We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trek North Safaris - Day Tours

Trek North Safaris - Day Tours
Shop 3 | 87 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 40414333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 71 Outdoor Activities in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trek North Safaris is a Cairns locally owned and operated tour company. Established in 1991, we have been a market leader in showcasing the World Heritage Listed Daintree Rainforest to thousands of tourists every year. This jungle is the oldest on the planet, and its prehistoric Flora and Fauna is a must see item when here in our exotic and beautiful part of the world. We have a selection of different jungle tours and some great package options, so please browse our website and select the tours you would be most interested in. Our tours include The Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation and also Kuranda Village with the famous Kuranda Scenic Rail and 7.5km Skyrail Cableway. We do also act as a booking and information agent here in Cairns, so please contact us if you need any help or advice planning your amazing holiday! There are many fantastic things to see and do when in Cairns, so let us help you get the most from your time here!
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I totally enjoyed the day tour, seeing the sites of Cape Tribulation / Daintree rain forest and a few other points of interest.
Scotty was the Tour Guide, great value, good sense of humor, very informative and a good safe experienced driver.
BBQ Lunch was supplied and hit the spot.
Highly recommend you take your good camera as there are some great look outs and photo opportunities.
This tour caters for all types, young, elderly, family / groups or like myself Solo.
Prepare yourself for a full fun day, you'll be tired once you reach your hotel in the afternoon, but well worth the experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    33
    8
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cape Tribulation & Daintree Day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The tour was well organized. It was a long and hot day, but worth the effort to see the rainforest and others. Our guide/driver/cook, Scottie, was fantastic and informative.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good trip, some improvements could be made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I enjoyed having the opportunity to see the Daintree and Cape Tribulation. Brad, our tour leader, gave us a good outline of the day and set our expectations properly. I really enjoyed all the things that we were able to see. This trip was a good value compared to other providers as basically they all see similar things and in fact we saw the other tours on the road quite frequently. In hindsight though, I would have enjoyed going to fewer places but spend more time at each of those locations, like hiking more into the rainforest rather than just skimming the outskirts. Since we didn't have any pickups at Port Douglas, our tour had the chance to head to Mossman Gorge earlier and had a chance to swim there. The swimming lunch was much less ideal. If there was more time at the gorge for swimming and then catching the Daintree cruise later, it would have been better. We only saw two crocodiles from afar, so don't set your expectations too high to see hem up close and personal. Of course this is how nature works. The BBQ lunch was better than expected. Brad was a good cook on that grill! The afternoon was mainly spent driving through the rainforest and stopping at various points to have a brief look (about 20 mind each place). It was already more time than some of the other tours we saw on the road. Brad was excellent as he had great knowledge of the area to share with us. Overall not bad. Remember it is already a long day - about 12 hours from pick up to drop off. Bring water and snacks!! We had 14 on my tour which was more than I expected.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly & informative, if a little rushed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

If you're short on time and want to see it all quickly, this is a great tour. Next time we'll go to all these amazing places again, but spread it over three days!
Our pick-up was on time, and our guide (Brad) friendly, informative and unflappable.
There were 14 clients to one guide, which was more than I'd expected from the brochure, but it didn't matter. He took the time to make sure each individual was having a great experience.
The first stop was for coffee in Port Douglas, not really Eco- but we were thankful for it!
Next, Mossman Gorge. Beautiful, and though Brad tried to take his time and point out some of the interesting flora and fauna, we had to rush back to the bus so we'd make the boat for our Daintree cruise. No time to swim, which was a bit sad.
The Daintree cruise was good, though it was high tide in the wet, so the crocs were in hiding.
Lunch was wonderful. So nice to spend a relaxed hour chatting with our guide and the other tourists, who were easily as fascinating as the environs, and at last the kids had a chance to swim in crystal clear water with friendly fish.
Next a fairly long and windy drive up to Cape Tribulation, which has an unearthly beauty in the late afternoon. Even thou there's no swimming in stinger season, still worth the trip.
The trip home should have been one long sleepy drive, but we had two unexpected delays - the first when our ever-watchful guide spotted a male cassowary and chick by the side of the road and we spent 15 minutes watching them fossicking through the brush. An amazing and unique opportunity, and we were so thankful that Brad was happy to give up some of his own time to make it possible.
Unfortunately, his reward for such kindness was a burst tyre a bit further along the road, which he changed with the help of a couple of passengers and a philosophical smile and shrug of his shoulders.
W arrived home exhausted, but happy.
Thanks Brad and Trek North for a full but satisfying day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trek North Tours Cairns”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked a trip with Trek North to Daintree Rainforest and Cape Tribulation. Start time 07.50am .They phoned my hotel at 0752am ,the reception does not open till 0800am, Cancel the tripo stating that the "driver had not turned up".the hotel phoned them and the rep would not let me talk to a manager to discuss there failure!! PLEASE DON`T USE THIS COMPANY as they will let you down

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorgo11, Owner at Trek North Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback.

We again are very sorry for the interuption to your holiday. The contracted driver did not show up for work that morning and as all other guides were working, we had no option but to cancel the tour. The guide in question was terminated as a result.

We understand that people travel from all over the world to visit our Rainforest and an interuption like this can be a massive inconvenience to their plans.

Please accept a Free day tour to Cape Tribulation for 2 adults, authorised by myself.

Regards and sorry again.

Leigh Jorgensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trek North Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Trek North Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trek North Safaris - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.