We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to most” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close to most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Four of us stayed at the Holiday Inn for 7 nights. Close to the beach, cafes, restaurants, buses, walking distance to the Pier (day trips & cruises) and the Casino. We had dinner at the restaurant, good food, good value, nice wines and friendly wait staff. Restaurant also used for the delicious buffet breakfast.
The rooms were clean,. The bathroom was very small. Only complaint was that we had a shower over the bath and it becomes a little dangerous for older people.
We paid extra for the car parking and there was also plenty of spaces.
The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear ironbarkdrive,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us all the way from London.

Great to see you had a great stay with your friends at the Holiday Inn Cairns. I see you took advantage of our prime location and were able access popular Cairns attractions easily.

Glad our restaurant Sirocco and overall customer service impressed you, the staff will be happy to hear they provided you with such fantastic service.

It is unfortunate that the bathroom was a bit small for you; it is something we will look into for future refurbishments.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to have you stay with us again soon if your travels bring you back to Australia.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    405
    126
    28
    21
See reviews for
167
372
62
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

It is in such a great location, very clean and the central atrium features 23 year old barramundi in the pond! The staff were very nice and our room was upgraded....we had a beautiful view overlooking Cairns and the ocean. We would recommend staying at this hotel and would happily stay here again. The breakfast buffet includes a "make your own juicer" and 2 different choices with the bacon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Chltenham,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review your feedback is important to us.

We are very fortunate to have our hotel located in such a prime area and guests love that. The weather in Cairns is spectacular at this time of year so the ocean view room is definitely worth staying in.

Proud to hear the staff took care of you and went that extra mile to make your stay that more enjoyable. They will be thrilled to hear your compliments.

Our Sirocco breakfast buffet is popular with our guests and locals around Cairns. It has been tailor for all our guests who stay with us from all around the world.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our Rainforest Atrium with our 23 year old Barramundi, definitely an experience not to be missed.

It would be an honour to have you stay with us again, sign up to our FREE IHG Rewards Club for exclusive offers.

Stay Warm!

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have been using this chain both personally and professionally for quite a few years. On arriving, the service was very good and we parked the car. Our car height is 1.925 and the height of the parking is 1.950. As some of the pipework underneath is lower than the 1.950, it was like driving a maze to get out - watch out when trying to negotiate the speed bumps.

On entering the room, I was a little disappointed. Thought we were getting a sea view, instead the main roundabout. The room was standard with two doubles however there was no cot, so a trip to reception to organize (checked our notes - definitely there). Unpacked our bags and stored some food in the fridge, the smell on opening was enough to knock your socks off. I cleaned it out as best I could as I did not want our food to spoil. Not effective, the smell soaked it's way through the food - goodbye $. Went for a walk, close to all the cafes and beach. Came back and noticed, no bin liners. Searched every cupboard with no luck. Had no energy to ask for liners as well, so used the plastic laundry bag instead. The night was comfortable however the noise from cars can be quite annoying throughout the night. I was also thankful that we had not had to pay for Wi-Fi as the connection was poor and constantly dropped out - when we could get it working. Breakfast the next morning was too standard, which was a blessing.

Overall, it was ok but definitely better value at some of the other hotels. Room servicing definitely needs reviewing.

Room Tip: When I contacted the hotel, I was under the impression that we would get a sea view. Instead, we rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Allison,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback is important to us.

Sorry to hear your stay was less than pleasant, this isn’t our usual standard.

All of our staff here have a ‘can do’ attitude so if you ever have any issues regarding your room or facilities etc, please let our friendly staff know. They will be more than happy to help.

We do apologise for the inconvenience with your cot request and the quality of your room we will address this to our Housekeeping and Front Office department.

According to your booking you had booked a superior room which includes a view of Cairns and surroundings. Unfortunately this booking doesn't guarantee an ocean view room. We do apologise if there was any confusion.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, Sirocco buffet breakfast is very popular with our guests and locals around Cairns.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us. We will add a VIP comment into your profile and ensure you have a pleasurable stay if you choose to stay with us again as a returning IHG Rewards Member.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've been using the Holiday Inn for a number of years and have noticed a decline on this last visit. The room was unclean with no bags in the bins and ants in the kettle. There were empty wine bottles left in the corridor outside the room when we arrived and they were still there when we left. There was also some sort of round disk in the bathroom that was hanging off the ceiling revealing a mouldy hole beneath. The secure parking has such a low height restriction that we had to park on the street, leaving a lot of our possessions in the vehicle. As a priority club member I expect more, and a sea view room that has the view obscured by trees isn't a sea view room, it is a tree view room.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view get a room on the 7th floor or better still go to Townsville where you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Leslie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel.

Sad to hear that your stay was unpleasant and inconsistent from your current stays.

Your comments regarding the cleanliness and quality of your room will be addressed with our Housekeeping Manager. We do sincerely apologise.

July is a busy time of year for us, in saying that if you have any concerns with car parking, your room or facilities please don’t hesitate to contact our Front Desk, they are always happy to help.

The Holiday Inn Cairns is a ‘Green Hotel’ so that is the reason we don’t use bags in our bins. We implement the best we can in being environmentally friendly although if you are in need of something or concerned, please contact our front desk staff.

If you could please also email theo.comino@ihg.com so we can obtain additional details regarding your stay.

It is unfortunate that that you stay was unpleasant. As an IHG member we thank you for choosing to stay with us and your loyalty means a lot to us. We hope that your next stay is more enjoyable with a better ocean view.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

In almost every aspect, our impression was the Holiday Inn made genuine efforts to help us enjoy our family holiday at Cairns. It started with relatively decent pricing, at least when compared to the opposition. Reception was nice and gave us a room even though we were very early to arrive.
The room itself was modern and well equipped, useful safe and all, thus proving much better than our past experience with the Rydges Tradewinds hotel that’s just next door. Alas, the room was pretty small, offered views of the hotel next door and not much else, and unless you pay extra had no balcony. The toilet room felt even smaller. Despite the size, everything worked and worked well; we never felt encumbered by the size, but we did welcome the up to date feel of things.
Other than the room, the Holiday Inn shone in many respects:
1. Although we did not book breakfast in advance, we were able to use the facilities “on the spot” with a special $35 meal for two deal (little kids eat free). Between ice creamed pancakes for the little ones and crispy bacon for me, the whole family was delighted with the affair.
2. Given the winter weather, the hotel’s smallish but pretty attractive swimming pool was off limits for anything but sun bathing. A lovely and peaceful venue to catch up on holiday reading.
3. Members of Holiday Inn’s “frequent flyer” club can enjoy free room wifi. This proved useful, especially given the obviously poor coverage Optus enjoys in the area (Telstra’s not too bad, although congested, too). There were times when it felt like everyone in the hotel was using the wifi at the same time, though; during those times the Internet was effectively off limits.
4. The Holiday Inn’s minibar policy should win it an award. Instead of forcing expensive stuff we don’t want down our throat, the Holiday Inn gave us a useful mini fridge we could do with as we pleased. Hooray!
5. It goes without saying, but the hotel enjoys an excellent location in the thick of Cairns things. There is even free parking just outside, although at times you might be relegated a block away.

Two things about the hotel require special mentioning.
First, Sue from the hotel’s tour desk proved phenomenal. Instead of trying to lead us by our noses towards a sale, she dedicated time and attention to find us the activities most suitable to our very particular preferences. We had great fun directly because of Sue’s efforts.
Second, the Holiday Inn sports two barramundi fish ponds. Three times a week, guests can enjoy feeding demonstrations from a very caring, passionate and informative Duane. These proved a major hit with our family. Great to see Holiday Inn investing in such an off the charts activity!
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our break at Cairns. We feel as if the efforts of the Holiday Inn can own up to a lot of the credit there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Metal_Detec0r,

Glad to hear your overall stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns was excellent.

We always like to do what we can for our guests. Empowering them to go that extra mile for our guests and they will be thrilled to hear your positive feedback.

Our Sirocco restaurant is well known for the fantastic breakfast the chefs cook. It is a buffet breakfast tailored for our guests to enjoy. Just to let you know an interesting fact, the Holiday Inn is the very first hotel to offer ‘Kids Eat Free’. It is great that you took advantage of this special.

We have had some fantastic feedback on the empty mini bar fridge it is especially in good use for families and for guests who are with us for a long stay. In substitution we have a convenient Bottle shop outside the lobby area across the Esplanade.

Our Tour Desk Coordinator Sue is a great asset to our team. She has an extensive deal of knowledge for Cairns’ best tours and attractions. Her service is genuine and likes to tailor tours to the guests’ desires.

The Barramundi feeding is a unique experience we like to share with our guests, its great entertainment and something educational for the kids. Duane has been taking care of the fish ever since they have lived in the pond which was when the hotel had opened about 24 years ago.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would love to have you and your family stay with us again. Perhaps stay in our ocean view room next time, I'm sure we can offer you special deal as an IHG Rewards Member.

Stay warm this winter!

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Holiday Inn Cairns in early April. The hotel is quite huge and well located. The hotel is one street away from the RSL club (which serves decent and reasonably price meals), 5 to 7 mins walk to McDonald, other restaurants, night market and shops, and < 10 mins walk to the Lagoon at Esplanade and Muddy's playground.

We were upgraded to the 2-double ocean view room, with view of the coral sea. The room is large enough for 2 adults and 2 young children. The bathroom ( a little small) comes with basic amenities with a decent shower (no bath tub). We were given 4 complementary bottled water daily. The 2 double beds were comfy and the air-con was quiet and powerful with good thermostat control. However the furnishing of our room may be a little dated but still reasonably maintained. We were given free WiFi (using our Priority club membership) but the signal was a little weak.

The in-house Sirocco restaurant serves good buffet breakfast. We did not try lunch or dinner (as there were many wonderful restaurants and café around the hotel).

The daily complementary secured car-park (with Priority club) located in the basement was useful. The check-in/out was efficient and friendly. The tour desk located next to the reception was useful.

Young children (or even adults) may enjoy the Barramundi feeding and it's something not to be missed. Feedings available from Mon-Wed-Fri at 1pm.

The swimming pool was alright but it needs a little upgrade as there were a few broken or chipped mosaic tiles in certain spots. The decent gym is located near the barramundi feeding pond. There is also a liquor store located near the swimming pool.

Overall a good hotel to spend a few nights. But it needs some minor upgrades or refurbishment in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear tccfairmont,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great detailed review.

Glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyable and that you took advantage of our perfect location. We are so close to the city local amenities and attractions such as the lagoon and reef terminal.

Please to know that you stay was comfortable and relaxing with a fantastic view of the ocean.
The Barramundi feeding is definitely something special we share with our guests. They are a part of the Holiday Inn Cairns Family; they are as old as the hotel!

Sirocco breakfast is best in town and we do offer great deals for our IHG Rewards guests when you dine with us as well.

We always strive to do better for our guests and will certainly take your comments into consideration when we do future refurbishments.

Great to see a loyal IHG member stay with us and that you took advantage of the loyalty program benefits. We would be honored to serve you again if you your travels bring you to Cairns again.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

book for 3 nights, have been given a big room with 2 double beds, highest floor (i.e. 7 floor) with city views. Breakfast selection is fairly good. Tour desk is quite helpful in recommending tours. Hotel is located close to the city and seaside, all within walking distance.

Not so good is the WIFI in room, it keep drop out; in the end hook on to cable and give up on the WIFI. The WIFI in the hotel looby is so much better.

Will suggest to all travellers to decide and/or book the activities before booking hotel room. It will be more convenient to stay at Port Douglas if the tour leave from there, it is an hour drive from Cairns to Port Douglas.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear STS_1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with a great view of Cairns City. We are located in a perfect where guests can make the most of Cairns.

Sorry to hear the WIFI wasn't working so well for you. It is something we are definitely trying to work on.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us all the way from Singapore.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Cairns 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Cairns is superbly located on the Cairns Esplanade only a five-minute walk from the shopping, entertainment and business center of Cairns. Featuring 237 comfortably appointed guestrooms, Holiday Inn Cairns reflects the ambience of the Tropics with breathtaking views overlooking the Coral Sea and rainforest clad mountains. The unique rainforest Atrium is designed to represent a mini rainforest surrounded by tropical plants, rock pools and Barramundi fish. The hotel also features a relaxing Lobby Bar, bottle shop, swimming pool, heated spa, large sundeck, fitness centre, tour desk, 24-hour room service, wireless and high-speed internet access, free undercover parking and Sirocco Restaurant, famous for its seafood and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.