We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Pacific Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed here during a family holiday to cairns. My family are locals but we wanted to stay somewhere in central city for nightlife. On first impression the room was blank dark and boring. Our room looked out over the carpark. I had requested a double bed and revieved 2 single beds pushed together with only a sheet and blanket which were so uncomfortable we used our own sleeping bag!I tried to have a bath but couldn't fill up the tub as the water went cold!! I rang the desk about both these issues and the response I recieved was 'thats just the way it is...'. a hotel in central Cains at the rate we paid I was throughly disappointed, they need to update the standards of their rooms. I will not return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    192
    92
    22
    11
See reviews for
78
188
48
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temora, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a nine night stay at the Pacific Hotel Cairns during early July. Our room was on the ninth floor and had a beautiful view out over Cairns Harbour a block away.

The motel is centrally located and within easy walking distance of all Cairns CBD attractions. Being on a busy corner meant that there was some traffic noise, but certainly not enough to disrupt our stay. The room was large with a very comfortable bed, although the bathroom was a little "room restricted" with a shower in the bath.

We only had a car for a few days, and had no trouble parking in the hotel car park which was free, off street, but not under cover. The staff were very helpful, both on the front desk and particularly on room maintenance, where our room was made up at various times throughout the day to suit our comings and goings.

The pool was well maintained, and provided an area where sun or shade could be accessed throughout the day. The downstairs restaurant was fantastic, and although maybe a little pricey, well worth visiting.

The free wifi worked well most of the time.

Overall, although not the most modern hotel in Cairns, it's central location and general level of good maintenance make this one worth staying in for a short or extended visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I found the hotel very clean and quiet. Rooms were tidy and CLEAN as was the bathroom. Balconies were quite tiny however big enough to sit on. Our room overlooked the Casino and was quite scenic. Bed was a King and comfortable and pillows looked clean. It was walking distance to restaurants and function centres and faced the esplanade at the front. Parking is limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel was quite good value - we purchased our night here from wotif.com, and our expectations were more than met.

The room was very clean and tidy, although despite requesting two single beds we were given a king. We contacted reception who immediately gave us another room.

Location was close to the ferry terminal, and just a couple of minutes walk to the main section of the esplanade.

Two negatives - there is no ramp to the front of the hotel, and no automatic doors. Both rather tricky when you are travelling with heavy luggage - in our case it was dive gear. The second negative was no offer of porter service - again would be helpful when travelling with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon. Such a great decision! The hotel is in the perfect location. It is by the reef fleet terminal (for all the days you go out to the great barrier reef) and it is on the esplanade which makes for easy access to nice long walks. We walked down to the botanical gardens one day and it was just around 4km. The hotel is also just a $25 taxi from the airport.

The rooms were great. We paid in advance for a discount and got a deluxe corner room - it is worth it! With our wrap around balcony facing the water we had the most amazing views at sunrise and sunset. The room had a nice little sitting area and the bed was comfortable. There is a fridge in the room which was great because we picked up snacks at the nearby grocery store a few times. There is also a clothes line in the bathroom which we appreciated for hanging up wet things. Nice big bathroom and good water pressure.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that but the room service prices seemed reasonable. Not too noisy except one afternoon when a group exercise class was going on on the esplanade outside - we rather enjoyed the music though.

All in all a great stay and definitely worth getting a deluxe corner room!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everything to say about this hotel is positive. The huge corner room we had was excellent, with it's balcony overlooking the harbour, hotel swimming pool and park. The location is ideal for access to all amenities. The public infinity pool is a couple of minutes walk and is amazing, a must do. Close to shops, restaurants and harbour. Useful inexpensive washing and drying machines on every other floor.
Well equipped gym on top floor with a nice balcony area to see the views.
Staff were extremely helpful.
Tour operator located on corner of hotel gave information of all nearby activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pacific Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cairns
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location. The Pacific Hotel Cairns is conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade overlooking Trinity Harbour and opposite the departure terminal to the Great Barrier Reef. Only a short walk to the resort style Esplanade Lagoon, waterfront boardwalks, tropical parklands, Casino and shopping precinct .Beautifully appointed rooms have balconies offering fantastic views. Onsite is a swimming pool, Sugarcane Rhumbar and Bushfire Flame Grill Restaurant offering Brazilian inspired, Australian style BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific International Cairns
Hotel Pacific International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.