We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Jacks Bar and Grill

Outback Jacks Bar and Grill
78 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
(07) 4031 9771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 410 restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cairns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“American style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Good place for a quick burger and fries type meal. Quality is good for this type of establishment. Centre of town so conveniently located.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    23
    50
    50
    36
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over priced/under serviced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thought we would give this a go as my teenagers are pretty conservative in thier tastes. The food was ordinary. Salad very basic, ( no vegies on offer) steaks run of the mill & salt & pepper squid bland. Prices high. When we first sat down we were asked by 2 different waitresses for a drinks order, what we did order took ages to come, & then we were never approached again. When I was able to ask for water they must have travelled to the Mossman Gorge to get it & by the time the food arrived we were parched. Won't be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, N Queensland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay, it's not that bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have eaten here several times and it is hit and miss on the service. Most of the time, the service isn't that bad. The food is okay if you want something like hamburgers. If you want a drink from the bar, it takes a while because the person waiting on you can't serve you drinks because they aren't trained??. (go figure). That was a bit annoying. The restaurant seems really crowded and it feels as though you are in someone's back pocket! If you don't mind being so close, no problem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard B, Manager at Outback Jacks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi TexasBella1,
Thanks for your feedback. With the hit and miss service, that's something we are working on all the time. It's very difficult to get and keep good staff when there are so many transient locals (not including back packers), I believe this is something all restaurants have the same problem. But we are determined to better improve our service. Thank you!
With our food, wow where do we start? We have a very large range of Steaks, Sea Food, Chicken Dishes, Pasta Dishes and Salads to choose from. Yes are burgers are great. Perhaps when you are next in our restaurant you might like to try our steaks.

Your comments on the waiter serving you can’t take drinks is not true at all.
All our waiters can and do take drink and food orders. There is nothing they can’t do.
But if you are stopping our food runners to place an order with them then this is correct. We have found to keep the positive flow of meal being delivered to tables the food runners must stick to their job of running food to the many tables and if and when they do get asked for drink orders they simply let the waiter is that section know and that waiter will visit your table and take your order.

Don't forget if you are arriving during peak times then you and everyone else also wants drinks and I would bet this is the reason why you are choosing to go to the bar.
By the way, if you are going to the bar to order and get your own drinks that only slows down the drink service and other peoples drink service because the Bar Tender has to stop making drink that all the other waiters in the restaurant have given him in order to take your order.
Now imaging if 10 people whet to the bar to place their drink orders. The bar tender then has to stop making drinks for all those other customers who did the correct thing and allowed the table service system to work. Now everyone is un happy.
In a table service restaurant it’s better to allow the waiters to take your orders and the runners to deliver you orders to your table.

Thanks TexasBella1 and we look forward to your next visit.

You might like to try our new 300g T-Bone Port Steak. Its new and delisious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food here was good, not the best I have ever eaten, but for the price was good. The thing that stood out the most about this place is the staff. They were kind and observant of us, and we never went with empty drink or someone stopping at our table to ask if we needed anything.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We liked the look of the menu and decided that we would have dinner here. The male waiter was very friendly and explained everything well. Then it all fell apart as the restaurant got busier. Our starters arrived and we had just started to eat it when our main course also arrived, the waitress duly noticed that we were not ready for our mains as we had only just started to eat and was quite off hand when we told her we were not yet ready for our mains. She said that she would put them under the grill to keep warm until we were ready for them....not really satisfactory especially as my main course was a beef salad. When we were finally ready for our mains, my husbands burger was cold and the bun burnt and my beef was over cooked and salad not so good either. All in all we felt rather rushed and the food was not that good either. Would definetly not go back,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Jacks Bar and Grill also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Outback Jacks Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Jacks Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.