We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paperbark at Kewarra Beach Cairns

Paperbark at Kewarra Beach Cairns
76 Kewarra Street | Kewarra Beach, Cairns, Queensland 4879, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I are locals to the area and we had our Anniversary dinner here. A lovely touch our waiter Shaun brought us a complimentary glass of bubbles each while we were looking over the menu. The food was fabulous in particular the pork belly curry was yummy. Thankfully they still had the Crème Brule on the menu, that is a must have for the sweet tooth and I believe it has outlived the last 4 menu changes.....now that says something. Thank you for the lovely service and Shaun you were a wonderful host.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wonderful setting in rainforest north of Cairns. Eight adults and two small children for a special outing were treated to an outstanding dining experience. The large open area afforded adequate privacy while providing a delightful ambience. The attention to detail and attitude of the waiting staff was exceptional and would have been difficult to improve upon.The menu was innovative and the meals piping hot and beautifully presented.For fishlovers it would be difficult to go past the barramundi in banana leaf although the kangaroo had its adherents as well. Overall the evening would be hard to surpass as a dining experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

You are welcomed as soon as you step into this Resort. Congrats to the staff. The Restaurant is a large open room set in a rainforest with vaulted ceilings. We ordered Kangaroo which came with mash and salad ,kangaroo was cooked to perfection , the other main was Barramundi wrapped in a banana leaf it was moist and just glistened . We then had an affagarto each and as it was hubby's birthday they put a sparkler in which topped off our night. They also have Pizza night on Fridays at the beach make sure you make a booking as the amount of people were saw it is very popular. Sunday late afternoon nibbles and drink. Make sure you take a cardigan with you as the nights are still cool. We took the bus from Palm Cove and took a cab home $24 enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location not matched by food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A stunning location and luxury setting. Our main courses were very disappointing and didn't live up to the menu descriptions. There was a tiny amount of seafood in my laksa and the red claw risotto was small and difficult to get into. Our side of chips didn't turn up until everything else was finished. The desserts were good and restored some of our faith in the place. I must say that we were impressed and appreciative that the waiter went out of his way to make amends by not charging us for our drinks. Although disappointed we would certainly give it another try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, aus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and beautiful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I came here for dinner and it was fabulous. The setting is beautiful and very romantic. They served bread to start which was a nice touch and both the entrees and mains were delicious! We will definitely be going back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paperbark at Kewarra Beach Cairns also viewed

 

Been to Paperbark at Kewarra Beach Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paperbark at Kewarra Beach Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.