We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and funny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tablelands, Waterfalls, and Spanish Castle

Tablelands, Waterfalls, and Spanish Castle
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
(07) 4035 5566
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tablelands, Waterfalls, and Spanish Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$159*
and up
Atherton Tablelands, Paronella Park and Millaa...
Ranked #9 of 100 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Milton, Washington, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun and funny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I went on Captain Matty's Barefoot Tour and had a great day. Swimming under waterfalls in the rainforest was very cool, the scenery was incredible, and Matty was hilarious. He and his first mate, Emma, did everything they could to make sure we had a great day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    57
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doveton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tablelands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a good trip around the atherton tablelands & the tour took as to the milla milla water falls we dould do it again the next time that if we go back to Cairns....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great and varied scenery to spoil the traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The tableland offers a very pleasant (and cooler) change to the coast. Several locations are all within close proximity to one another to make a full day's outing which is both relaxing and stimulating.

The tour of Castle and its grounds is definitely worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atherton tablelands January 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we enjoyed traveling in the area, and stayed overnight in a B&B,
This is also the area we fled to during the evacuation during Hurricane Yasi, so we got to know the area of Mareeba quite well!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go Hinterland - it's wonderland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A trip to Cairns needs to be combined with a day tour to the Atherton tablelands. What a wonderful place to go, the scenic route gives you plenty of chances for great panoramic photos, the waterfalls are impressive in themselves, but most of all, you need to walk around the big curtain fig trees to get an idea of their dimension! I liked the Spanish Castle but decided not to buy a ticket to go in (rather expensive). The walk around gave me a first idea, but I prefered the natural beauty to the architectual curiosity of the Spanish man's dream.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tablelands, Waterfalls, and Spanish Castle also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tablelands, Waterfalls, and Spanish Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tablelands, Waterfalls, and Spanish Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.