attractive. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We also ate at the restaurant, in which we shared in plenty of fish, oysters, squid, steaks and entrees. The food was absolutely beautiful! All of us definitely would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Tropical North Queensland and experienced our delicious cuisine and atmosphere of the Southside Bar and Grill Restaurant. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Southside International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Southside International

Address: 450 Mulgrave Road., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Southside International 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Southside International is a modern 4 star property that is only a short 5 minute drive into the city of Cairns, Queensland. You will find yourself situated right amongst great tourist attractions and events in no time staying with us. Feel free to roam the streets where you will find an abundance of internationally renowned restaurants, a huge variety of bars, as well as retail shops open till late every day for your easy browsing. If looking somewhere to relax for the day, there are plenty of options around the city, starting with the Cairns world famous lagoon, where you can help yourself to a free barbecue, lay on the lawns sun baking, or take a swim to cool off. Cairns Southside International has many facilities including the pool area where you can unwind amongst the palm trees enjoying a drink ordered directly from the bar. If you're feeling hungry then ordering from our popular Southside Bar & Grill A-La-Carte restaurant is a must, the menu features a large variety of choices, including freshly caught local seafood, a selection of succulent meat dishes, or a pasta meal full of your favorite flavors, there is something for everyone. Cairns Southside International will suit your holiday or business requirements. Laundry with ironing, tour booking desk, Internet computer terminals with printing, free wireless internet throughout, and fax options are just a few things we can help you with. All of our rooms are air-conditioned and have 32-inch flat screen televisions with foxtel to help make your stay with us comfortable, as well as a stocked mini-bar, iron with ironing board, hair dryer, and tea and coffee making facilities. We have plenty of rooms options, from our Queen bed guest room, up to our Luxury spa suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Southside International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Cairns Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Southside International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.