We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have a wonderful time in Cairns. This Hotel is in an excellent location, right in front of the sea, although we didn't received an ocean view room. The room has good furniture and beautiful decoration, with big windows. The main problem is about internet. Even in the lobby it's not free. What a shame!

Room Tip: Try an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello brazilian2005,

Thank your for posting your feedback on tripadvisor. Congratulations on over 100 reviews.

Our Ocean View rooms are very popular. As they are so popular we recommend guests book these rooms in advance to avoid disappointment.

Should you travel to Tropical North Queensland again we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    522
    167
    37
    24
See reviews for
203
499
81
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located at the corner of Florence and Esplande in Cairns, AU, you can walk every where easily. Perfect location! We even walked to some of our excursions instead of having transfers! You can walk to the marina, the casino, the mall, the Esplanade shops and restaurants. Don't miss Sue at the Tour Desk, especially if you are a diver! Don't miss seeing the cocktoos that come out in the park at sunset directly across from the hotel! Very entertaining!

Room Tip: We booked our room through Hotwire.com and got a great rate (Under $100 per night), but we had a hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello LoveToTravel19661974,

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor.

You are correct in mentioning that we are in a good location an easy walk to most city attractions. It's great to see that your got out and about in our wonderful little city.

Sue on the tour desk is most certainly an asset to our team. She has amazing local knowledge and helps guests create wonderful memories of their stays in Cairns.

When I first moved to Cairns I remember being so intrigued by the fruit bats that take flight at dawn and dusk each day. They are certainly a sight and our guests are always asking questions about them.

Should you travel to Cairns again we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through one of those secret deals. Couldn't have been happier with what we had. We decided on arrival to upgrade out room, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and the marina on the top floor. It was well worth the extra money for the outside space, the views and the large room size. The location is excellent, right on the esplanade so only a few moments to the local restaurants and bars, but not close enough that we had any noise to both us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting cairns.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello bettydavis3101,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and congratulations on your 25th review.

It was great to see you took the opportunity to upgrade to one of our Ocean View rooms. The views from these rooms can be breathe taking. I'm happy to read you enjoyed your room.

Cairns has a wonderful selection of bars and restaurants and we are well situated to walk to many without being disturbed by the noise some can produce. The fact you found the room quiet is pleasing.

Should you travel down under to escap the UK winter again we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a lovely big room with a great view over the harbour. The room was well-stocked, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfasts were very good and reasonably priced (we had spent the previous 3 weeks in Northern Territory where the prices were exhorbitant). Parking was in the street, close to the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello AndTedcametoo,

It's great to see that you and Ted enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Cairns. It looks like you and Ted have had some fun adventures together so we really appreciate feedback from seasoned travellers.

Thank you for your comments on breakfast. I hope the selection was to your liking and Ted found something to munch on too.

You and Ted keep having adventures and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin and TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel. The staff were outstanding. Someone manages and trains staff very well at this hotel - they couldnt have been more pleasant and helpful. The room was spotless, with a lovely view of the bay. The arrival night greeting drinks were much appreciated. The hotel restaurant was good. Location of the hotel was good - on the outskirts of the CBD. We walked into the city and to the Cairns Base Hospital. Would definitely stay there again.
The rooms are reached by open walkways, and we did wonder how it would be on the sixth floor in very wet and blowy weather.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello Sunshine747,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Feedback from our guests is very important as it helps us to continue to deliver Great Hotels Guest Love.

It was great to see that our staff were able to provide you with a memorable stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns. We take great pride in having a great team here.

The hotel is indeed easy walking distance to the CBD and Cairns Base Hospital. Our guests can enjoy all that Cairns has to offer easily but back at the hotel enjoy the quiet and tranquility in our rainforest atrium.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin and TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient to shopping, dining, and walking distance to the Casino and Reef Fleet Terminal. The room was spacious and clean. The bed is very comfortable, with a selection of soft and firm pillows. Nothing to complain about, Holiday Inn delivered quality, comfort, and was good value.

Beware though: some rooms have balconies, and others don't. It looks like the builder ran out of the balconies halfway during the construction: they should be there, but were never added. Request a balcony or ocean view if it is important to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Tor2008_08

Great to see another Canadian escaping the cold and coming Down Under for some fun in the sun. Perfect time of year to visit the tropical north region of our great state Queensland. I hope you enjoyed your time in Australia!.

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the hotel. I will ensure I share these with the team who all take a lot pride in their ability to create that unique quest experience!.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. The views from the ocean views rooms are a favourite of our guests and are highly sort after.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 separate nights while travelling to and from Port Douglas. The rooms were spotless, the staff was super friendly and helpful, and it's a great location - right across from St. Monica's Cathedral and the Esplanade. You can walk to pretty much anywhere you need to go. The hotel restaurant is great too - excellent calamari salad and the breakfast buffet is superb! Would highly recommend this hotel - we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Michelle K

We loved your headline " Excellent Hotel" and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn and do hope you enjoyed your travels down under!. Its a long way to come from the States so its important you leave us with a smile on your face.

The breakfast is a favourite of our guests. We focus on quality, variety & a breakfast at a reasonable price. You know you have a good breakfast when the locals in town come to visit on a weekend!. I'll pass your comments onto the Chef who is very passionate about delivering a GREAT breakfast consistently and my wife is a big fan of the Calamari Salad too.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. The views from the ocean views rooms are a favourite of our guests and are highly sort after.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.


Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Cairns)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Business Hotel in Cairns
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.