We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Cairns for a sad occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #12 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“In Cairns for a sad occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had to go to Cairns for a Funeral. So we were not there for pleasure. But staying at Holiday Inn made our stay feel much better. I like the location of Holiday Inn, it is just across the road from the Esplanade where you can go for walks, run or ride your bike if you have one or hire one. Cairns has a great choice of places to eat and drink. The room we stayed on was on the third floor and looked over the ocean. I really like the sliding doors that go out onto the Balcony you can slide them right back and it gives you a feeling of being outside with a cool breeze coming in from the ocean. The days were nice with occasional showers and about 25-27 degrees, very pleasant.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, although I was not greeted as a Priority Privileged member on check-in.
It was great to come back to our room at the end of the day and order room service if we did not feel like going out. Our meal arrived within 20 minutes and was delicious.
The bed was very comfy and the pillows are great.
The only problems we found was with housekeeping. We found a dirty towel stuck at the back of the cupboard under the TV, I very carefully picked it up and placed it with our dirty towels in the bathtub.
The other thing we found was someone previous to us had cut their toe nails out on the balcony and left them their. So someone needs to check the rooms after housekeeping has finished to make sure a decent job has been done.
This is a large hotel and sometimes you have a bit of walking to do going from the lift to your room. I love the large Barramundi in the pond at the center of the hotel. Their is a Guest laundry on the third floor and another floor I think the Fifth floor, very handy.
I look forward to returning to Cairns in happier times.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Tuna111,

Please accept our condolences, it is never an easy time, however I am glad to hear that our team looked after you whilst you were here. I do apologise that you were not greeted as a priority club member & I have also noted your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. We always strive to ensure that our high standards of cleanliness are maintained throughout our property.

If your travels bring you back to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    378
    120
    25
    21
See reviews for
154
352
58
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved our stay here. Great rooms and service. Meals seemed little pricey so ate outside of hotel. Close to everything. Tours picked you up right outside lobby. Always seemed spotless.Always helpful at front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Russell B,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor. I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel. I have passed this onto our team who love to read the feedback as well. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn and were only sorry we couldn't stay longer. The room was extremely comfortable, staff were always friendly and willing to assist, breakfast was a great feast, and the hotel is ideally and centrally located. A big thanks is due to the manager Matt Ridley. Following an initial misunderstanding with the booking he went over and above any expectations to ensure our stay at the hotel was comfortable, relaxed, and enjoyable. The Holiday Inn was perfect for de-stressing from a very hectic year and I certainly intend to return for future holidays. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi MaggsBrisbane,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to be located in such a prime position right on the main esplanade. I am glad we were able to sort out the misunderstanding with you booking.

Thank you for your great feedback.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much we want to return soon. Only one down fall was that we had to pay for internet service. You did get 2 hours free internet if you bought a drink in the bar.
The staff was the best seen to date at a Holiday Inn. Very helpful and always willing to help make our stay the best possible.
We are American, so the exchange rate was not in our favor, so we need to budget a little tighter than normal, but besides that this hotel will be on our highly recommended list.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to all. Taxi from the Airport was $21 Aus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi SonnyFromFla

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor.
I am so glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us here. I will be sure to pass this onto our team.

It is truly rewarding to hear such great feedback.

If you join our Priority Club rewards, soon to be IHG Rewards as of July. You will receive great benefits such as complimentary late checkout, daily newspapers, along with free wifi for gold and platinum members starting in July, and base members in 2014.

Warm Regards
Matt Rippin & Team
Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Only stayed one night here, we arrived very early and our room wasn't ready but that wasn't a problem and the very friendly staff gave us a number of options including having a different room that was available straight away.
The ground floor room we stayed in was lovely, so clean and modern.
The breakfast was one of the best and great value for money (prebook this when you book in to get a better rate)
They have a lovely internal garden with pond and a good size outdoor pool.
We found it was close enough to town to stroll down any time but was nice and quite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Kyla W

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. Our breakfast is great, and there is lots of variety.

We are very lucky, we don’t have to go too far to enjoy a bit of tranquility. We can just walk into our indoor rainforest atrium. I hope you saw the huge barramundi.
Warm Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel in May 2013 before traveling to the Whitsundays.

Our room was on the ground floor which was quite noisy. There was a slight smell in the room which I couldn't work out whether it was the aircon or not. A mouldy smell. The aircon was quite noisy too.

We had a patio area which was ok.

The bathroom is very small and basic.

The location is on the Esplanade, just a short walk from the marina where you will find bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi TIpperGee13

Thank you for your recent feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the location; we are in an excellent spot, right on the esplanade.
I am sad to hear that your room was not what your expected. I always encourage our guests to see reception should they have a problem, no matter how big or small. We would have been more than happy to move you to another quieter room.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Tea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

In reading some of the not so nice reviews on this hotel I began to think I was in a different hotel. My wife and I experience was faultless. From the front desk, room maids and the breakfast staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable about their hotel. The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel for a while, make your own vege juice and the selection of hot good was awesome. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the soft and hard pillows, 4 on each bed was brilliant. It looks like the hotel has just had a refurbishment a year or so ago this is what attracted me as many other hotels reviews in Cairns read they were old, tired looking and needing some TLC. Excellent job Holiday Inn. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Darren776,

Thank you for your recent feedback on trip Advisor, it is always lovely to see such active members of the online community.

First of all, I am so glad to hear that your stay was faultless. Our team works extremely hard to deliver the best customer service and experience for our guests, so it is truly rewarding to hear this feedback.
We hear such great feedback about our breakfast, and the juice bar is the best, I love freshly squeezed juices, best way to start the day.

If you travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Cairns 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Cairns is superbly located on the Cairns Esplanade only a five-minute walk from the shopping, entertainment and business center of Cairns. Featuring 237 comfortably appointed guestrooms, Holiday Inn Cairns reflects the ambience of the Tropics with breathtaking views overlooking the Coral Sea and rainforest clad mountains. The unique rainforest Atrium is designed to represent a mini rainforest surrounded by tropical plants, rock pools and Barramundi fish. The hotel also features a relaxing Lobby Bar, bottle shop, swimming pool, heated spa, large sundeck, fitness centre, tour desk, 24-hour room service, wireless and high-speed internet access, free undercover parking and Sirocco Restaurant, famous for its seafood and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.