We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi and Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I was so pleasantly surprised as I thought this would just be an average hotel for the money we paid. This was a great place to stay. Hotel was immaculate, rooms were very nice, and the staff was great. I would stay here anytime while in Cairns!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
60
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for a conference also being held in the hotel. Rooms much bigger than I expected, and I think I had standard room.
While the decor may not be spectacular, the furniture was all modern and little touches were present, such as large area for suitcases, desk and table and chairs, dimming lights, big LCD tv with movies and sports channels, minibar (not too expensive), good sized bathroom with excellent shower, individual room airconditioning, comfortable bed with good quality linen, windows that open; really couldn't fault it. It was even on a busy road but must have been double glazed as with the window closed I heard nothing.
Even little touches that really do make your stay more comfortable like wine glasses, real milk, caffeine free coffee, tea towel, extra power points, were present.
The only downside occurred when I noticed on my second night (of 4) that my room smelt like cigarette smoke and the whole corridor stunk of it too. The next morning I asked the front desk staff if people were allowed to smoke to be told that they actually had smoking rooms, one of which was directly opposite mine! (didn't know they still existed in this day and age).
Without me having to say anything else, I was offered to move rooms which I accepted and was assisted to move by a lovely staff member to a 2 room suite upstairs, which came complete with large bath, powder room, 2 balconies, reception room, bedroom, desk etc.
As for everything else, the room service is prompt, the food nice but not spectacular and the price most acceptable.
The staff were friendly and helpful; a young lady at the counter even looked up a nearby restaurant for me, phoned them to enquire about their licensing and then printed me off a menu, without me even asking - talk about service!
The restaurant/bar has a pleasant outdoor area overlooking the pool creating nice ambience to eat/drink by.
As a conference venu, the room was spacious & clean the seating comfortable and the aircon perfect (not too cold like many places).
The ONLY downside I can see to this hotel is that it is around 2.5 klms into the city; bit of a walk in summer, and around 500 metres to the esplanade for a morning jog. Probably would be wanting a car if I stayed here again.

Room Tip: If cigarette smoke bothers you, request a room on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel kept surprising me!
The staff on the front desk were brilliant. Very friendly, prompt and organised. One gentelman even went to the shops and bought my collegue a toothbrush when he asked in passing if they had one.
The rooms were pretty standard but very clean and well fitted out. Both room and bathroom were quite large and I was very comfortable.
The restaruant was a surprise. It looks small and simple but their menu and delivery was brilliant. Although the food was great the staff once again make this experience.
Highly recommended hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Clode to the airport this hotel is a good over night choice if you have an early flight.....it is a bit further out of town so is not idealif you want to be close to the Esplanade which is bit of a walk.
The rooms were well appointed, spacious and clean...ceratinly good value for money.
Wifi was available for a fee, there is a small gym and a ppol and there is a free washing machine and dryer for guests...handy if you have been travelling for a while.
Although I didnt eat there the hotel has a resturant and the menu looked good. there are also several shops and a supermarket close by if you want to self cater.
However certainly the selling point of this hotel is the staff....they were friendly, helpful and professional...a rare find in hotels in this price range!
If you are happy to walk to distance to the city centre or need an overnighter near the airport this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was not expecting what I got. The service was friendly and prompt at reception, but perhaps more importantly, other staff particularly the ladies servicing the rooms and another gentleman working in the yard were very friendly and polite. Sometimes a hello in the morning and a small friendly chat can make a huge difference to the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived dead on midnight thanks to a delayed late nigth flight. The guy on the front desk was more helpful and cheerful than many receptionists I've met at noon. After a long day it was appreciated. The Deluxe Queen room was spacious, and well appointed. Same with the bathroom. The buffet breakfast is not gourmet (sorry for using an already much overused word) fare, but as others have noted, it is a good start to the day for all appetites and tastes.

All of the staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful. This hotel doesn't bill itself as a resort, but for business, or an overnighter when starting or finishing a holiday further afield the close proximity to the airport, and the facilities suited me fine. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel's location is not that convenient if you want to be close to the city centre, harbour and the Esplanade restaurant strip, but if you are fit and healthy, you can still walk to these. If you have a car, this is not such a big problem.
The hotel itself is probably getting close to needing a refurbishment, but overall, our room was very roomy and comfortable with all the required necessities.Upon first entering, it did have a musty smell, but became less noticeable after turning on the air conditioning.
We didn't eat at the hotel. The menu looked a bit pedestrian and pricey and there are plenty of restaurants that are relatively close. The hotel has on-site car parking; Wi fi is available at a cost although to be fair, you may use the hotel's PC (on the ground floor) for free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Sheridan Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style with superbly appointed rooms and guest facilities, modern & inviting - downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.