We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Pacific Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Newcastle N.S.W.
1 review
“Would not stay here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My fiance and myself stayed here from the 26th Dec 2009 till 2nd Jan 2010. Checking in was smooth and the front desk staff were helpful. The view from our room was not bad as we had views over Cairns and the water. The food in the resturant is excellent and i would eat there again for both breakfast and lunch. That is where the enjoyment of this hotel ended....
The room was very dated. The "king size" bed was two singles pushed together and it was rock hard, the pillows were thin and i woke up with a stiff neck every morning, (i asked one of the housekeepers if there was different pillows and told there wasn't) the shower head is low so being a regular size guy i had to duck to use it, there were holes in the curtain so you cant sleep in with the sun coming in through the holes, our room was next to the elevators so we had the noise of them operating at night, outside our room on the roof of the resturant kitchen im guessing was the exhaust fan for the kitchen which was annoying if you wanted to relax on your balcony in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Since your stay we have undergone a refurbishment of the majority of accommodation rooms which now have a lighter, brighter and more contemporary feel. Thanks for your positive feedback on the Bushfire Flame Grill. It makes for an exciting dining experience and offers exceptional value for money. (Especially at the Early Bird price! ) Note that it is not open for lunch.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    182
    89
    21
    10
See reviews for
75
177
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I did not find foyer inviting on arrival.
Stayed 1 night only. Was disappointed in the accommodation. Had expected better Views were nice but not great.
The room was very basic and quite pokey. TV was old type
Had to boil jug in bathroom or next to TV.
The food at the "Flame Grill" near foyer was very nice, and cooking was happening in middle of room. Relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
Staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback to improve our guest's experiences.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

While the hotel room itself was a bit outdated and basic, you really can't beat the location. I personally did not find it noisy like other reviewers. Meals are expensive, so we didn't try the restaurants. But you really can't fault this hotel for the price... especially if you need basic accommodations.

We would probably go back again, especially because the money we save could pay for the many fun things to do on the reef.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thanks for noting our convenient location and for choosing Cairns for your holiday destination.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The hotel is perfectly located close to the marina and close to shopping - Louis Vuitton is right next door. My room was facing the road - had a wonderful view of the water from the 9th floor, but was noisy with car traffic so I had trouble sleeping soundly (and yes, I could still hear it 9 floors up). The a/c system is central (no in-room control) so I had no means to drown out some of the road noise. I would recommend paying the premium to get a room on the back side of the hotel. Probably would get better water views there and won't have to deal with the noise. Otherwise, it was clean and the rooms were generous in size.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thanks for your review. We are sorry there was some noise during your stay. If possible our front desk staff can assist with changing yor room during your stay.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockyer Valley
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were disappointed overall with the room. Although it was spacious, it was very dated. Blankets were old, pilled and frayed. Carpets tired looking. Location was very central and views were lovely from 11th floor but you could hardly sit on balcony. Our king size" bed was two singles pushed together." Bit stingy with linen. Only one flannel although two guests staying - lucky we didnt mind sharing!

We arrived at 1.40pm only to be told by very unfriendly young man on front desk that we would have to wait until 2pm to check in. Even after we told him that we had been up since 3.30am to catch flight to Cairns he still wouldnt check us in. 'So we had to sit in the lobby for 20 minutes.

Lift in the hotel was very slow and at times one didnt appear to be working. Buffet breakfast was adequate - nothing special.'

No extra channels on the tv except BBC news and a travel in Cairns + Japanese channel. Mini bar was sparce with softdrink and orange juice. Plain biscuits and ordinary coffee on offer with those little pods of milk (yuk). Room service menu meals although quite a wide range of food on offer, prices were exorbitant with $8 for popcorn! We made a decision not to spend any money on meals at the hotel, use the mini bar or book any tours as a matter of principle.

This hotel is barely a three star rating!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
I can imagine your frustration at not being able to check in immediately after such an early start. When the hotel is busy, it takes time to ensure the rooms are properly cleaned and prepared for the next guests which is why we have a 2pm check-in time. So glad that you enjoyed the views though and the central location. I hope you will try us again now that the rooms are fresh from a recent refurbishment.

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The location was fantastic and the staff was very friendly. We found the room spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you for the positive review. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed at the Pacific International for 4 nights and found it to be comfortable and in a great location for someone that is not familiar with the city or the country. The lady looking after the various tours in the area was very knowledgeable and helpful.
I took in the Great Barrier Reef and the Karunda train/skyrail tours and enjoyed both of them.
My room, being a standard room was clean and comfortable, but being on the side where you were facing the sea, also found lots of noise from tour bus after tour bus going by at all hours. So it was noisy where I was located in the hotel.
The restuarant wasn't anything special and there are many other places nearby where one can find a good cup of coffee, souvenier shops and restaurants and internet cafes as well. I only had breakfast in the hotel once, and found that you can get a better meal for your money outside. Perhaps it has a good menu at other times during the day, but if you're there for sightseeing, you won't be in the hotel that much anyway.
The best thing about this hotel was it's location and the lady booking the tours.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Pacific Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thanks for your time taken in writing this detailed review. We take on board all comments to improve our guest's satisfaction.

Our Bushfire Flame Gril Restaurant is our Brazilian inspired Australian style BBQ and has regular local and visitors returning for it's all you can eat skewers so I am a bit disappointed you didn't find it appealing.

Kind regards,

Paul Kamsler Jnr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location. The Pacific Hotel Cairns is conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade overlooking Trinity Harbour and opposite the departure terminal to the Great Barrier Reef. Only a short walk to the resort style Esplanade Lagoon, waterfront boardwalks, tropical parklands, Casino and shopping precinct .Beautifully appointed rooms have balconies offering fantastic views. Onsite is a swimming pool, Sugarcane Rhumbar and Bushfire Flame Grill Restaurant offering Brazilian inspired, Australian style BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific International Cairns
Hotel Pacific International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.