We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Cairns Lagoon Esplanade and Muddy's Playground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Near Cairns Lagoon Esplanade and Muddy's Playground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Holiday Inn Cairns in early April. The hotel is quite huge and well located. The hotel is one street away from the RSL club (which serves decent and reasonably price meals), 5 to 7 mins walk to McDonald, other restaurants, night market and shops, and < 10 mins walk to the Lagoon at Esplanade and Muddy's playground.

We were upgraded to the 2-double ocean view room, with view of the coral sea. The room is large enough for 2 adults and 2 young children. The bathroom ( a little small) comes with basic amenities with a decent shower (no bath tub). We were given 4 complementary bottled water daily. The 2 double beds were comfy and the air-con was quiet and powerful with good thermostat control. However the furnishing of our room may be a little dated but still reasonably maintained. We were given free WiFi (using our Priority club membership) but the signal was a little weak.

The in-house Sirocco restaurant serves good buffet breakfast. We did not try lunch or dinner (as there were many wonderful restaurants and café around the hotel).

The daily complementary secured car-park (with Priority club) located in the basement was useful. The check-in/out was efficient and friendly. The tour desk located next to the reception was useful.

Young children (or even adults) may enjoy the Barramundi feeding and it's something not to be missed. Feedings available from Mon-Wed-Fri at 1pm.

The swimming pool was alright but it needs a little upgrade as there were a few broken or chipped mosaic tiles in certain spots. The decent gym is located near the barramundi feeding pond. There is also a liquor store located near the swimming pool.

Overall a good hotel to spend a few nights. But it needs some minor upgrades or refurbishment in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear tccfairmont,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great detailed review.

Glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyable and that you took advantage of our perfect location. We are so close to the city local amenities and attractions such as the lagoon and reef terminal.

Please to know that you stay was comfortable and relaxing with a fantastic view of the ocean.
The Barramundi feeding is definitely something special we share with our guests. They are a part of the Holiday Inn Cairns Family; they are as old as the hotel!

Sirocco breakfast is best in town and we do offer great deals for our IHG Rewards guests when you dine with us as well.

We always strive to do better for our guests and will certainly take your comments into consideration when we do future refurbishments.

Great to see a loyal IHG member stay with us and that you took advantage of the loyalty program benefits. We would be honored to serve you again if you your travels bring you to Cairns again.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    417
    130
    31
    21
See reviews for
174
383
69
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

book for 3 nights, have been given a big room with 2 double beds, highest floor (i.e. 7 floor) with city views. Breakfast selection is fairly good. Tour desk is quite helpful in recommending tours. Hotel is located close to the city and seaside, all within walking distance.

Not so good is the WIFI in room, it keep drop out; in the end hook on to cable and give up on the WIFI. The WIFI in the hotel looby is so much better.

Will suggest to all travellers to decide and/or book the activities before booking hotel room. It will be more convenient to stay at Port Douglas if the tour leave from there, it is an hour drive from Cairns to Port Douglas.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear STS_1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with a great view of Cairns City. We are located in a perfect where guests can make the most of Cairns.

Sorry to hear the WIFI wasn't working so well for you. It is something we are definitely trying to work on.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us all the way from Singapore.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked via wotif and purchased the deal that included a buffet breakfast

The hotel was comfortable, a little tired in places, but when you think about the volume of people who would use the hotel the rooms were more than reasonable.

The checkin staff were lovely, the tour desk lady a bit of a stain (teen talk i know but such an appropriate description of the lady)

Right on the esplanade and close to the popular lagoon areas and lovely places to eat. Also walking distance to woolworths and a chemist should the need arise

The bathroom was good - The shower pressure not ideal though. Time for a replacement shower head

We had a view over what seemed to be a construction site.. This didn't bother us as the weather encouraged us to go for a walk exploring the esplanade rather than sitting on a balcony

There is a small ant army residing at the holiday inn so don't leave any trace of food, not even a crumb or you will face the consequences of a mass ant gathering!

I would have been disappointed if i had of booked a week here. Palm cove a much better holiday spot!


Breakfast was fresh and there was an array of options. The porter looked after our bags once we had checked out so that we could go for a walk whilst waiting for our transport. Super helpful guys

Room Tip: If its just a night to sleep then dont pay the extra for water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Gloria,

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Cairns. We appreciate any feedback that you have for hotel and we always endeavour to make our hotel better.

Glad to hear reservation staff offered great service to you and advise our Tour Desk Coordinator on your comments.

Our hotel practices in Green Engagement, we use environmentally friendly shower heads to conserve our water consumption.

Your visit to Cairns was timed perfectly, we have beautiful weather at this time of year.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Cairns.

Please check out our exciting Barramundi feedings during the week, definitely something to experience.

Stay Warm!

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The Holiday Inn is a huge hotel well located near the Esplanade in Cairns. It offers clean, good sized rooms, decent restaurant and professional service. Highly recommended as a 'value for money' place to stay. Ideal for families.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Ibadanboy,

Thank you for your wonderful review on the Holiday Inn Cairns.

We strive to keep our guests satisfied and to go that extra mile where we can. The team will be proud to hear your positive feedback.

We are very fortunate to have our hotel located in such a prime area of Cairns, just a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

Glad you had a great stay with us and hoped you enjoyed Cairns.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia, South Pacific
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff at reception , the cleaning staff and in particular, the tour advisor - Sue Barber at the front reception were amazing - they were courteous and lovely - Sue was wonderful in her help and advice and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend going there to family and friends x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear sweetjo9,

Thank you for your review on the hotel.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and received exceptional service from our staff. It is something we take pride in and we value your feedback.

Sue is known for her outstanding service and knowledge of Cairns activities. We really love having her on the team and I’m sure she will be thrilled to hear you appreciated her wonderful service.

Hope to have you stay with us again, next time your here check out our Barramundi feeding at our rainforest atrium. It’s definitely a great experience not to be missed.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our room was lovely with fantastic views over the harbour form the 7th floor. Beds were very comfortable & shower lovely & hot.
We walked along the esplanade to the marina for dinner. Great place & staff very friendly. would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We often get wonderful feedback from guests that stay in the ocean view rooms. You've seen Cairns at its best just outside your room, our weather is spectacular at this time of year. We are so thrilled your family had the chance to experience it.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Stay warm in Brisbane!

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights the end of June. Great hotel, great facilities, great location! The hotel is right on the Esplanade and a short walk to a plethora of restaurants, shops, and markets. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Jfisher1231,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Your feedback is important to us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are very lucky to be located in such a perfect position and you saw the best of Cairns just outside our hotel.

Hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.