We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
Pacific Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everything to say about this hotel is positive. The huge corner room we had was excellent, with it's balcony overlooking the harbour, hotel swimming pool and park. The location is ideal for access to all amenities. The public infinity pool is a couple of minutes walk and is amazing, a must do. Close to shops, restaurants and harbour. Useful inexpensive washing and drying machines on every other floor.
Well equipped gym on top floor with a nice balcony area to see the views.
Staff were extremely helpful.
Tour operator located on corner of hotel gave information of all nearby activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    162
    80
    18
    9
See reviews for
68
155
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at the hotel in the first half of April as participants of a Scandinavian group touring Australia and New Zealand. The hotel is OK situated in the city, short walk to the main streets and also short walk to the seaside and the great public pool area with a lot of different restaurants.
The hotel had problems with the internet service, and as this is vital for a long travelling group, we were indeed very dissatisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice clean basic hotel room.
Kettle, Fridge and Free To Air TV.
Ideally located next to Casino, Marina and Boardwalk. Short walk to centre of town.
Breakfast was quite substantial with a good selection.

Room Tip: Recommend room on the southern side of the building to avoid the heat of the Cairns sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is very well located on the main street, close to all the restaurants and laguna. The rooms are functional, supposedly recently refurbished, however they still look a bit outdated - compared to other 4-star hotels. The staff was pleasant and the gentleman at the reception has upgraded us to a very nice ocean-view room. Overall, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: ocean-view rooms have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We - couple with two teenagers - stayed here for one night, followed by two consecutive nights after a night on a diving boat on the reef.
On our second check-in, my wife left a Canon D60 SLR camera with Zoom lens, on a table at the lift-landing on the 7th Floor, while I went down to ask for adjoining rooms; and forgot about it.
We checked in, and it was about 50 minutes later when we realised that we'd misplaced the camera.
My wife had seen a male house-keeper with his trolley at the service-room which is next to the lift, while walking between our two rooms, before we realised the loss of the camera.
I informed the Duty Manager about the missing camera and he took the complaint. He told me that the security cameras in Reception area showed that my wife had the camera hung from her neck when we checked in and (surprise) they do not have any security camera on the corridors of the guest-floors, which is very inadequate in a 4 Star Hotel.
We mentioned that we had seen the house-keeper around there, and asked that he be investigated. But he said they don't have a policy or system of checking staff-members for any missing items, etc - they are all colleagues and trust each other.
We registered a police complaint - the duty manager connected us to the police.
Not having security cameras in the guest-floor corridors, combined with a policy of not checking staff, even when something actually goes missing, is very inadequate security.
We kept everything locked up in our suitcases during our stay, and I would advise other guests also to do the same.
The Front-desk staff was pleasant and courteous otherwise.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights visiting the area for a short break. The hotel is just across the road from the Esplanade, lagoon & Reef Terminal so perfect for a short stroll to shops, restaurants & cafés. The room on 10th floor had a view of the bay & Esplanade, along with all the roof tops of the adjoining buildings & town. It was noisy through the night even at that height. Our room was clean & functional, with minimal decor. Previous reviewers have commented on the bed which was very hard & 2 singles pushed together. They moved quite a bit when anyone turned over or got out of bed disturbing your partner & there was an uncomfortable ridge down the centre of the bed which was not covered with any sort of mattress cover. There was no top bed cover either only a plain beige blanket over the sheet so it looked as if the bed was not made properly. We both tripped over the small rise into the bathroom on the 1st night which I think was dangerous especially for an older person. One big complaint was very early before 6.30am on our last morning we were woken by a lot of noise from the corridor. This turned out to be staff unwrapping new chairs for delivery to each room. A member of staff tried to deliver ours before 7.30am on our day of departure - needless to say we were not happy. Finally whilst the buffet in Bushfire restaurant is excellent & the food superb all adverts in the rooms & posters around the hotel state that an early bird price of $39.95 is from 5.30pm. It does not state on any of these notices that the order has to be in by 6.15pm. We were disappointed the 1st night when we went at 6.30pm & the price goes up to $47.95. We did go back another night though & it was delicious. There is an absence of front desk staff, 1 person only & whilst they were polite it stopped there. I would not recommend this hotel other than for its position.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Great location on the edge of the Cairns Esplanade walking distance to everywhere in the City. I attended a seminar on the Sunday and wanted my husband to be able to stroll around and entertain himself for the day, which he did. The lagoon and pier are very close and lots to look at, and eat in between without having to drive anywhere. I must mention that we ate in The Bushfire (Brazilian style BBQ) Restaurant in the hotel and it was wonderful. Breakfasts were delicious on both days, and had different choices on the buffet (which is very nice) and it was great too that we were offered full breakfast at an in house ($10 off each) price as we did not receive a breakfast package when I booked. We were very happy with our 2 nights at the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel Cairns

Address: Cnr The Esplanade & Spence St | PO Box 2325, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cairns
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location. The Pacific Hotel Cairns is conveniently located on the picturesque Esplanade overlooking Trinity Harbour and opposite the departure terminal to the Great Barrier Reef. Only a short walk to the resort style Esplanade Lagoon, waterfront boardwalks, tropical parklands, Casino and shopping precinct .Beautifully appointed rooms have balconies offering fantastic views. Onsite is a swimming pool, Sugarcane Rhumbar and Bushfire Flame Grill Restaurant offering Brazilian inspired, Australian style BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific International Cairns
Hotel Pacific International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.