We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
A$129 Inc. 2 Buffet Brfst
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fit for Purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My daughter needed somewhere close to hospital to recover from minor surgery. The accommodation more than met our expectations.

Housekeeping, reception and restaurant staff were just so friendly and helpful. Clean tidy Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, besides being the closest major hotel to the Cairns Airports we are also very handy to Both the Cairns Hospital and Cairns Private Hospital. We are the perfect location for a hospital visit and we can often get you down there in our own shuttle bus. I hope everything went well for your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
53
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We chose the Sheridan Hotel because of its closeness to the Airport as we were arriving late on our first day and then 10 days later when we were departing we had a pre 6am flight , so being handy to the Airport was a major factor at choosing this hotel. The Sheridan also has great deals on its personal website which we were able to pick up 2 nights of quality accommodation inc internet , breakfast and free movies at a great price.The staff were extremely helpful and very polite and nothing was too hard for them, they arranged the taxi and the early morning wake up call for us. Great service and would definitely stay here again next time we are in Cairns.Surprisingly didn't hear any airport noise.Probably could improve in room lighting and the bathrooms need to updated in the near future.

Room Tip: we stayed both on the 2nd and 3rd floors and found great quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You may of noticed that we have enlarged the deck and in the process of expanding the restaurant. We are also embarking on a bathroom renovation program which will see all our bathroom fittings replaced. This should be finished in the next few months. We are continuously looking for ways to improve our hotel and all our guest feedback helps us in making these decisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I found the staff always helpful and friendly. The rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable. The hotel was undergoing some construction work around the pool area and there was a little bit of noise. This was only ever through the day and was more than acceptable. You can see that the owner has plans in place for the hotel.

The hotel is a bit away from the CBD but having walked the distance a couple of times was quite a nice 40 minute stroll. The hotel is next to a Bottle Shop/Pub, Service Station, and across the road from a Hamburger Bar.

My room included breakfast in the rate, and the breakfast, whilst not a vast range, was more than adequate, the seating comfortable. The breakfast area is closer to where the construction work was going on so a bit of noise may be heard.

The rooms were large enough, all of the furnishings were in great order. I had trouble getting the cable/movies to work. I advised the reception staff on the way out and it was fixed for me by the time I returned that day.

The only downside I could find was the noise from the room next door. I could hear them talking on the phone, television, shower, toilet, virtually anything they did. This, whilst at times was an annoyance I accepted it, as part of hotel style accommodation.

I was lucky that I had it only on one side of my room as my room was at the southern corner of the hotel. All in all, I cant really fault this hotel other than the above. It is more than acceptable for hotel accommodation, the tariff was affordable, the place was clean, the staff were friendly and obliging.

Sorry TA wont let me rate, cleanliness, location or value. I give these a 5.

Would I stay there again ? Yes, definitely, would I recommend it to others ? Yes, certainly would. Thank you Cairns Sheridan Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room if possible on the Macleod Street side. If possible, level 4 or 5, and a room at the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated. The renovations on the deck area should be completed next week. This new, completely covered outside area will be an absolute bonus to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent Hotel and good value for money. Large room very well appointed.with balcony. About 2.3KM outside the city centre. A nice 35min walk along the waterfront boardwalk. Dunwoodys is a great casual low priced hotel/restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated. Dunwoodys is an excellent entertainment hotel with pokies, horse racing TAB and bars. And it's right next door to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff are great, the rooms are well kept and it's a half hour walk to the town centre or a $10 taxi.
Unfortunately it's quite noisy but it's nothing than can be sorted easily. Every time someone in a nearby room used the bathroom it was so loud that I'd wake up and there was some sort of renovation happening on the outdoor area where workmen would start before 8am.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and I apologise for the current upgrading of our outside pool and deck area. This new, covered deck area should be completed shortly and will give our guests an excellent area to unwind and relax with a cold beer in the balmy tropical nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Travelling to the Cairns area for my job I like to stay at Cairns Sheridan Hotel. After long working days the friendly staff make you feel coming home. And lovely Jenn looks after me as a mother. Thanks Jenn.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Cairns.
Thank you all. See you next time.
Ton Driessen

Room Tip: I prefer room 322
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Cairns Sheridan is on the main Sheridan St so is very handy with most buses going in & out of central city within 15 mins ! The staff are very warm, friendly & helpful, we loved our 4 day stay there. The room was clean, tidy & warm with lovely mountain views. Breakfast was warm & fresh everyday. We would definitely recommend Cairns Sheridan to all our family & friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimming pool that way it is away from the main road & the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style with superbly appointed rooms and guest facilities, modern & inviting - downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.