We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, nice room, can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good value, nice room, can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked this as we wanted to be close to the Cairns harbor for a reef snorkeling trip that left quite early in the morning. I was a bit hesitant due to inconsistent reviews, but upon arrival was I surprised to find our room was clean, well decorated, and had a wonderful balcony that overlooked the bay. It was an easy walk to all of the shops, bars, and restaurants on the Cairns waterfront. The only hotel amenity I made use of was the gym, which was fine if not exceptional.

Room Tip: We had a harbor view room, which offered a fantastic view. Be aware there can be some noise from peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Nmbrsix,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, It is so great to see so many active members of the online community.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our rooms and location.
I hope you enjoyed your snorkelling trip, it’s true what they say, we do live in one of the best places in the world.
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    446
    138
    32
    22
See reviews for
182
413
70
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Dean,Chichester United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel! It is centrally located on the prom and I think punches above it's weight in terms of facilities and guest comfort for it's rating. The staff are well trained and very helpful as we found when we had trouble booking our onward flight online. We upgraded to a seaview which was spectacular as you get the most dramatic early morning sunrises. Well worth it! Clean and comfortable, I couldn't fault it. Free wifi in the lobby, expensive if buying it in your room, but that is my continual gripe all over Australia! We ate on our balcony a couple of nights as it's so interesting watching the world go by, so we used room service and couldn't fault it. Make sure you leave any left overs outside your room though as those little sugar ants get into everything. Also we used the tour desk in the lobby and found them really helpful too.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for that sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi MrsH0lt,
Thank you for such a great review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed our great location, and our beautiful ocean view rooms.
I will be sure to pass this onto our tour desk.
Once again, I appreciate the time you have taken, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever the cheap fares take me
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during a trip to Australia. The hotel is a large high rise style very close to the water and walking distance to a ton of restaurants and shopping in Cairns. Check in was easy, and we were given a nice ocean view as IHG Platinum. The room was satisfactory, especially for a Holiday Inn. Bed was comfortable enough, the room had a nice view of the water and the bathroom was a good size. The hotel had a nice tropical area just outside the lobby in the atrium, with some large fish in it. We were able to walk to the docks to take a Great Barrier Reef boat tour very easily, as it was about 10 minutes away, and there were tons of places to eat within 5-15 minute walk. Overall, a nice hotel that completely met our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi antonius65,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
It is great to read that your check in experience was easy, and I am glad that you enjoyed our ocean view rooms; these are by far our most popular.
Once again thank you for your positive comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future.
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed at Holiday Inn Cairns for 3 nights. The hotel is pretty big and has many rooms. It is right at the end of the Esplanade making it a very nice and quiet place to be in.

The hotel itself is a 10 min walk to the main tourist area of esplanade with close proximity to Woolworths and other important places.

However the rooms are not very great. We had explicitly asked for a King bed but we ended up getting a Twin room. Since they were pretty full with a conference our request was not accomodated. The morning reception staff did tell us that we will likely be shifted later in the day but they conveniently forgot to inform the next shift!

Also i stayed here since i am a member of the IHG club which usually gives me benefits like complimentary upgrades/free internet. Not so at this one. They said they are still upgrading their systems.

The breakfast was complimentary and at best having sufficient choices.

The other staff of housekeeping and concierge were very prompt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Vinit_Ba,
Thank you for such an in-depth review, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel and I am sure many other travellers will too.
I apologise that your requested bedding configuration was not available during your stay. We do try to accommodate all of our guest’s requests.
Our Wi-Fi will become free in January for all IHG Rewards members; we are very excited to be able to offer this service.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our wonderful porters and buffet breakfast
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

we spent 6 days here on November, we could not fault this place, clean, great location with nice views. staff were efficient and most helpful. Free Wi-Fi for up to an hour in Reception area. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and families.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea views its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi trips 1959,
Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely lucky to be located in such a prime position, right on the esplanade.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

stayed in holiday inn last week for 2 days with my partner , great experience ,good sized rooms ,clean, excellent service from staff especially from one of housekeeping staff ,forget her name but she was from India as I asked while she was doing her job ,very friendly and excellent in customer service , rest of the staff was great as well , overall great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi angel d,
Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team delivered excellent customer service. I will be sure to pass this onto our team as well as our fantastic housekeeping staff.
If you ever need a short getaway in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn cairns
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very average chain hotel. Stayed in a standard room - unfortunatelly not very clean, pretty overdated. Beds nice and comfy. Nice pool area. Breakfasts overall good. Staff friendly. Free wi-fi in lobby only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hi TomekWu ,
Review in over 38 cities, wow you have been busy! It is so great to see so many active members of the online community.
Thank you for your honest comments regarding our rooms. Our beds are extremely comfortable and the buffet breakfast is delicious.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.