We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Place

Save Saved
You added The Beach Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Place
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   79 Sims Esplanade | Yorkeys Knob, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Anna and Malcolm made the stay awesome. Not only is it a great little hidden away gem on Yorkey's Knob, but the accomodation has paddle boards and kayak. Anna knows all the best places to visit and helped us plan our time up there. All in all, we loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left get a nice view out to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed with at The Beach Place in early December this year. We had an amazing time! Anna and Malcolm were so friendly and helpful when we needed advice on tours to book. They have extensive knowledge of the the area and really put in the time to help you figure out your best options. The apartment was pristine and had an incredible view I will never forget. If we ever come back to Cairns or know people going, we both whole-heartedly would suggest staying at The Beach House.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Beach Place really was a home away from home. Malcolm, Anna and Taleigha are a fantastic family and extremely welcoming. We enjoyed a few nights having a beer and a good chat, and Anna booked all the tours for us.
The apartment was perfect, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, combined living/kitchen/meals area and a balcony overlooking the water, and a lifeguard patrolled beach directly opposite with a swimming net.
Yorkeys Knob is a great location it is also easy to get too all the attractions that the area has to offer.
We will be back to stay again, and can recommend the Beach Place to anyone who wants a great relaxing holiday!!

Room Tip: Car Parking on site - so hire a car and most attractions at 10 mins away. Also, there is a local sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

During my recent vacation to Cairns, my primary goal was to spend as much time as possible enjoying Stand Up Paddle boarding. Malcolm was our life saver!! He was one of the only individuals, within the entire Cairns area, who responded in a timely manner and was committed to making sure we had what we needed. He rented us a Paddle board, kayak, and gave us a great deal. We were so impressed with his customer service and loved his personality! We also had the opportunity to view one of his apartments for our next trip to Cairns. The rooms were very clean and had amazing views!! Thank you again Malcolm for your top-notch customer services and for making my dreams of SUPing in Cairns come true!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our recent holiday at The Beach Place was one of the most relaxing and comfortable holidays
I have ever had. The location is five star, as is the accommodation, as are the hosts - who
couldn't have been more helpful. The "four of us" highly recommend The Beach Place and are
only sorry our stay couldn't have been longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. Malcolm provided stellar service and even helped us arrange water sports to SUP and kayak. He also made some phone calls to some of his associates to help us plan our free day. Any time we called or texted, he replied immediately. I cannot wait to go back. We are American and I agree with the other review that Malcolm was interested in learning about where we were from and educating us on the local area. His laid back style and wicked sense of humor still have us smiling every time we talk about him. The two bedroom apartment is quite spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malfunction48, Owner at The Beach Place, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
It is great to be offering a service and be acknowledged for doing what you enjoy especially among people who are out to make the most of there stay here in the Tropics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On the whole coast north of Cairns Yorkeys Knob is definitely the quietest and most romantic place of all beach places; and The Beach Place is the best in Yorkeys. Malcolm is not only a fantastic host but extremely knowledgeable man interested in other people's stories. Together with Anna they provide a special kind of hospitality that goes well beyond ordinary one. The view from the balcony is extraordinary and the long sandy beach a perfect place for walking and daydreaming. Enjoy evening drink observing stars and listening to eerie wailing calls of bush stone-curlews. Plan your trips from The Beach Place but return to its nest for reflection and peace!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Place

Address: 79 Sims Esplanade | Yorkeys Knob, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Place 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Place provides luxury 2 bedroom self-contained beachfront apartments in Yorkeys Knob Cairns, tropical Far North Queensland, Australia.Free Wi-Fi is included for in house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.