We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, amazing beers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Beerhouse

Bavarian Beerhouse
1-77 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
0740411551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service, amazing beers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Dined here tonight with several friends.

The beer list is impressive. Served either half a litre or a full litre. Reasonably priced for the quality.

The mash served with a lot of the meals was delicious too.

The waitresses were very friendly.

Will definitely return!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    30
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bavarian Adventure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not sure where to start with this place, received a friendly greeting from the waitress who then disappeared 45 mins later. Good selection on the menu with prices at the top end of town for casual dining however not over the top. Started with some drinks, ordered the beer special of the day & a .5 lt stein of wicked cider, then ordered a side of caeser salad which we thought would come with our main choices of the Gypsy Schnitzel & Hunter Schnitzel (no greens come with the meals), not the case. Salad came out first then approx 40 mins later the schnitzel's arrived, Gypsy had great flavour & was very moist with a nice accompanying sauce however far too many chips (ate less than a third) & the Hunter was also moist & tender but the wife couldnt get over a strange flavour from the egg noodle which by now the new waitress (on her own) couldn't explain & wasn't interested in asking the Chef. The overall portion were fantastic & glad we didnt order the large schnitzels, due to being so full we didnt bother looking at the desert menu.
Overall it was a not bad experience & maybe a rating of 3 is harsh however doesnt allow a rating of 3.5, there was little atmosphere the night we visited, meals were very slow coming out given at the time there was only 10 customers in the restaurant. Being locals we will try again at some stage & see if our next visit warrants a higher rating, would recommend to others if you want to experience something different.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best schnitzel in Cairns @ affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been at the Bavarian a lot since it opened last year and it is great food, huge portions and still inexpensive even though prices have risen. The pork shnitzel is the best and just mouthswatering good. For dessert we shared the apple strudel and it was very very good. They have a great selection of beers and if you are a beer lover, you will love this place. Our waitress was very nice and attentive and looks gorgeous in the traditional German outfit. We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“chips ahoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having been a regular customer when this place first opened then being put off by poor food and lousy service we decided to give it another go unfortunately for us the place has sunk even lower there was no friendly atmosphere or sevice, the kitchen is open so you can see the chef leaning over his bench texting on a mobile while you are waiting for your meals I am amazed that he could find the time to cook our meals he was so busy on the phone anyway the food arrives chips heaps of chips under the main on top next to nothing else on the plate now thats ok for a $9.90 pub meal but at $24.90 for a schnitzel I was expecting a little more class on the plate a simple side order of mushroom sauce @$4.50 tasted disscusting ineatable to top it off when we went to pay the waitress told me the spirit I had requested to be served in a large glass was actually a double shot I tried to explain to her that I did not ask for a double shot which she agreed but insisted that it was a large glass and should therefore have a double shot of spirit RESPOSIBLE SERVICE OF ALCOHOL ye right promise not to return ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went there on a realy busy night and they were short of waitresses but the young Lady that was there was absolutely fantastic. We got a bootle of wine which was realy well priced under $20 and good quality brand, we thought well this is going to be a bit of a wait full house and all.
The food came quick w had a plate with everything for 2 it could have fed 4 easy it was delicious and realy nice we loved it .
It was so good went back 3 days later and it was just as good and plenty of staff this time around .
This is a good place if you want good authentic German food and like big servings , it was $58 for 2 with a bootle of wine a bargain and I loved it 5 stars from me .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Beerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.