We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Hotel Cairns

Save Saved
You added Pacific Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Tully, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I found the hotel very clean and quiet. Rooms were tidy and CLEAN as was the bathroom. Balconies were quite tiny however big enough to sit on. Our room overlooked the Casino and was quite scenic. Bed was a King and comfortable and pillows looked clean. It was walking distance to restaurants and function centres and faced the esplanade at the front. Parking is limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    153
    75
    18
    9
See reviews for
64
145
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel was quite good value - we purchased our night here from wotif.com, and our expectations were more than met.

The room was very clean and tidy, although despite requesting two single beds we were given a king. We contacted reception who immediately gave us another room.

Location was close to the ferry terminal, and just a couple of minutes walk to the main section of the esplanade.

Two negatives - there is no ramp to the front of the hotel, and no automatic doors. Both rather tricky when you are travelling with heavy luggage - in our case it was dive gear. The second negative was no offer of porter service - again would be helpful when travelling with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon. Such a great decision! The hotel is in the perfect location. It is by the reef fleet terminal (for all the days you go out to the great barrier reef) and it is on the esplanade which makes for easy access to nice long walks. We walked down to the botanical gardens one day and it was just around 4km. The hotel is also just a $25 taxi from the airport.

The rooms were great. We paid in advance for a discount and got a deluxe corner room - it is worth it! With our wrap around balcony facing the water we had the most amazing views at sunrise and sunset. The room had a nice little sitting area and the bed was comfortable. There is a fridge in the room which was great because we picked up snacks at the nearby grocery store a few times. There is also a clothes line in the bathroom which we appreciated for hanging up wet things. Nice big bathroom and good water pressure.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that but the room service prices seemed reasonable. Not too noisy except one afternoon when a group exercise class was going on on the esplanade outside - we rather enjoyed the music though.

All in all a great stay and definitely worth getting a deluxe corner room!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everything to say about this hotel is positive. The huge corner room we had was excellent, with it's balcony overlooking the harbour, hotel swimming pool and park. The location is ideal for access to all amenities. The public infinity pool is a couple of minutes walk and is amazing, a must do. Close to shops, restaurants and harbour. Useful inexpensive washing and drying machines on every other floor.
Well equipped gym on top floor with a nice balcony area to see the views.
Staff were extremely helpful.
Tour operator located on corner of hotel gave information of all nearby activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at the hotel in the first half of April as participants of a Scandinavian group touring Australia and New Zealand. The hotel is OK situated in the city, short walk to the main streets and also short walk to the seaside and the great public pool area with a lot of different restaurants.
The hotel had problems with the internet service, and as this is vital for a long travelling group, we were indeed very dissatisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice clean basic hotel room.
Kettle, Fridge and Free To Air TV.
Ideally located next to Casino, Marina and Boardwalk. Short walk to centre of town.
Breakfast was quite substantial with a good selection.

Room Tip: Recommend room on the southern side of the building to avoid the heat of the Cairns sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is very well located on the main street, close to all the restaurants and laguna. The rooms are functional, supposedly recently refurbished, however they still look a bit outdated - compared to other 4-star hotels. The staff was pleasant and the gentleman at the reception has upgraded us to a very nice ocean-view room. Overall, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: ocean-view rooms have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cairns
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location. The Pacific Hotel Cairns is conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade overlooking Trinity Harbour and opposite the departure terminal to the Great Barrier Reef. Only a short walk to the resort style Esplanade Lagoon, waterfront boardwalks, tropical parklands, Casino and shopping precinct .Beautifully appointed rooms have balconies offering fantastic views. Onsite is a swimming pool, Sugarcane Rhumbar and Bushfire Flame Grill Restaurant offering Brazilian inspired, Australian style BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific International Cairns
Hotel Pacific International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.