We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cairns Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A$129 Inc. 2 Buffet Brfst
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good value for money, clean & quiet. Even though our room was on a main street it was pretty quiet all things considered. Free parking on site is a bonus and we were lucky enough to get a deal which included a hot buffet breakfast. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It is always great to get such positive feed back, it makes our efforts so much more rewarding. As part of our renovation we have just started intalling new curtains to all rooms. These curtains are thicker and give an extra layer of noise insulation. Make sure you set your alarm because no sunlight will wake you up in our rooms. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
42
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very Clean Rooms, Very good and friendly desk staff that go out of their way to please, Good sized meals, I have stayed here a couple of times and have not been disappointed, Well Priced with a handy location I would recommend to anyone who travels to Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. We understand people travelling on business and we especially cater for the corporates every need. Many of our corporate guests have been staying with us for years as we provide the services and facilities that make their business more of a pleasure. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Front desk staff helpful on arrival. Rooms were well maintained and decent size. Buffet breakfast was included in our price and did not disappoint. Bacon, eggs, fresh croissants, fresh fruit etc etc. A couple blocks away from the main strip which meant it was not too noisy at night, Would stay at this hotel if I returned to Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is very encouraging to receive such positive feed back. It does make all our crews hard work and effort so much more rewarding. As you can see from other comments our service is very special to us, and our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Consistancy is always a key factor for my wife and I. We have stayed at the Sheridan Plaza over a period of some 13 years. Never have we had an issue with the status of the rooms, restaraunt or the service.....it just simply gets " better ". Our recent stay proved just how good things are and I am moved to pay tribute to the management and staff many whom have been with the Hotel for many years....and have not rested on their laurels but obviously have a passion and enthusiam for the Hotel making them all great ambassodors for both the Sheridan Plaza as a great place to stay but also Cairns.........CONGRATULATIONS
AKP

Room Tip: Rooms are a matter of choice..short stays standards rooms are absolutely fine...longer stays obnviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your very generous comments. Many of the staff are long time employees of the hotel and we are all buoyed by the new ownership and direction of the hotel. These staff members can train and pass on their experience and skills to our new staff. This type of training is invaluable in ensuring the consistency of our high service standard. When you combine the service with the hotel refurbishment and upgrade the hotel really is just getting better. Thanks again for your comments and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed here 4 times now for business - each time I vow to come back. Reception staff who go out of their way to make your stay as stress-free and comfortable as they can. Rooms are excellent and spotless, restaurant food great. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. When you choose to stay with us we will treat you more like a friend or colleague than a customer. Staff are encouraged to respond to every guest need which often means we do go that extra mile. We also receive many comments on the high quality of our restaurant food and the service. A hotel restaurant takes constant attention and staff training to get it right but we are driven and rewarded by all the positive feed back from our guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - great accommodation, brilliant service and the surprise packet was the great food in Palms Restaurant. Cairns best kept secret in terms of quality food. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Cairns and a tip is to have a least one meal in Palms Restaurant as it really is special. A credit to the owners and management.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant. I also agree that the quality of food and service that we produce in our restaurant is second to none. We take much encouragement from comments such as yours. Thanks again and hope to see you back in Cairns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently we stayed here for a weekend in Cairns. We asked the staff to keep our presence there confidential so that we would not be contacted by (social work) clients who might have guessed where we were. They were very supportive. Later in the same weekend, I got food poisoning (not their restaurant). Once again they were very helpful, offering an extended stay in the same room.

For a business visit, I think this place strikes an ideal balance. The rooms are modern, attractive and well maintained. It is conveniently close to the airport, yet not far from the Esplanade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments about our property and staff. It is great to hear the hard work pays off for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style with superbly appointed rooms and guest facilities, modern & inviting - downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.