We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our room was lovely with fantastic views over the harbour form the 7th floor. Beds were very comfortable & shower lovely & hot.
We walked along the esplanade to the marina for dinner. Great place & staff very friendly. would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We often get wonderful feedback from guests that stay in the ocean view rooms. You've seen Cairns at its best just outside your room, our weather is spectacular at this time of year. We are so thrilled your family had the chance to experience it.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Stay warm in Brisbane!

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    454
    138
    32
    22
See reviews for
182
419
70
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights the end of June. Great hotel, great facilities, great location! The hotel is right on the Esplanade and a short walk to a plethora of restaurants, shops, and markets. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Jfisher1231,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Your feedback is important to us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are very lucky to be located in such a perfect position and you saw the best of Cairns just outside our hotel.

Hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for two nights over a weekend recently. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I was lent a phone charger for the weekend as I had forgot my own- Have never come across a hotel to do that before so that was great. The hotel is located within walking distance to the centre of Cairns including restaurants, shopping, the esplanade and clubs. The only downside to my stay were the stains on carpet, curtains, the side of the bed and down the fridge. Although small stains I am a bit of a clean freak and it made me feel uneasy as there was so many.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Tehya,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to hear the staff were friendly and helpful, we like to go above and beyond for our guests when they stay with us. Some of the little things we offer really do count.

Great to see you took advantage of our location and was able to experience Cairns attractions easily.

We apologise for the unpleasant stains in your room and will get action it immediately.

Good to have a local Far North Queenslander stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in a spotless room.

Enjoy the weather!

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Lovely modern apartment. Clean and fresh. Great location, walking distance along esplanade to all restaurants and sights. Friendly staff. Look like they had other good facilities inc. gym, pool and internet rooms which we didn't use. Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear CathGilla,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be located in a prime area of Cairns which is so close to main attractions and local shops.

We like to make our guests feel welcome when they stay with us and I’m sure the staff will be thrilled to hear your positive feedback.

We would love to have you stay with us again and take advantage of facilities that you didn't get to use this time round. Please consider signing up as an IHG member, our free loyalty program which offers many benefits such as free WIFI!

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This Holiday Inn is situated right on the esplanade, which is the nicest stretch of sidewalk in the city. To be quite honest, your stay in Cairns will likely consist of day trips outside of the city as there really isn't much to do in the city during the day. For this sole reason, this makes for a decent base as you can easily walk to the marina, along the shore, or to the myriad of shops in the city.

The hotel seems quite massive and is built as several connected silos with the rooms opening to the fresh air (ala motel), though still within the hotel complex. There are several elevators sprinkled throughout the complex rather than a central elevator bank. The gym also seems quite small and really only meant for you to get a quick cardio session in.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Gnoward,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback through Trip Advisor.

Cairns main attractions are away from the city although there are many other great attractions around the city such as the Lagoon, local markets and other tourist stores. If you decide to stay with us next time, please feel free to speak to Sue, our Tour Desk Coordinator. She should be able to give you better ideas on what to do around Cairns city.

Hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regrads
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Room was large, clean and with a view of the Esplanade perfect for a short stay in Cairns. Staff were helpful and very pleasant. Everything is within easy walking distance. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and were delighted with the creativity of the chef and delicious food. Started with a yummy cocktail - Japanese Slipper. The entree - bread wrapped in spring roll was quite unusual and delicious. The food was excellent. Word of advice - we couldn't find taxi's in the streets so we learnt early on to call Cairns Taxi and book them from your current location and they arrived within a few minutes. The RSL across the street is a very pleasant place for a drink and to mingle with some of the locals.

Room Tip: Request ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Kalee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a delightful dining experience in our Sirocco restaurant. I will send compliments out to all of our departments. I’m sure they will be overwhelmed to hear the great response.

Unfortunately there isn't a taxi rank outside our hotel so for your next stay please feel free to ask our reservations staff to call a taxi for you.

Glad to see that you took the advantage of our location, we are located in some of Cairns hot spots for tourist and locals.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and next time try one of our Lychee Bliss cocktails...

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Service was great, facilities were plentiful. The staff were polite and very helpful. The managers on duty, Kate and Theo were particularly helpful to us - we face some problems and they went above and beyond their duties to help us! In the end we were extremely happy with our stay at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear AusN,
Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear we made your stay enjoyable and that we provided you with exceptional service. We value your positive feedback and take pride in going that extra mile for our customers.
Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.