We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Emu Park, QLD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went to Cairns for a funeral for a family member, my grandmother was most upset so I cheered her up with a nice stay in this resort during the week of the funeral. We found the rooms were very spacious, modern and located close to shops, eateries etc. We had two queen size beds in our room, the beds were extremely comfortable, the aircon worked a treat in the humid weather and the rooms were made up every day. The breakfast buffet was absolutely the highlight of our day during this tough time. The food was delightful and we looked forward to going there for breakfast every morning. The staff were great to deal with and friendly. The only thing I could fault was that the room service was a little expensive, but the food was still lovely. The price for the rooms were very reasonable, and after having difficulty getting into other hotels, I'm glad I got a room here in the end. Would love to stay again if I travel to Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Harnz92,
Thank you for our recent reply on TripAdvisor, it’s so great to see so many active members of the online community.
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; our buffet breakfast is very popular with our guests.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns for your next getaway.
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    447
    138
    32
    22
See reviews for
182
414
70
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tumby Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

First time staying with this hotel on our annual Cairns family holiday. Staying 10 days we were presented with a fruit basket which was a lovely touch. Staff were pleasant and helpful, ocean view was great and the hotel itself attractive and clean. The restaurant was one of the better ones in Cairns and location is A1. All in all i was very pleased and would recommend and stay again when in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Paul M,
Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor,
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location, and Sirocco restaurant.
Thank you for taking the time to review our great hotel and recommending it to other travelers.
We will hopefully see you next year when you and your family return for your annual holiday.
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent sea view rooms with 180 degree panorama of Cairns foreshore. Loved the Dinner menu and Breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff. Located within walking distance of shopping and local attractions. Would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Jeff R,
Thank you for your recent feedback, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your ocean view room with lovely views over the Coral Sea as well as our Sirocco restaurant and buffet breakfast.
We are extremely lucky to be located in such a convenient location, right on the esplanade.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our great hotel.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.
Warm Regards Matt Rippin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The atrium is beautiful, the location is perfect and the rooms are large. The breakfast buffet is pretty good. When you figure in the cappuccino/espresso machine it's a bargain. We ate in the restaurant once the food was good and the service was great. There are plenty of restaurants very close to the hotel but it's nice to have options on site. Especially when you are leaving really early for snorkeling or a tour. The tour desk on site is really convenient. They were able to tell us which days were best for our snorkeling trips. We had an ocean view room with a balcony. We loved it. I loved sitting on the balcony every evening and watching the flying foxes. Loved the flying foxes. I made sure we walked down Abbot st. at least once a day so I could watch them.
We did have a few issues. The bathroom is really small. Think cruise ship small. That being said, you get used to it and make it work. We had trouble getting beach towels replaced. When we checked in we realized there was only decaf coffee in our room. We had some Via with us so no problem for the first day. We left a note asking for extra coffee, no decaf. We received 2 regular and 4 decaf. Same thing happened day 3. We were then out of Via so we went to the front desk and received 8 coffees. Yay! Wouldn't you know the next day the housekeeper took all but 2 of the coffees. We ended up going to the IGA and hiding it! By the time we checked out we had 10 decaf. Someone thought we drank to much coffee. The most annoying thing though was that you can't check in and print boarding passes without paying for internet. We are priority club members so we had free internet but it doesn't work with the printers. I was knocked off twice. I gave up and was refunded the money. The internet is pretty slow so it could potentially cost 5$ to print boarding passes. Ridiculous. I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't offer the opportunity to print passes. Hopefully they will change that. Annoying but wouldn't stop me from staying here again. Overall it's a really good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Johnellec,
Wow, thank you for taking the time to do such an in-depth review of our hotel it’s really great to see.
Our atrium rainforest would have to be the highlight of our hotel, it’s very peaceful to walk through and the barramundi pond is a huge hit, I hope you had a chance to see the live feeding, they do love their prawns.
I will be sure to pass this onto our fantastic tour desk, it’s extremely convenient for our guests, our tour desk can arrange everything from tours to transport.
I am glad you enjoyed your ocean view room, and had some time to sit back, relax and take in the views. Apologies for the towel situation, we do keep towels at our porter’s desk so guests can easily grab one on the way out of the hotel or we are always more than happy to bring one to your room.
Its great news for you being an IHG Rewards member, as of January next year, which is not that far away now, Wi-Fi will become free for all members.
Should you experience problems printing your boarding passes out in future, our front desk staff will happily assist you to print them.
Once again, thank you for a great review, and if your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday inn Cairns
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gippsland, Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Three friends and I stayed here one night after our Tiger flight back to Melbourne was cancelled. My room was comfortable and the airconditioning worked well.
Staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming. We liked the barramundi in the courtyard, and LOVED the bar bites and cocktails which were provided by the friendly bar staff.
The morning staff were just as lovely when we checked out at an absurdly early hour for our amended flight, it was no trouble for them to book a maxi cab for us and some other stranded Tigerites.
However, it was later in the day that these lovely people stepped up to an even higher level - looking after our luggage for us when we returned hours later after another cancelled flight, and helping us return to the airport again that evening (after we relaxed in the bar with more of the fabulous bar bites!)
The Holiday Inn Cairns was just what some very tired, anxious and frustrated travellers needed. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Linzjen,
Thank you for a great review.
I am glad that we were able to accommodate you due to a flight cancellation or two.
It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your room, and our fantastic lobby bar & meals. I will be sure to pass this review onto our team who also love to read the feedback that comes through.
Once again, thank you for a great review, one that I am sure many other travelers will appreciate too.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Cairns for 4 nights on our recent trip to FNQ. I didn’t realise when I booked it, but the hotel is in a perfect location – not right on the strip with the restaurants and bars, but just off it, which meant we could get to dinner in 2 min but not have to listen to the noise from the Esplanade at night. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea on one side and the mountains on the other – highly recommended. Rooms and balconies are large, the beds very comfy, the bathroom is absolutely tiny, but everything was clean and worked well. The hotel could do with a bit of a spruce-up, but nothing major.

There is a bottle shop at the back of the building if you fancy a casual drink on the balcony.

Staff were good at check in and departure, though we had an issue with our room key which was quickly sorted out.

There is a tour desk with a very enthusiastic lady who offered a multitude of advice for local trips.

All in all, a nice stay. Exactly what we needed for our stay in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and views of the ocean and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi majainaus,
Thank you for your recent feedback, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel. It’s wonderful to hear such lovely comments, I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the views from your room.
I will be sure to pass this review onto our tour desk.
Once again, thank you for your great comments and if your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pros
1.central location and walking distance to all good restaurants , walking to the wharf
2.was very impressed by the courtesy extended by the duty manager to the members like us for a invite for drink on the day of check in
3.nice views from the room.
4. Good architecture
5. Very good service and tour arrangement by the lady at travel desk. She is old but super active .
6.very nice and courteous staff
7 very lavish breakfast
8 nice swimming pool

Cons
1. Single lift at different points so waiting time is more .
2. No Direct access to the beach
3 . Pool change room has no shower area.
4. Free wifi only in lobby area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Rockingrahul,
Thank you for your recent feedback, it’s great to see such detail, and I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location and wonderful views. I am glad that you were able to arrange your tour needs and will be sure to pass this feedback onto Sue; she will love to read it.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.