We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great team to go rafting with when near Cairns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raging Thunder White Water Rafting

Raging Thunder White Water Rafting
Barron Gorge Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
61 7 4030 7990
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$55*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Raging Thunder has been taking thrill seekers White Water Rafting in North Queensland since 1984, and we offer 3 different levels of excitement .... 1) BARRON rafting is a afternoon trip perfect for those who have never rafted before, or want a fun afternoon close to Cairns .... 2) TULLY rafting is a full day adventure on the Tully River, regarded as the best rafting location across both Australia and New Zealand, no prior experience is necessary .... 3) XTREME rafting pumps up the adrenalin running a custom raft adventure for small groups of confident swimmers on the Tully River, rafting with our most experienced senior guides you will encounter extra challenges such as rock jumping, rapid swimming and raft surfing.
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great team to go rafting with when near Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had a great guide who watched after everyone on the raft. Chris made the trip down the rapids just right, know when to watch out for everyone yet ale sure we had a good experience with excitement. and other guides came and ask how I was doing and seemed truly concerned. they are a great group and highly recommended the experiences with them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    42
    8
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This day was awesome. The instructor (Matty) was a legend - saw we were a very capable group so rather than being boring... we just flipped the boat a load of times and had a massive laugh. Loved every minute of it!!!! BBQ lunch was just right. Long commute from Cairns but transfer was very cheap. All in all... good value and an excellent day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun on the Barron River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you're looking for an introduction to White Water Rafting, then the Barron River option is a great choice. You can get picked up from your hotel and driven out to the Barron Gorge where you have time to get changed before getting on the river. The guides are fun and helpful and the river is exciting while not being too dangerous for beginners.

Definitely recommended, I can't wait to go back and try the Tully River!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adrenalin rush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Going on the "extrem tour" usually means it's a somewhat normal tour with maybe some bits of "extreme" in it. (I was part of the extreme version of Tully-river). This tour really felt like it was extreme. Both the crazy - but very proffessional- leaders as well as the people joining the rafting.

We started of with the basics of rafting and then went straight into the river. During the day, which is pretty intense, we managed to get one man over board, tip the boat over twice (intentionally), went down a water fall and jumped of cliffs. Really cool! But you have to like to challenge yourself 'cause this tour is alot about pushing the limits - at least for me!

If you like an adventure - beyond the usual - and are not afraid of water (or get your head under water) then the extreme rafting tour is well worth it's money! But rafting is still rafting and there is alot of water, stones and currents around - which is challenging, fun and sometimes a bit scary. There are also the regular tour that stays more in the boat and less under water, and a half day tour. If you've thought about doing rafting- go for it! The surroundings around the river is also beautiful and the water was nice and warm! I would recommend Raging Thunders to my friends if they wanted to go rafting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Money well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I did the extreme tour in october 13. It's common for ads to use attractive words such as "extreme" as a way to attract customers. But this one was no pushover, it was really extreme (fast paced rafting, a lot of jumping, a lot of falling over in the water, etc.) and a lot of fun!

The staff is really friendly and very professional. Albeit rafting can be dangerous, the tour felt well organized and the guides do a good job at keeping you safe without sacrificing the thrill of rafting.

For those of you who enjoy and have no problem with beeing around water, I'd reccomend the extreme tour. If you don't fancy beeing around (under!) water all that much I'd go with the normal day tour.

Food, transportation and all that stuff is taken care of by the team, so you can just focus on enjoying the trip.

Bottom line: would definitely reccomend if you're looking for some adrenaline-like adventure combined with beautiful rainforest scenery!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raging Thunder White Water Rafting also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Raging Thunder White Water Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raging Thunder White Water Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.