We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com IHG
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #12 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nites. It is conveniently located near all the shops and restaurants and the Esplanade. The room was very comfortable. We liked their "self-service" laundromat. It allows us to keep up with our laundry. The staff was very personable and accomodating. If we were to visit Cairns again, we would certainly consider this hotel for our stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Glassboro,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s so great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are extremely lucky to be located in such a convenient location. I am glad you enjoyed the self-service Laundromat.
I will pass this feedback onto our staff members.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    353
    113
    23
    20
See reviews for
144
326
52
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is a short walk from all the shops and restaurants and is situated just across the road from the foreshore. I would recomend staying in the front rooms above the 3 floor jst so you get a bit of a view over the bay.
The pool was good and big enough to do a few laps, and was aquiped with a basic pool bar. The priority club welcom drinks was also very good with drinks and nibles supplied

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Ryan B

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor,
We are very lucky to be located in such a convenient position, right on the main esplanade, and so close to local amenities and attractions.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Priority Club drinks nights. We really enjoy these nights as it gives us a great opportunity to meet all of our guests.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South coast NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed three nights at holiday inn and were pleasantly surprised at standard of the hotel and very friendly and efficient service. Bathrooms are small but functional. Ideally located on the esplanade just outside the busy tourist area. Short walk to shops restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views on higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Kcandthecook,

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip advisor. I enjoy reading all of our reviews and appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
We are lucky to be located in such a prime position, right on the esplanade, close to all amenities and local attractions.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had to go to Cairns for a Funeral. So we were not there for pleasure. But staying at Holiday Inn made our stay feel much better. I like the location of Holiday Inn, it is just across the road from the Esplanade where you can go for walks, run or ride your bike if you have one or hire one. Cairns has a great choice of places to eat and drink. The room we stayed on was on the third floor and looked over the ocean. I really like the sliding doors that go out onto the Balcony you can slide them right back and it gives you a feeling of being outside with a cool breeze coming in from the ocean. The days were nice with occasional showers and about 25-27 degrees, very pleasant.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, although I was not greeted as a Priority Privileged member on check-in.
It was great to come back to our room at the end of the day and order room service if we did not feel like going out. Our meal arrived within 20 minutes and was delicious.
The bed was very comfy and the pillows are great.
The only problems we found was with housekeeping. We found a dirty towel stuck at the back of the cupboard under the TV, I very carefully picked it up and placed it with our dirty towels in the bathtub.
The other thing we found was someone previous to us had cut their toe nails out on the balcony and left them their. So someone needs to check the rooms after housekeeping has finished to make sure a decent job has been done.
This is a large hotel and sometimes you have a bit of walking to do going from the lift to your room. I love the large Barramundi in the pond at the center of the hotel. Their is a Guest laundry on the third floor and another floor I think the Fifth floor, very handy.
I look forward to returning to Cairns in happier times.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Tuna111,

Please accept our condolences, it is never an easy time, however I am glad to hear that our team looked after you whilst you were here. I do apologise that you were not greeted as a priority club member & I have also noted your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. We always strive to ensure that our high standards of cleanliness are maintained throughout our property.

If your travels bring you back to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved our stay here. Great rooms and service. Meals seemed little pricey so ate outside of hotel. Close to everything. Tours picked you up right outside lobby. Always seemed spotless.Always helpful at front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Russell B,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor. I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel. I have passed this onto our team who love to read the feedback as well. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn and were only sorry we couldn't stay longer. The room was extremely comfortable, staff were always friendly and willing to assist, breakfast was a great feast, and the hotel is ideally and centrally located. A big thanks is due to the manager Matt Ridley. Following an initial misunderstanding with the booking he went over and above any expectations to ensure our stay at the hotel was comfortable, relaxed, and enjoyable. The Holiday Inn was perfect for de-stressing from a very hectic year and I certainly intend to return for future holidays. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi MaggsBrisbane,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to be located in such a prime position right on the main esplanade. I am glad we were able to sort out the misunderstanding with you booking.

Thank you for your great feedback.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much we want to return soon. Only one down fall was that we had to pay for internet service. You did get 2 hours free internet if you bought a drink in the bar.
The staff was the best seen to date at a Holiday Inn. Very helpful and always willing to help make our stay the best possible.
We are American, so the exchange rate was not in our favor, so we need to budget a little tighter than normal, but besides that this hotel will be on our highly recommended list.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to all. Taxi from the Airport was $21 Aus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi SonnyFromFla

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor.
I am so glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us here. I will be sure to pass this onto our team.

It is truly rewarding to hear such great feedback.

If you join our Priority Club rewards, soon to be IHG Rewards as of July. You will receive great benefits such as complimentary late checkout, daily newspapers, along with free wifi for gold and platinum members starting in July, and base members in 2014.

Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Cairns 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Cairns is superbly located on the Cairns Esplanade only a five-minute walk from the shopping, entertainment and business center of Cairns. Featuring 237 comfortably appointed guestrooms, Holiday Inn Cairns reflects the ambience of the Tropics with breathtaking views overlooking the Coral Sea and rainforest clad mountains. The unique rainforest Atrium is designed to represent a mini rainforest surrounded by tropical plants, rock pools and Barramundi fish. The hotel also features a relaxing Lobby Bar, bottle shop, swimming pool, heated spa, large sundeck, fitness centre, tour desk, 24-hour room service, wireless and high-speed internet access, free undercover parking and Sirocco Restaurant, famous for its seafood and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.