We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ICH Group Delivers Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The ICH Group Delivers Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I tend to stay in ICH hotels, either Hoilday Inn or Crowne Plaza whenever I can because of the rewards program and because they are a pretty well known quantity. I do wish in Oz that more hotels would realise free wifi is a huge draw card to customers, but in the end, this hotel is well situated, well priced, pretty decent staff and a good quality stay all things considered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi TheTravellingAussie,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor, 131 reviews in 32 cities, you have done a lot of travelling.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I recommend you joining our IHG Rewards club, as of 2014 guests will receive free wifi along with other great benefits.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    523
    167
    37
    24
See reviews for
204
499
81
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Cairns for a total of 3 nights. It was comfortable and clean and the staff was very helpful. As it seems to be with all the hotels in Australia, the WIFI was not free, despite the fact the the city of Cairns had a free network downtown.

We would stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi wientraveler02,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor, I enjoy reading all of our guest reviews, and appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I recommend you joining our IHG Rewards club, as of 2014 guests will receive free wifi along with other great benefits.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved our stay on the top floor facing the ocean, the scene was so beatiful looking out through the wide doors to the mountians, marina, and water. Service was superb from start to finish, room spotless and modern. Only gripe would be 25 dollar buffet for breakfast when you can walk round corner and get a good hot breakfast for 12. Tour agent was helpful, but i would strongly suggest doing your research before accepting any suggestions as our tours were a lot less exciting and value for money than we expected. Cairns itself was not so interesting, and idoubt I will return, but if I do, I'd stay here for sure. One thing to be wary of is the 'no double bed in standard room' problem that us and a family both seemed to be faced with. What ever the real reason we had to upgrade to a more expensive room, not sure how legit this all is, but the room was great despite the extra cost we had to put out despite pre booking. Oh, and balcony door didnt lock which was the only problem with the room really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi John385,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I enjoy reading all of our feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here. Our ocean view rooms are indeed our most popular rooms. They are perfect for watching the sunrise or sunset with a glass of wine.

I would love to hear more about your upgraded experience. As our standard rooms do have the option of 2x double beds, if that is what you were after. If you could contact me on 07 4050 6037.
If you travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nites. It is conveniently located near all the shops and restaurants and the Esplanade. The room was very comfortable. We liked their "self-service" laundromat. It allows us to keep up with our laundry. The staff was very personable and accomodating. If we were to visit Cairns again, we would certainly consider this hotel for our stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Glassboro,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s so great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely lucky to be located in such a convenient location. I am glad you enjoyed the self-service Laundromat.
I will pass this feedback onto our staff members.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is a short walk from all the shops and restaurants and is situated just across the road from the foreshore. I would recomend staying in the front rooms above the 3 floor jst so you get a bit of a view over the bay.
The pool was good and big enough to do a few laps, and was aquiped with a basic pool bar. The priority club welcom drinks was also very good with drinks and nibles supplied

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Ryan B

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor,
We are very lucky to be located in such a convenient position, right on the main esplanade, and so close to local amenities and attractions.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Priority Club drinks nights. We really enjoy these nights as it gives us a great opportunity to meet all of our guests.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South coast NSW
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed three nights at holiday inn and were pleasantly surprised at standard of the hotel and very friendly and efficient service. Bathrooms are small but functional. Ideally located on the esplanade just outside the busy tourist area. Short walk to shops restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views on higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Kcandthecook,

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip advisor. I enjoy reading all of our reviews and appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
We are lucky to be located in such a prime position, right on the esplanade, close to all amenities and local attractions.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had to go to Cairns for a Funeral. So we were not there for pleasure. But staying at Holiday Inn made our stay feel much better. I like the location of Holiday Inn, it is just across the road from the Esplanade where you can go for walks, run or ride your bike if you have one or hire one. Cairns has a great choice of places to eat and drink. The room we stayed on was on the third floor and looked over the ocean. I really like the sliding doors that go out onto the Balcony you can slide them right back and it gives you a feeling of being outside with a cool breeze coming in from the ocean. The days were nice with occasional showers and about 25-27 degrees, very pleasant.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, although I was not greeted as a Priority Privileged member on check-in.
It was great to come back to our room at the end of the day and order room service if we did not feel like going out. Our meal arrived within 20 minutes and was delicious.
The bed was very comfy and the pillows are great.
The only problems we found was with housekeeping. We found a dirty towel stuck at the back of the cupboard under the TV, I very carefully picked it up and placed it with our dirty towels in the bathtub.
The other thing we found was someone previous to us had cut their toe nails out on the balcony and left them their. So someone needs to check the rooms after housekeeping has finished to make sure a decent job has been done.
This is a large hotel and sometimes you have a bit of walking to do going from the lift to your room. I love the large Barramundi in the pond at the center of the hotel. Their is a Guest laundry on the third floor and another floor I think the Fifth floor, very handy.
I look forward to returning to Cairns in happier times.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Tuna111,

Please accept our condolences, it is never an easy time, however I am glad to hear that our team looked after you whilst you were here. I do apologise that you were not greeted as a priority club member & I have also noted your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. We always strive to ensure that our high standards of cleanliness are maintained throughout our property.

If your travels bring you back to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.