We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com IHG
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #12 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Very nice hotel to stay in. Staff were very friendly, especially at reception. This is a large hotel with a pond in the middle which had barramundi swimming in it. We had a room with two double beds, very nice and comfy. There is a bottle shop on the east side of building if you feel like a couple of cold drinks and the RSL is just across the road. Just a stone's throw from cairns city centre. In the morning went for a run along the boardwalk, very scenic. We really enjoyed our stay here and would of liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    353
    113
    23
    20
See reviews for
144
326
52
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel is very close to the harbor, newly renovated, clean, with good showers, clean bedlinen, spacious lobby, polite, efficient staff. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Well priced. Excellent buffet breakfast,( a bit pricey.).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had a pleasant 5 night stay at Holiday Inn. We got an upgrade for $25 dollars a night to an ocean view king size bed room and it was worth it. The view to the ocean was gorgeous, especially during sun rise (we were never back early enough to catch the sunset). The room is spacious with modern furniture and LCD TV.

Now, like everybody else here, I have to mention Sue at the tour desk. Without her, our trip in Cairns would've been miserable! The day we got to Cairns was windy and rainy. We had booked a scuba/snorkel tour for the next day and another fishing trip. Although we were concerned about the weather, we thought maybe we should just stick with the original plan and avoid all the hassles. We thought we'd talk to Sue just in case and it changed everything. Her experience and knowledge were so helpful and we took her words and everything worked out perfect! She was not afraid of telling you her honest opinions and she's always trying to make the best decision for you no matter how much trouble she has to go through. We saw her work very late hours to help more guests. We are extremely grateful for all her kind help and all our tours worked out fantastic because of her hard work and valuable recommendations.

A quick note about the hotel is that when we were checking out, they showed us the bill and I noticed that they charged us for a few phone calls that did not go through. I mentioned it to them and they quickly took them off the bill without asking us anything. I guess it's not really their fault because the phones are probably automatically logged, but just a small warning for everybody to watch out for.

Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked in at the Holiday Inn cairns as my fiance is an avid Holiday Inn fan. He travels alot and has rated Holiday In (HI) to be the best hotel that has consistency and upmost service.

The location was perfect, only about 10 minutes from the airport and a block back from the beach. Cafes and shops were a stones throw. I heard before (via tripadvisor) that this HI has been thru refurbishment awhile ago so i was really keen to see what it looks like.

We got our room upgraded to an ocean view. However, we were quite dissapointed when we found out that the room did NOT have ocean view, infact we were adjacent to an RSL club. The toilet was so small and there wasnt much room to move about (it was an arms length between the mirror and the bathtub).

The amenities and facilities of the hotel were Subpar. My fiance went for a gym session and he was complaining for the lack of proper equipment. The TV was excellent with channels to suite patrons of all ages. They had a huge list of inroom dining.

It was rainy when we came to Cairns and the room heater didnt seem to be working. I tried to ring reception but noone answered my call (perhaps noone mend the desk after 1030pm??) I later found out that the hotel had just upgraded to a 'green' hotel so i figured they probably are in the midst of trying to adjust the heating generator of the hotel.

The staffs were very friendly and professional. Buffet breakfast was a heaven. There was underground car parking (free) and the hotel boasts a tiny barramundi pond where kids can watch/feed them.

Overall the stay was pleasant but with the same amount of money- i would spend it somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The room was clean, nicely decorated and neat. Nice view of the water/boats even though they placed us on the side of the building. Location on the Esplanade very nice and so convenient. Close to everything. See below***.

Exceptional tour agent at hotel named Sue. Hats off to her! She had incredible patience and fabulous ideas. Due to limited time and many full tours, my mom and I ended up on the Wait a While Tropical Rain Forest Tour with Adrian as our guide. We had delicious scones at a volcanic lake and a wonderful time spotting wildlife - the hours flew by, felt like a Girl Scout all over again. Funny thing is Sue stated that Wait a While Tour was written up on Tripadvisor and that statement made us very confident and interested in booking the pricey (but totally worth it!!) private tour.

***Service three stars due to average of five for Sue and one for the front desk: One minor mishap at hotel, upon check in, the front desk staff stated my credit card was declined (before I arrived, when they tried to get full payment early) and that I needed to make full payment immediately in cash or with another card. I suggested that she run it through again because I had no problems with it on my trip to date and had informed my credit card company of exactly where I'd be and when. When it was run through, there was no problem. So, they really should've skipped the "making me feel like a criminal" part from the "welcome." But, the staffperson was young and I think she learned from her mistake.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed at Holiday Inn May 2011. Very comfortable bed with choice of soft or firm pillows (a thoughtful & appreciated extra), the BEST water pressure from shower rose, couldn't fault the daily cleanliness of room, every staff member we spoke with most courteous & helpful, Most enjoyable, FRESH seafood dinner at their Sirroco restaurant, gymnasium had all we required and was monitored for safety. In all, a wonderful three day stay and great value for money to boot. Would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night, and would certainly return again if passing through Cairns.
We have previously stayed at another hotel at the other end of Esplande, but thought this was in better, close to resturants, the Marina, great outlook. Nice room, view, but yes the bathroom is SMALL. But if you are only there for a night or two this is not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade & Florence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Cairns 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Cairns is superbly located on the Cairns Esplanade only a five-minute walk from the shopping, entertainment and business center of Cairns. Featuring 237 comfortably appointed guestrooms, Holiday Inn Cairns reflects the ambience of the Tropics with breathtaking views overlooking the Coral Sea and rainforest clad mountains. The unique rainforest Atrium is designed to represent a mini rainforest surrounded by tropical plants, rock pools and Barramundi fish. The hotel also features a relaxing Lobby Bar, bottle shop, swimming pool, heated spa, large sundeck, fitness centre, tour desk, 24-hour room service, wireless and high-speed internet access, free undercover parking and Sirocco Restaurant, famous for its seafood and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.