We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese culinary secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Cha-Cha

O Cha-Cha
34 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
40517055
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 410 restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Japanese culinary secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a hidden treat. O cha-cha is tucked away upstairs in a little arcade in Cairns and would be really hard to find if you didn't know it was there. This was recommended to us by friends and we had a great night. The restaurant is very simple and service is quite slow, but the food is fantastic. During our meal there was constantly a line out the door.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    14
    9
    0
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - regular local spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a weekly haunt for locals in Cairns - the best Japanese food around, arguably as good as anywhere in Japan. It's like entering little Japan - and best of all you won't spend more than $15 on your meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A hidden tranquil treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I discovered this little gem years ago and recently returned, pleasantly surprised to find their reasonable prices and yummy food had not changed! I love their chicken teriyaki and enjoy coming here for lunch as its a calming oasis during my busy work day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! You have to go there for the best little Japanese experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We loved this place so much we went there two nights in a row. So quaint. We sat traditionally on the floor. Not all tables are like this so it pays to make a reservation to request it, otherwise you can sit at standard tables. A tv shows kitsch Japanese tv shows while Japanese music plays. Cool. The meals were so beautifully presented and were delicious! Finally it was great value!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great way to go to japan, without getting on an areoplane!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Love this little resturant and have bene going for years. They had a noisy bar open downstairs, which was unbarable, however that bar closed and back to normal!
Great real japanese food at goof prices. Good selection of different dishes. Most come with rice and miso on the side unless they are noddle soup or don.
I go to Japan alot, so i know the real thing when i eat it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Cha-Cha also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to O Cha-Cha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Cha-Cha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.