We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent food, helpful polite staff,clean,tidy and well appointed room, easy parking, fast lifts - what more do you need? I took the business package,but there are plenty of choices. if you ask the staff you'll probably get it!

Room Tip: Take one of the package deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Great to hear you will be back. That is what we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    67
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
53
13
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my son. Room was clean but a quite musty smelling. Your standard hotel room, soon in need of refurbishment, but only minor cosmetic faults. We had a room service dinner which was absolutely delicious. Our accommodation deal included the hot buffet breakfast, which was also very nice. Our tv didn't work properly on the first night so I rang reception. The manager said there was nothing he could do about it and would get someone to look at it the next day. When we returned after a day out, nothing had been done. I rang reception again and got a very helpful manager. She said she would be right up to have a look at it. There was a fault with the cable which she wasn't able to do anything about but she immediately offered us the option to move to another room, which we took up. I found the beds to be hard in both the rooms we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe queen room for one night for $99. No complaints with the room. It was spacious, clean and pretty much what we were expecting. The hotel has ample parking. It's located a good bit out from the main town. It's maybe only a 5 min drive but not within walking distance and parking in the town centre can be hard to find. The "gym" in the hotel would make you laugh! It consists of maybe two treadmills and a rowing machine crammed into a tiny room. None of the equipment worked when we were there.

If I was in Cairns again I'd look for somewhere more central but if the location wouldn't bother you this is a decent hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The staff are friendly,understanding and very helpful .The room was excellent and well appointed. We were made to feel at home. Lovely place that was easy to access from the airport. There is also easy access to a good tavern and bistro.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow/Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A nice room and bathroom. Hotel lovely. Not that many staff but helpful enough. Major problem with ants. They were all over the front step and when we arrived we had a cup of tea in our room with the complimentary biscuits. We fell asleep leaving the packet empty packet beside the bed and woke to ants everywhere. We spent a whole day killing them and some were in the bed. I could hardly sleep the first night. Had a better second day and night but ants were still in the cupboard. Staff said they would come with spray if we wanted but we had them under control by the second day. Quite an uncomfortable stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

.Going up to cairns for 7 weeks for work, i was wondering what the rooms would be like, and was surprised at the size, quite big for a single. it had everything i needed LCD tv Table and chairs big shower that had the best water pressure i have ever seen.The staff at the front desk were brilliant.Helped with every need From wake up calls to Taxis and even suggesting attractions and drives for me to go and see and i did and they were beautiful.The food i could not fault i enjoyed every meal i ate there,breakfast was great also..The rooms were very clean and a high standard was kept...for the last 9 days there my family came up we moved to a bigger room upstairs with views of the mountains they were all made to feel extremely welcome and the staff treated my 2 children like there own and i am sure a 3 and 5 year old can test the patience of staff but they were great...i would stay here anytime,even the 2.5 klm walk to town i enjoyed.its nice to slow down and enjoy yourself .....overall me and my family enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again thanks to the staff....

Room Tip: we enjoyed the mountain views and the sunset and it was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style with superbly appointed rooms and guest facilities, modern & inviting - downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.