We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Gippsland, Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Three friends and I stayed here one night after our Tiger flight back to Melbourne was cancelled. My room was comfortable and the airconditioning worked well.
Staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming. We liked the barramundi in the courtyard, and LOVED the bar bites and cocktails which were provided by the friendly bar staff.
The morning staff were just as lovely when we checked out at an absurdly early hour for our amended flight, it was no trouble for them to book a maxi cab for us and some other stranded Tigerites.
However, it was later in the day that these lovely people stepped up to an even higher level - looking after our luggage for us when we returned hours later after another cancelled flight, and helping us return to the airport again that evening (after we relaxed in the bar with more of the fabulous bar bites!)
The Holiday Inn Cairns was just what some very tired, anxious and frustrated travellers needed. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Linzjen,
Thank you for a great review.
I am glad that we were able to accommodate you due to a flight cancellation or two.
It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your room, and our fantastic lobby bar & meals. I will be sure to pass this review onto our team who also love to read the feedback that comes through.
Once again, thank you for a great review, one that I am sure many other travelers will appreciate too.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    523
    167
    37
    24
See reviews for
204
499
81
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Cairns for 4 nights on our recent trip to FNQ. I didn’t realise when I booked it, but the hotel is in a perfect location – not right on the strip with the restaurants and bars, but just off it, which meant we could get to dinner in 2 min but not have to listen to the noise from the Esplanade at night. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea on one side and the mountains on the other – highly recommended. Rooms and balconies are large, the beds very comfy, the bathroom is absolutely tiny, but everything was clean and worked well. The hotel could do with a bit of a spruce-up, but nothing major.

There is a bottle shop at the back of the building if you fancy a casual drink on the balcony.

Staff were good at check in and departure, though we had an issue with our room key which was quickly sorted out.

There is a tour desk with a very enthusiastic lady who offered a multitude of advice for local trips.

All in all, a nice stay. Exactly what we needed for our stay in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and views of the ocean and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi majainaus,
Thank you for your recent feedback, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel. It’s wonderful to hear such lovely comments, I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the views from your room.
I will be sure to pass this review onto our tour desk.
Once again, thank you for your great comments and if your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pros
1.central location and walking distance to all good restaurants , walking to the wharf
2.was very impressed by the courtesy extended by the duty manager to the members like us for a invite for drink on the day of check in
3.nice views from the room.
4. Good architecture
5. Very good service and tour arrangement by the lady at travel desk. She is old but super active .
6.very nice and courteous staff
7 very lavish breakfast
8 nice swimming pool

Cons
1. Single lift at different points so waiting time is more .
2. No Direct access to the beach
3 . Pool change room has no shower area.
4. Free wifi only in lobby area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Rockingrahul,
Thank you for your recent feedback, it’s great to see such detail, and I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location and wonderful views. I am glad that you were able to arrange your tour needs and will be sure to pass this feedback onto Sue; she will love to read it.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The room was good size but the bathroom was quite small and tight. On coming into the room, I noticed a slight musty scent but otherwise the room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

The location of the hotel was great. You are right on the esplanade. It was an easy walk to all the restaurants on the esplanade, the lagoon and Muddy's playground which was a hit with our 18 month old.

We had the buffet breakfast included and we were happy enough with it. It was not an amazing buffet breakfast but there was a good selection of food, and I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit juice station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi misskitz,
Thank you for your recent feedback, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel and I am sure many other travelers will appreciate it too.
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location as well as Muddy’s which is a huge hit for the little ones.
I am glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast as well; I too love the fresh juice bar.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights on the way up to Pt Douglas and Daintree and found the hotel clean, quiet, comfortable and welcoming. The location is just on the edge of the busy part of Cairns so very convenient to every thing and not to noisy.
We enjoyed it so much we stayed another three nights on the way home and we're lucky enough to get a fifth floor ocean facing room looking out over the esplanade, sea and mountains. Fantastic.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi notafussytraveller,
Thank you for your recent feedback, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay so much you came back. Our ocean view rooms are perfect for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing and I am glad that you enjoyed the views.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A great room on the 7th (top) floor, with a balcony that had views of the Esplanade. Spacious, clean and comfortable, and the staff were very relaxed and obliging. My room faced what appeared to be some sort of live-music venue, but didn't heard any noise at all inside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Cupcakes140,
Thank you for your recent feedback.
We are extremely lucky to be located in such a prime position, right on the esplanade, quite often live music plays in the park and guests enjoy sitting back relaxing in their rooms watching and listening to the music.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your room on the 7th floor and that our staff were accomodating.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hioliday Inn Cairns
Warm regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was hesitant when booking a stay with an American company instead of Australian but the hotel was very nice. The lobby was spacious, breakfast was great, our room was comfortable but not huge, location was fantasic as its right off the Esplanade so it's central but still quiet. There's free WiFi in the lobby. Our experience definately exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Cruzker,
Thank you for your recent review, its great to see so many active people of the online community.
Its wonderful to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations and I am glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, room & location.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.